We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great harbor view”
Review of Bluewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluewater Hotel
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Lewistown, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great harbor view”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in March, 2014 and had a great time. We were upgraded at no cost to a suite and it couldn't have been better- large, clean, and modern with a nice balcony facing the harbor (ALL rooms face the harbor). The front counter staff was friendly and the housecleaning staff went out of their way to greet us. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, as was the service. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

Tom & Linda Montana, USA

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this lovley review, hope to see you agai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    45
    29
    27
    14
See reviews for
33
56
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Friendly helpful staff. Lovely views and the opening sliding doors in the lounge area creates a lot of space. Duplex set up is great if you have kids who go to sleep earlier upstairs and adults can relax downstairs without worrying about waking the kids.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ilulu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review out Hotel. We concider ourselves very lucky that we can provide breath taking views and glad you got to experience this. Hope you come and enjoy them again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Have stayed many times over the years, but won't be back or recommending. I had at least 1 quarter bottle of beautiful Chanel syphoned while the cleaners went through. Mentioned to reception who said she would look into it. Later that arvo I was told no cleaner remembers seeing my perfume in the bathroom - despite replenishing the toiletries and moving my perfume to do so.....

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissMouseChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We are currently awaiting a reply from Trip Advisor to remove this review as we do not understand how you can publicly accuse someone of stealing perfume out of a bottle. Our staff do not steal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Napier hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I recently stayed here in one of the "suites" paying $250 a night. When we arrived there were old nuts and reminants of food all over the hotel and it generally looked as though it hadn't been cleaned. The bath had hair in it and the beds had springs poking into your back. We opted for the fully equipped kitchen which came complete with no tea towel, dishwashing soap or sponges and as a result had to buy my own cloths. Although the room wasn't very clean, the cleaning staff were very friendly and nice. Absolutely cannot say the same for the rest of the motel staff. You are greeted by a rude receptionist and super proffessional manager who you can hear in the back room verbally abusing someone on the phone. When it came to payment they messed this up and lost our initial credit card charge and then proceeded to take a double charge as a bond (I believe this is normal however you are meant to make people aware of this in the case that I may not have had $1500 on my credit card to spare!) After enquiring about the payment issues I was promised a call or email back which never came. I just called to follow up and not even a simple apology for not following up however a pathetic excuse of 'we have been very busy' proceeded by a disgusting attitude when I expressed that it was not great look. Top customer service guys. An absolute joke to call yourself a "Hotel" and by my experience and some of the other reviews it's phenomenal you are still in business.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashleigh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Unfortunately this is the kind of review you get from someone who was angry and bitter about not getting a discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Bluewater is very close to almost everything. The view is out over the port & we had a very quiet room - we were there only 1 night, but we enjoyed the VERY comfy beds & the service was excellent! Great price, exceptionally clean rooms & close enough to walk to just about everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUVU2MUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hedland, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The location was great, close to the water as well as the restaurants that Ahuriri have to offer. We come from Australia and booked a week in a apartment at Bluewater Hotel however didn't have a washing machine nor did it have a stove top - only 2 x domestic washing machines and dryers for around 40 odd units! An electric fry pan was your stove top. Sort of defeated the purpose of why we booked an apartment. We paid almost $2000 for the week AND the washing machines and driers had coin slots! Unfortunately from talking to locals and local businesses this Hotel does not have a good reputation with the concencus being 'there are so many more nicer places to stay.' In saying this, the staff were polite and the rooms were clean.
I suggest that if the Hotel is going to charge the rates that they do, they would be best to invest money and bring it into the current day and age.
Disappointed. I would not stay there again and would not recommend this Hotel to my friends or family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 572Denise38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We offer special deals on our website for longer stays. Unfortunately you had booked through a third party website so we were not able to offer you a special rate, not that you had paid close to $2000.00 for 7 nights in peak season. It would have been helpful if you had spoken to reception about your concerns so we could have had a chance to rectify them for you. We do hope you give us a second chance and stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
529 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Initial reaction on seeing the front door is not encouraging. Looks can be deceptive though & once you open the door you enter a great room with lovely sunken bath, nice verandah with a fantastic view over the old port.

Only one observation, we could always hear the Manager ranting at his staff, which did not come over well when you are visiting. If you wish to berate your staff, suggest you find somewhere private or better still learn more about 21st century management!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review. It is good to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We really do have an amazing view here. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
East Pier Hotel
East Pier Hotel
#18 of 47 in Napier
70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#34 of 47 in Napier
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marineland Motels
Marineland Motels
#26 of 47 in Napier
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Hotel

Property: Bluewater Hotel
Address: 10 West Quay, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a luxury hotel situated in the popular, exciting inner harbour area, the Bluewater Hotel provides a first-class stay in Napier with dazzling views of the marina,located in the rejuvenated Ahuriri quarter, is the perfect place to stay in Hawke’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bluewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing