We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful!”
Review of McHardy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
McHardy Lodge
Ranked #5 of 42 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at McHardy house over Christmas, and were extremely pleased with our time at McHardy lodge. The grounds are beautiful, the lodge is gorgeous, and the suites are luxurious, spacious and clean. From the moment we entered the lodge, we were greeted by the owner Yvonne, who not only was knowledgeable about Napier and the sites to see, but also was so friendly and welcoming. Yvonne is a wonderful host, who made us feel right at home. We enjoyed our stay at McHardy lodge thoroughly, and would definitely stay there again. We highly recommend McHardy lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherandRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for such a glowing review of all aspects of the Lodge and your stay here. It was a pleasure to have you stay here and we were only too pleased to do everything we could to make your stay a memorable one. We know that for you to get the best out of your time in Napier we need to help with advice, guidance and with the booking of restaurants, tours and activities and leave you to simply enjoy your holiday. It was a pleasure to do so and look forward to welcoming you again if you get back to New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

This is the second time we visit McHardy Lodge. We are having an absolute blast here during the Napier Art Deco wekend. We shall be back next year.
The Versailles suite is great. The bed is comfortable. Yvonne is a delight to chat to. She happily provide whatever information one can require. The breakfast is a chapter of its own?
I was seriously considering not to write any comment so I would have a better chance to get a room next year.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Belgiananddane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

It was a delight to have you all to stay for Napier's Art Deco annual celebrations - you really enter into the spirit of the events with your lovely costumes -you looked equally good in your outfits for the Black Tie Ball and the Gatsby lunch as you did in your less grand outfits for the Depression Dinner! We look forward to welcoming you all back for next years celebrations in February - I have already pencilled in your booking - so no fear of you being pipped at the post by others who have already enquired.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

McHardy Lodge is an excellent place to stay because it possesses all the magical ingredients necessary to make it a perfect stay. The 1st ingredient is the hostess, Yvonne who literally went out of her way to smooth out any any and all problems, including running down to town to give us a book we had left behind. When I felt sick, she gave me tea with honey in it.

The rooms were rich but warn and inviting to be in. The beds were so comfortable and there was space to hang and store you clothes and things so one didn't have to fumble in the suitcase all the time. The McCardy Lodge would be a cold empty beautiful place without Janet who gave it life and a feeling of being at a close friends' home away from home. Janet just knew the best places to go and things to do so we didn't have to worry about a thing.

We just wanted to stay forever! We recommend this B&B as a must do while in Napier because it had the best breakfasts, served with Janet's special warmth that you just don't find very often.

Just stay here and get the best, you won't be sorry.

Bob and Susan from Olympia, WA

.

Room Tip: Janet provided slippers and bathrobes that were wonderful and great soaps and lotions to use.The vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susannah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Thank you for such a glowing review - we loved having you to stay at McHardy Lodge and look forward to your return some time. McHardy Lodge is a beautiful and characterful house and we try to make a welcoming home for our guests during their stay . We believe in attention to detail and looking after our guests needs whether that is booking the best restaurants and attractions or providing those cold remedies and additional boxes of tissues! As for breakfasts - they always say "feed a cold and starve a fever! "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Yvonne's elegant house in Napier was our family's introduction to New Zealand. The lodge is beautifully maintained and furnished with gorgeous linens. Yvonne quickly arranged a dining schedule that suited our party of 3 for the next 3 days and had taxis ready at the right time. I can't imagine a better place to recover from the jet lag of our trip.
Donna
Denver, Colorado

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We believe in providing the very best service and surroundings possible - whether our guests are looking for peace and relaxation in our beautiful house and gardens as you were or as a base for a more energetic stay in Napier exploring all the area has to offer. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in New Zealand and look forward to welcoming you back to McHardy Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Our two night stop in Napier in Mc Hardy Lodge was a wonderful experience. Just the warm welcome of the host Yvonne told us, that we will have a beautiful time there. The house is amazing with a great story behind. The breakfast was absolutely georgous! Yvonne fulfilled every whis we had... Thank you very much, Yvonne and if we come back to Napier, we will come certainly to your place!

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielKneubuehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

It makes me very happy when I read such a glowing review - we are very proud of McHardy Lodge and try our best to make every guest's stay really special. We do hope you get back some time in the future - it would be a real pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Spent only 2 nights at McHardy lodge on a recent tour of New Zealand. Wish it had been more! It is a beautiful house with interesting history, with views to die for!
Thank you Yvonne for the warm welcome, beautiful breakfasts and on the spot info about beautiful Napier and the surrounding area. I can't wait to come back!
Happy New Year and very best wishes for a fabulous 2013.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mskjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review - it was a pleasure having you both to stay at McHardy Lodge and helping you find out more about Napier. We look forward to your next visit - just dont leave it too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

While on our month long (October 2012) driving trip in New Zealand we stayed for 3 nights at the McHardy Lodge. And we thoroughly enjoyed our time there, as our room was huge, with a sitting area and wonderful views of the valley, and the Lodge had a lovely breakfast room overlooking the sea. Also, there was a cozy library with a lovely fireplace to warm ourselves. And of course, Yvonne was our connection to Napier; she arranged an interesting wine-tasting tour for us, and informed us about the good restaurants here. Everything was spot-on! Also, we were just a few minutes away both from the market as well as the eating places. Enjoyed great food at 'Shed 2', and the 'Old Church'.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank NomitaKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at McHardy Lodge so much and that I was able to help you get to know the best of Napier and Hawkes Bay . There is so much to see and do here- I hope we will have the pleasure of your company again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
0.5 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
827 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McHardy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McHardy Lodge

Address: 11 Bracken Street | Hospital Hill, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: £255 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — McHardy Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5* McHardy Lodge is a beautifully restored 1896 residence situated in a quiet cul de sac on exclusive Napier Hill, close to all the attractions of Art Deco Napier and the wineries, golf and gannet colony of Cape Kidnappers and the award winning dining experiences of Hawkes Bay. The Lodge has a wealth of rich native Kauri timber and antique furnishings. The suites are dressed with fine furnishings and linens, with luxurious beds to sink into and relax. Spacious bathrooms feature claw foot or deep tub baths and large showers, making them the ideal place to relax and unwind. Relaxation is not confined to your suite. After a gourmet breakfast overlooking the Ocean you can lounge around the pool or on one of the extensive verandahs - the views of the blue Pacific Ocean and mountain ranges in the distance will beguile you. Enjoy a game on our full size billiards table in the billiard room, or snuggle up in the library in front of the fire. Whether it is merely a break from life’s pressures, a special holiday, a celebration you want to make so much more special, or you are planning the ideal start to married life together – we will ensure you have an experience you will treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your McHardy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing