We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you are looking for that something extra a visit to McHardy Lodge is undoubtably the best!”
Review of McHardy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
McHardy Lodge
Ranked #6 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
“if you are looking for that something extra a visit to McHardy Lodge is undoubtably the best!”
Reviewed 19 July 2009

What a welcome!- the home baked cakes and teas on arrival were definately the way to start the holiday. Hosts David & Jan catered to our every need with the fabulous selection at breakfast. The Lodge is unique and a must on anyones list of places to stay if they are visiting Napier. A fitting place to be to celebrate in Art Deco Week! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfcsteve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    8
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
112
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We stayed for a couple of nights of McHardy Lodge as part of our honeymoon in New Zealand. The house is really beautiful and a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are large, stylish and extremely comfortable. The owners made us feel very welcome, giving us advice and guidance on the area - even dropping us off at our restaurant in the evening and booking our winery tour. If you are staying anywhere in Napier, I would strongly recommend McHardy Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnetcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

We chose McHardy House recently to celebrate my birthday, and we weren't disappointed. Jan and David are excellent hosts, warm, friendly, nothing is too much trouble.The extensive breakfast menu featured home made preserves, and we sampled David's scrumptious blueberry pancakes.
The house is luxuriously furnished and spotlessly clean. Jan and David recommended places to visit, Napier's beautiful botanical gardens are a short walk away and the town centre a couple of minutes drive. We had an excellent dinner at Pacifica Kaimoana on Marine Parade.
We would most definately recommend a visit to McHardy House and Pacifica. - Liz and Allan - UK

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller06581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2008

For those of you looking for that extra bit of luxury and pampering – McHardy House is the one for you! You are warmly greeted and helped with your luggage. The rooms are spacious and opulent – the bathroom is to die for! Jan and David were the perfect hosts – they made us feel welcome and the humorous stories that Jan tells are a must!

As part of our stay there we had booked to have dinner – to the credit of David, when told a few hours before the rack of lamb was served that I was a vegetarian, he rallied round and produced a mouth watering dish for me. The meal was a four course delight and it was to my dismay that I could not finish every delicious mouthful! David was very proud of his wine list and helped us pick a wine to go with the meal.

To the discerning traveller who is looking for that extra bit of luxury and first class service – I would highly recommend a stay here and don’t miss the opportunity to have dinner cooked by David!

John and Julia

  • Liked — Quality of the accommodation
  • Disliked — No Comment
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JSK345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2008

Elegant comfortable surroundings lovingly presented by charming proffesional hosts.
Jan and Dave have a passion for providing guests with the ultimate experience when on holiday. As the old saying goes "you pay for quality" which is what you get when staying at the "McHardy House".
Would recommend it to all and encourage other Kiwis to experience this once in a lifetime opportunity.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ssterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2007

Whilst I'd agree with most of the positive comments on McHardy house - gorgeous house, delicious breakfasts....our stay was not great and we would not be back in a hurry.

The problem was, we felt pushed to one side - to make way for the other (older) guests. Perhaps because we were younger than the other guests, Jan and David thought they could treat us differently? Perhaps they thought we were not used to experiencing a high quality of service on holiday? If this was the reason, they couldn’t be more wrong - we always stay in 5* hotels or exclusive boutique inns.

After an initial warm welcome, we were promptly ignored when some other guests pulled up a few minutes later. We had to heave our bags (1 months worth of luggage) up the steps, whilst David carried the other guest’s bags right in front of us. We then got told they'd double booked and so we got the choice - either find somewhere else or change rooms. These things happen and we didn’t mind having to change rooms, but the room we got moved into was tiny (disabled room) and was over-priced.

The next day Jan mentioned that we could sit at the 'breakfast bar' with them in the morning. It was obvious that because they’d double-booked, there were not enough seats round the communal breakfast table. Why not determine who should sit at the breakfast bar by seeing who turned up last for breakfast rather than asking us? So, when we came down for breakfast and saw there was still room at the breakfast table we decided we’d sit there, why not? However, as we walked towards the table, Jan grabbed my boyfriend’s arm and tried to pull him over to the breakfast bar. We thought this was rather rude, why should we have to sit there? Besides it would look odd to the other guests – why not join them at the communal table? So, we kept on walking towards the table and took a seat with the other guests. Jan and David looked horrified and in a panic they opened up another room and set a table for the two late-comers for breakfast. This didn’t seem very fair –it was ok for us to sit at the breakfast bar, but clearly Jan and David didn’t think it was good enough for the other guests.

Perhaps we just caught the worst of David and Jan, but we didn’t leave McHardy house with that 'warm feeling' it seems the other reviewers have - quite the opposite! We are laid back, well-presented and friendly people and think we could have been made to feel a lot more welcome.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank london100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2007

This is a beautiful old colonial style property lovingly cared for by owners David and Jan.The rooms are presented to the highest standards and the abundant roses in the garden were in full bloom during our visit.The full size palm tree in our bedroom also took our fancy.There are stunning views over the bay from this elevated site and pleasant walks nearby in the wonderful Botanical Gardens and lovely old Cemetry just round the corner. David and Jan are the perfect hosts.They are trained for the job ,have bags of experience --and it shows.Nothing is too much trouble-a plate of freshly picked strawberries whilst we relaxed round the pool(David made the rest into home-made jam), a lift in the evening to the vineyard restaurant recommended and booked by them etc etc.The food is faultless plus an excellent wine list.However it is the hosts who make this the quality experience it is.They deliver the highest quality product and service with great good humour.-an unqualified recommendation

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ABZScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.8 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.9 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
570 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#10 of 47 in Napier
776 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McHardy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McHardy Lodge

Property: McHardy Lodge
Address: 11 Bracken Street | Hospital Hill, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — McHardy Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5* McHardy Lodge is a beautifully restored 1896 residence situated in a quiet cul de sac on exclusive Napier Hill, close to all the attractions of Art Deco Napier and the wineries, golf and gannet colony of Cape Kidnappers and the award winning dining experiences of Hawkes Bay. The Lodge has a wealth of rich native Kauri timber and antique furnishings. The suites are dressed with fine furnishings and linens, with luxurious beds to sink into and relax. Spacious bathrooms feature claw foot or deep tub baths and large showers, making them the ideal place to relax and unwind. Relaxation is not confined to your suite. After a gourmet breakfast overlooking the Ocean you can lounge around the pool or on one of the extensive verandahs - the views of the blue Pacific Ocean and mountain ranges in the distance will beguile you. Enjoy a game on our full size billiards table in the billiard room, or snuggle up in the library in front of the fire. Whether it is merely a break from life’s pressures, a special holiday, a celebration you want to make so much more special, or you are planning the ideal start to married life together – we will ensure you have an experience you will treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your McHardy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing