We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worthy of a Stay”
Review of Barrowmeade B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barrowmeade B&B
Ranked #33 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2011

An old house of real character onthe bluff above Napier. Large rooms, our had a good view over the coast.
Busy house with plenty of guests. Very helpful Hosts who are willing to go the extra yard.
Breakfast is good and wholesome and certainly sets one up for the day.
We are picky; but would strongly recommend Villa Vista for consideration.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterRainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Barrowmeade B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2010

We spent two nights at this delightful B&B. Located in an old Victorian house on the bluff. Very large room. Top notch food and service. Tina, the host, is obviously well versed in how to run an excellent B&B. Good value and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitkinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

The location affords spectacular views of Napier and as one might expect this means it is high on a hill. We found access easy and because we were in a car the hill was no problem. Tina was charming and helpful. The room clean, comfortable and warm . We had plenty of Tea and coffee along with delicious home made treats left for us each day by Tina. The breakfast was just amazing everything you could want to hand plus a delicious full cooked platter each day. We have travelled extensively all over the world and can honestly rate Villa Vista amongst the very best.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmlhhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

If there's any downside to Villa Vista it's the hilltop site and steep narrow driveway. On the other hand, the site affords stunning views over Hawke's Bay to Cape Kidnappers and is well worth the climb. All else is near perfect. Tina is a font of good, local information and provides cheerful, extraordinary service in addition to outstanding breakfasts and freshly baked cakes in the rooms. When we asked if we might use her washer, she simply said, "Oh, just leave it in the morning and I'll pop it in for you." When we came home that afternoon she said, "Your washing's done. I just popped it on the line. and popped it back in your room. I folded it, is that okay?" Okay? Unique is more like it. Napier's art deco past is modestly interesting, but when Tina learned we're into food, she subtly but firmly steered us to the other side of town and the restaurants around the working port and marina. The city center and the marina side are 5 minutes by car and 15 on foot, but we suggest driving unless you don't mind walking uphill to get back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

we stayed here for 3 nights and were extrememly comfortable. Lovely room, large and light. Very good ensuite with all the trimmings. Tina is a fantastic cook and does lovely little touches such as leaving delicious, freshly baked cake in your room each day. She was also a mine of information and fixed up a much needed appointment with the hair dresser for me. Enterprising and imaginative. A lovely house with stunning views. Thank you Tina.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisonwalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

We stayed in the self contained apartment. This is a lovely 2 brm space that allowed the freedom to relax and was close to all the amazing amenities Napier has to offer. Tina was pleasure to deal with and we enjoyed the visits of the two friendly cats.
We highly recommend the Villa Vista for small families and couples who want to feel at home and have an affordable holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Villa Vista B&B is very stylish for those of you who look out for some Victorian style (as a change to art deco in the centre of Napier). It is situated beautifully on Mt Bluff with good views of the town and the sea.
Tina, the owner of the house, has done a wonderful job with the garden - so be sure to take some time to wander around.
The rooms are spacious, as is the bathroom. The breakfast room is cozy and you'll be served wonderful breakfast there (there is a variation of the cooked breakfast every day).

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.6 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#7 of 41 in Napier
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kerry Lodge
Kerry Lodge
#9 of 41 in Napier
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Farmhouse at Mission Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Watea Lodge
Watea Lodge
#3 of 41 in Napier
98 reviews
4.0 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#10 of 47 in Napier
553 reviews
3.3 mi away
119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrowmeade B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowmeade B&B

Address: 79 Avondale Road | Taradale, Napier 4112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: £61 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1940s Bungalow with comfortable private en suite guest wing .Own access with outdoor patio.Easy parking. Offering super king/twin beds, television, tea/coffee making facilities & home baking. Selections of continental & cooked breakfast using local ingredients. Tina & Tim welcome you to relax & enjoy your stay whilst at Barrowmeade. Just a 10 minute drive from the Art Deco city centre.Close to Bike trails , wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Barrowmeade B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing