We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect LODGE at Napier”
Review of McHardy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
McHardy Lodge
Ranked #6 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

2 days at McHardy were not enough. It's a wonderful Place to stay for longer and to see beutiful Napier, nice countryside and a lot of vineries.
Yvonne ist a Perfect host and consultant in planning tours and find lovely dinner places.
Very individual service.
Many thanks, Yvonne.

Ulrike & Thomas Liebelt, Flensburg, Germany

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tliebelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. An ' individual ' experience is what we aim for when we welcome guests - we always try to give the level of assistance required by each guest and the Lodge itself is truly an individual building and home wth a fascinating history which can't be replicated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

We arrived earlier than expected - one phone call and Yvonne was there to welcome us into this beautiful property. The perfect host - full of interesting facts about Napier. Absolutely loved our stay - it is definitely a "must do" again. Yvonne made us feel at home like we were family and not just hotel guests.
Yvonne, serves a great breakfast. Thank you once again Yvonne

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your glowng review and I am so pleased you felt at home in the Lodge. I love welcoming guests to the Lodge and on departure I often feel I am saying goodbye to old friends not simply welcome guests.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Only a few minutes by car from town centre you are in a quiet residential area. It started with a worm welcome and immediately we felt at home. We can recommend all rooms, each differently and lovingly furnished. The delicious breakfast was served in a sunny room with a superb view. Yvonne is a perfect host who provided us with good advice in question Art Deco-Tours, dinner opportunities and some excellent wineries. Many thanks Yvonne for the wonderful stay in your lovely house.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juergen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at McHardy Lodge - we are very proud of the Lodge itself and always love to share it with guests. It is perfectly situated in Napier just a few minutes drive from the Art Deco centre but far enough away from any traffic noise . The views of the Pacific Ocean and Kaweka Ranges at breakfast would be difficult to beat anywhere and many a guest has lingered in the morning!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We visited McHardy Lodge in Easter 2013 for a mini-break. Absolutely worth every cent paid for the accommodation.
The hostess and owner; Yvonne was fantastic hostess, warm and welcoming, brilliant location, well-appointed rooms, with faultless service. Yvonne made us feel at home from day one. From a late arrival when we were asked about our dinner plans and presented with a list of options and then booked on our behalf while we refreshed ourselves to the casual top quality breakfast we were never disappointed. She insured that if we had a need to be met she would do her absolute best and go to great personal lengths to find the solution.
With great local knowledge she can always advise on places to visit and how to make the most of your stay.
We thoroughly recommend McHardy Lodge as a place to stay over. So in short; Yvonne makes sure that your experience reflects the luxury accommodation provided.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for such a glowing review - we are always pleased when we have been able to go the extra distance to ensure a guest has a fantastic stay . We hope the Lodge and hospitality on offer will always exceed expectations and look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at McHardy Lodge on a beautiful Napier day. Our Host Yvonne was excellent, providing interesting facts on the history of McHardy's, as well as an enjoyable and filling breakfast. The house is beautifully restored along with the modern fittings; comfortable super King beds, comfortable rooms and furnishings all situated in a wonderfully quiet area of Napier overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: See their website for pictures of the rooms - rooms are divine in person!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Areta248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

It was a pleasure to host your group's visit to Napier for your Christmas celebrations and we appreciate your wonderful review. We enjoy sharing the facinating history of the Lodge with guests because it has all added to what it is today. It is indeed very peaceful at the Lodge and we have often been told that photgraphs cant do justice to the beautiful views of the Bay and the interior of the Lodge. We love our guests to feel totally relaxed during their stay with us and hope that we will see you all again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

not sure what perfection is but Yvonne is the perfect hostess, good food excellent rooms,location on the top of the hill has stunning views,very slight problem finding NZ need to get post codes so sat nav understands

Room Tip: all goods as far as we could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianHenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for the great review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We know that GPS does not always work well so we have put detailed instructions on how to find us on our website at www.mchardylodge.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have been fortunate to visit New Zealand many times. Each time we have stayed in excellent places without too much concern for price.. McHardy lodge is our top stay for value and equals any place regardless of price. This trip, we were seven people, Wife and I, three sons and two daughter in laws. We felt at home in the luxurious rooms at McHardy even while we wee pampered by the care there. We will go back when we can spend a full week instead of only two nights and with a group of friends. Cant recommend it enough.

BTW, we suffered what turned out to be a minor health emergency while staying at McHardy.. though it did not feel minor at the time. Our Hostess helped my oldest son to understand the clinic and emergency room options, should we need them, and accompanied him to pharmacy to get some aids for my wife. turns out no emergency care was needed but i was greatly relieved to know the lay of the land. Just an example of the "home stay" care we received.

Room Tip: One of eh Queen suites has an excellent walk in shower, most are in the tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your stay at McHardy Lodge. It was a pleasure having you and your family to stay and we look forward to your return trip.. A note for when you are planning your return trip - 3 of our 4 large superking suites have baths and separate showers, 1 has a rose head shower over the bath. Our 2 smaller queen rooms both have showers, one a level access and one a shower cubicle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.9 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
923 reviews
0.8 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 47 in Napier
796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
1.2 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McHardy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McHardy Lodge

Address: 11 Bracken Street | Hospital Hill, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: £263 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — McHardy Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5* McHardy Lodge is a beautifully restored 1896 residence situated in a quiet cul de sac on exclusive Napier Hill, close to all the attractions of Art Deco Napier and the wineries, golf and gannet colony of Cape Kidnappers and the award winning dining experiences of Hawkes Bay. The Lodge has a wealth of rich native Kauri timber and antique furnishings. The suites are dressed with fine furnishings and linens, with luxurious beds to sink into and relax. Spacious bathrooms feature claw foot or deep tub baths and large showers, making them the ideal place to relax and unwind. Relaxation is not confined to your suite. After a gourmet breakfast overlooking the Ocean you can lounge around the pool or on one of the extensive verandahs - the views of the blue Pacific Ocean and mountain ranges in the distance will beguile you. Enjoy a game on our full size billiards table in the billiard room, or snuggle up in the library in front of the fire. Whether it is merely a break from life’s pressures, a special holiday, a celebration you want to make so much more special, or you are planning the ideal start to married life together – we will ensure you have an experience you will treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your McHardy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing