We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy rooms”
Review of Bluewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluewater Hotel
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Reviewed 14 May 2014

we recently stay here for a weekend and stayed in down stairs room, we ask to move up stairs after the first night as it was very noisy. Rooms were average.Shower went cold a couple of times, maybe just a problem with the mixer ,when I told management they just rolled their eyes at me.Won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 59boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Tahnk you for taking the time to give us your feed back. With feed back like yours we can really focus on certain areas to make the Hotel better for yourself and future guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Bluewater Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was an average place to stay
as rooms down stairs are noisy due to people in the upstairs rooms also the staff there provide an average service, i would not say they go out of there way to help you out
.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Sorry to hear your stay was only adverage. At the Bluewater, we want all our guests to have a great, relaxing stay, and be provided with good services.
We are going through renovations at the Hotel, including new beds.
I have also done some training with the staff to provide a better repour with ou guests
Thank you for taking the time to give us your advise
Next time you are in Napier, hopefully you will give us another chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We recently stayed here for 2 nights, being 2 different families in 2 bedroom apartments. We had mixed feelings after the various Tripadvisor reviews that were not always complimentary, but we can report we had a great stay. The staff, rooms, and cleanliness were all fine. The location was great, plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance, and there is a great network of running and cycling paths in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Glad to hear you had a plesent stay at the Bluewater Hotel, hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in March, 2014 and had a great time. We were upgraded at no cost to a suite and it couldn't have been better- large, clean, and modern with a nice balcony facing the harbor (ALL rooms face the harbor). The front counter staff was friendly and the housecleaning staff went out of their way to greet us. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, as was the service. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

Tom & Linda Montana, USA

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this lovley review, hope to see you agai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Friendly helpful staff. Lovely views and the opening sliding doors in the lounge area creates a lot of space. Duplex set up is great if you have kids who go to sleep earlier upstairs and adults can relax downstairs without worrying about waking the kids.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank ilulu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review out Hotel. We concider ourselves very lucky that we can provide breath taking views and glad you got to experience this. Hope you come and enjoy them again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Have stayed many times over the years, but won't be back or recommending. I had at least 1 quarter bottle of beautiful Chanel syphoned while the cleaners went through. Mentioned to reception who said she would look into it. Later that arvo I was told no cleaner remembers seeing my perfume in the bathroom - despite replenishing the toiletries and moving my perfume to do so.....

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissMouseChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

We are currently awaiting a reply from Trip Advisor to remove this review as we do not understand how you can publicly accuse someone of stealing perfume out of a bottle. Our staff do not steal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I recently stayed here in one of the "suites" paying $250 a night. When we arrived there were old nuts and reminants of food all over the hotel and it generally looked as though it hadn't been cleaned. The bath had hair in it and the beds had springs poking into your back. We opted for the fully equipped kitchen which came complete with no tea towel, dishwashing soap or sponges and as a result had to buy my own cloths. Although the room wasn't very clean, the cleaning staff were very friendly and nice. Absolutely cannot say the same for the rest of the motel staff. You are greeted by a rude receptionist and super proffessional manager who you can hear in the back room verbally abusing someone on the phone. When it came to payment they messed this up and lost our initial credit card charge and then proceeded to take a double charge as a bond (I believe this is normal however you are meant to make people aware of this in the case that I may not have had $1500 on my credit card to spare!) After enquiring about the payment issues I was promised a call or email back which never came. I just called to follow up and not even a simple apology for not following up however a pathetic excuse of 'we have been very busy' proceeded by a disgusting attitude when I expressed that it was not great look. Top customer service guys. An absolute joke to call yourself a "Hotel" and by my experience and some of the other reviews it's phenomenal you are still in business.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashleigh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Unfortunately this is the kind of review you get from someone who was angry and bitter about not getting a discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.5 mi away
East Pier Hotel
East Pier Hotel
#18 of 47 in Napier
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
576 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 47 in Napier
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#33 of 47 in Napier
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Hotel

Address: 10 West Quay, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range: £76 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a luxury hotel situated in the popular, exciting inner harbour area, the Bluewater Hotel provides a first-class stay in Napier with dazzling views of the marina,located in the rejuvenated Ahuriri quarter, is the perfect place to stay in Hawke’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bluewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing