We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in a historical house with wonderful service”
Review of McHardy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
McHardy Lodge
Ranked #6 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stay in a historical house with wonderful service”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We loved our 3 night stay at McHardy Lodge while touring the Napier area. Yvonne provided help with reservations, and evening drinks and snacks. She loves sharing the history of this elegant home. We were very comfortable and enjoyed meeting the other guests at breakfast. The creamy mushrooms were scrumptious, and a dip in the pool refreshing after many miles of walking the beautiful harbor and beaches.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
It was so nice that you had three days to experience all Napier and Hawkes Bay has to offer but also to take the time to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the Lodge. A relaxing breakfast is always a good start to your day, particularly when you plan an active day out enjoying the wonderful scenery. Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    8
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
112
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the McHardy Lodge for the second time in March 2014. The building is a wonderful example of early New Zealand architecture. The grounds are beautiful with a fantastic view. All this plus a wonderful host. In all our years of travel, we have never met such a hospitable host.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place your review - it was indeed a pleasure to welcome you both back to McHardy Lodge. When guests return it is like welcoming great friends to stay again and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I, Canadians visiting New Zealand for the first time, stayed at McHardy Lodge on 2014-02-02. We have stayed at many B&Bs, but would rate McHardy Lodge as a definite 15+ out of 10! Beautiful restored home, with gorgeous guest rooms, plus very nice billiard room, sitting room, outside deck and pool. House has interesting history, and proprietor, Yvonne, is knowledgeable about the house and its history. She also is a friendly, gracious host, who made us a scrumptious breakfast. She suggested the 'Guided Walking Tour' of downtown Napier (was re-built in the early 1930s in 'Art Deco' style), which we enjoyed immensely. Our only regret was that we were able to stay only 1 night. We highly recommend a visit to Napier, and if you do, definitely consider staying at McHardy Lodge!

Room Tip: Yvonne showed us all rooms (we were the only guests that night), and all were lovely, although some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocdoced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
One night is never enough at McHardy Lodge! We aim to ensure that all guests leave wanting more of both Napier and the Lodge. Vacations are such an important time for guests and we try to ensure that even one night is a wonderful experience. Thank you for your glowing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We visited in January 2014.Weather was great and our host was even better. Accomodation is excellent and Yvonne does a great breakfast.Yvonne is also a great source of knowledge about who to use for local tours.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
So pleased the weather was fine for you - we cant do much about the weather but we do always try to ensure the best of welcomes and hospitality. Hawkes Bay is reknown for it's long sunny days and blue skies which can both be enjoyed from the Lodge.Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Four guys did a golf trip to New Zealand. In Napier, close to Cape Kidnappers, we stayed at the McHardy Lodge. The rooms were perfect, and the view incredible. The owner/chef did a great job on breakfast. Yvonne even went into town to get a bottle of scotch for us. You should for sure stay at McHardy when in Napier.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the pool is very airy and has a big balcony attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your review -golfers at Cape Kidnappers often stay at McHardy Lodge and your group was very welcome. Although we have a well stocked bar, we always try to meet individual requests and getting you a special malt whisky is all part of the service!.We look forward to welcoming you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calistoga, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

A beautiful property in Napier, on the Bluff in a quiet residential suburb with commanding views. Yvonne is the perfect hostess and made sure that all our needs were taken care of, from making dinner reservations to getting us cabs and making recommendations for things to do. Her breakfast was superb and the rooms are all comfortable and warm.
Thank you again, Yvonne!
Elaine and Rick Jones (travelled with Valiantes and Eakins)

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review - we try hard to please and 'perfect " is the best review we could ask for! It was a delight to welcome you and your friends to the Lodge and help you to enjoy everything Napier has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flensburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

2 days at McHardy were not enough. It's a wonderful Place to stay for longer and to see beutiful Napier, nice countryside and a lot of vineries.
Yvonne ist a Perfect host and consultant in planning tours and find lovely dinner places.
Very individual service.
Many thanks, Yvonne.

Ulrike & Thomas Liebelt, Flensburg, Germany

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tliebelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. An ' individual ' experience is what we aim for when we welcome guests - we always try to give the level of assistance required by each guest and the Lodge itself is truly an individual building and home wth a fascinating history which can't be replicated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.8 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.9 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
1.2 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McHardy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McHardy Lodge

Property: McHardy Lodge
Address: 11 Bracken Street | Hospital Hill, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — McHardy Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5* McHardy Lodge is a beautifully restored 1896 residence situated in a quiet cul de sac on exclusive Napier Hill, close to all the attractions of Art Deco Napier and the wineries, golf and gannet colony of Cape Kidnappers and the award winning dining experiences of Hawkes Bay. The Lodge has a wealth of rich native Kauri timber and antique furnishings. The suites are dressed with fine furnishings and linens, with luxurious beds to sink into and relax. Spacious bathrooms feature claw foot or deep tub baths and large showers, making them the ideal place to relax and unwind. Relaxation is not confined to your suite. After a gourmet breakfast overlooking the Ocean you can lounge around the pool or on one of the extensive verandahs - the views of the blue Pacific Ocean and mountain ranges in the distance will beguile you. Enjoy a game on our full size billiards table in the billiard room, or snuggle up in the library in front of the fire. Whether it is merely a break from life’s pressures, a special holiday, a celebration you want to make so much more special, or you are planning the ideal start to married life together – we will ensure you have an experience you will treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your McHardy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing