We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well and truly overpriced”
Review of Bluewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluewater Hotel
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Port Hedland, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well and truly overpriced”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The location was great, close to the water as well as the restaurants that Ahuriri have to offer. We come from Australia and booked a week in a apartment at Bluewater Hotel however didn't have a washing machine nor did it have a stove top - only 2 x domestic washing machines and dryers for around 40 odd units! An electric fry pan was your stove top. Sort of defeated the purpose of why we booked an apartment. We paid almost $2000 for the week AND the washing machines and driers had coin slots! Unfortunately from talking to locals and local businesses this Hotel does not have a good reputation with the concencus being 'there are so many more nicer places to stay.' In saying this, the staff were polite and the rooms were clean.
I suggest that if the Hotel is going to charge the rates that they do, they would be best to invest money and bring it into the current day and age.
Disappointed. I would not stay there again and would not recommend this Hotel to my friends or family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 572Denise38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We offer special deals on our website for longer stays. Unfortunately you had booked through a third party website so we were not able to offer you a special rate, not that you had paid close to $2000.00 for 7 nights in peak season. It would have been helpful if you had spoken to reception about your concerns so we could have had a chance to rectify them for you. We do hope you give us a second chance and stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    44
    29
    27
    14
See reviews for
33
55
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Initial reaction on seeing the front door is not encouraging. Looks can be deceptive though & once you open the door you enter a great room with lovely sunken bath, nice verandah with a fantastic view over the old port.

Only one observation, we could always hear the Manager ranting at his staff, which did not come over well when you are visiting. If you wish to berate your staff, suggest you find somewhere private or better still learn more about 21st century management!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review. It is good to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We really do have an amazing view here. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Good position, which is why we chose this hotel to be near to restaurants at Ahuriri during New Years week. We had 2 couples and 1 adult, I explained this to them they advised they could do a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 for 2 couples and a single in lounge, but it was 3 singles and 1 queen and cost $300 for the night. Was assured was all set up for 5, but was missing towels, plates and cutlery, very limited crockery etc and is defintely only set up for 4 not 5. Hhad to go to reception 3 times before we had what was needed and what should of been in there anyway (girl on reception was apologetic and nice, not her fault, she blamed the cleaners. We even bought some glasses from supermarket, didn't want to go to reception for a 5th time!! Couldn't get pillows for even 1 each, let alone 2 each!! They had no spares. Biggest let down, only 1 bathroom, which I hadn't checked on, not practical for 5 people and perhaps they should explain this? We actually had a cheaper option down the road, but went for this one as pictures on web look great, but this place is very dated compared to pics. We were missing bedding for pull out and looked everywhere. We did later find it, literally screwed up (dirty and smelly!!) squashed inside the pull out bed (yuk!!). They did find us clean bedding, but overall not a nice experience and was very disappointed. Did express to the receptionist the next morning, who didn't really know what to say, so paid and left without much fuss but would never recommend to anyone or stay again, they still charged us full price too.

Room Tip: The apartment for 5 max is not good for 5 older people, would say 2 adults and 2 young children is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ange J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We would again like to apologise for your room only being set up for 4 people instead of 5. The receptionist on check out apologised again for your experience but could not do much more when she was told "don't worry, it will all be going on trip advisor".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Napier hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Good room although getting a bit tired and starting to show its age. Reception Staff were pleasant but without being over friendly.
Close by eating houses made Bluewater a good stay and Napier must be one of the nicest places we visited.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coniston53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review. It is always helpful to receive feedback so we can keep improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Bluewater Hotel staff are wonderful, they were only too happy to offer assistance. Honestly the most accommodating staff we have dealt with, from booking to arrival. We arrived early & our apartment was ready, the porta-cot had been made up & the room was clean & tidy. The view fantastic! Location was also excellent, a five minute walk to cafés & restaurants on West Quay. Unlike previous reviews we found the area to be very quiet!! I can highly recommend this Hotel. We travel to Napier every year & will be staying here again as we have found it to be the best value for money. In our opinion 5 stars for quality!!!

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront views! Right opposite the Napier Sailing club boat ramp
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review Amy. Glad we could make your stay so memorable. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union Bridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Picked the place from the AA book, and called ahead to check room rates. Nice large room on first floor, over looking marina. The front desk was friendly. The mattress was getting a little old but was still OK to sleep on, Nice spa bath tub. Walking distance to restaurants around the inner harbor. Nice small kitchen area. Room had air conditioning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We are delighted with your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed Saturday & Sunday night in a 2 bedroom - while the bar below was very noisy and the ugly fights out on the street afterwards at 3am were not what we expects, the view are pleasant the rooms clean and tidy.

The bad unpleasant mentions would be the hotel booklet advising of all the usually stuff, but having penalty fines for doing things outside of what the management would expect i.e calling the after hours number for non emergencies - this would cost you $50. While this might sound ok - I called reception for a internet code... The abrupt man at the end of the phone promptly told me I should have called the after hours number (not realizing that I have called reception after hrs as it was only 815pm!). There were a handful of things you would be fined for doing wrong... It has a feeling that they really don't want you here and you are staying with your landlord or something ...

Anyway, the kitchen is sparse in terms on equipment - giant wholes in the kitchen show where equipment would normally be, like an oven and maybe a dishwasher ... Currently there is big empty space in the joinery.

But at the end of the day, the views are good.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Col E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we do not have control over people leaving the bars at 3am and having fights. Obviously if we did we would not allow that kind of behaviour.

You seem to have mis read the compendium. We do not fine people for calling the after hours number. If the after hours number is called BECAUSE of you there will be a fine for the disturbance to the other guests.

We are confused about the abrupt man as we only have female receptionists - none of which have a manly voice.

We are lucky to be in a wonderful location with amazing views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
East Pier Hotel
East Pier Hotel
#19 of 47 in Napier
66 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Lodge
Harbour View Lodge
#22 of 47 in Napier
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#35 of 47 in Napier
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Hotel

Property: Bluewater Hotel
Address: 10 West Quay, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a luxury hotel situated in the popular, exciting inner harbour area, the Bluewater Hotel provides a first-class stay in Napier with dazzling views of the marina,located in the rejuvenated Ahuriri quarter, is the perfect place to stay in Hawke’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bluewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing