We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cobden Garden Homestay
Ranked #4 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional in every way”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This lovely, warm, and inviting home is in a perfect location and has hosts that go overboard to see that you're comfortable, feel welcome, and find everything you need in Napier. They host an evening happy hour and were so gracious, kind, and interesting. Our room was spacious, the bathroom a treasure, and we had stunning views from everywhere. I highly recommend Cobden, and thank of host Philip and Rayma, for making our stay in Napier perfect.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs! The views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for such an amazing review. We really enjoyed hosting you and our conversations. That is a special part of our wine and canapés evenings. We do have such interesting conversations and get to know something about so many parts of the world. We do hope the rest of your holiday went well and that your hat caught up with you in Dunedin. Again thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
139
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Rayma and Phillip are the perfect hosts - friendly, knowledgeable about Napier and the surroundings, and welcoming. Right away it felt like they were our best friends. They have a sign over the door - "Enter as strangers, Leave as friends" - and it is true!) The room was large, spacious, and the bathroom exquisite - with a jetted tub! Cocktails and canapes with Rayma and Phillip were wonderful - great bites, excellent wine, and wonderful conversation. And in the evening, port and chocolates! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend Cobden Garden Homestay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
The beginning of a new season and such a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking time to write about us. The sign in our entrance was given to us many years ago by guests who visited us in our first season in 2002 . Since then they have visited us five times and promise to come back next year. Hawke's Bay is that kind of place. Whilst the unique Art Deco architecture is a draw card, the gannets, the wineries, the cycle trails , the aquarium and the new museum offer many other opportunities for a wonderful stay. We do hope you are able to revisit us some time soon. Again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This was not just a truly superb bed and breakfast but an insight into a NZ home. Marvellous food from Rayma that showed the best of New Zealand cuisine. Phillip introduced me to the wines of Hawkes Bay with his local knowledge of the wineries. The bedroom was large and spacious with a stunning view and a bathroom that could not be bettered even in a 5 star hotel. Rayma and Phillip were the perfect hosts that made a business trip into a holiday. An unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you felt, that despite the many hours of work you completed, you did feel you were on holiday. It was great to meet you and we are pleased you enjoyed the New Zealand food and wine we served you. We do try to provide a menu based on the local food. Hawke's Bay is New Zealand's "food basket" and when accompanied by internationally acclaimed wine from our local wineries, it is very easy to satisfy the most discerning of "foodies". Whilst the majority of our guests are on holiday it is always good to note that we are a good choice for the business person also. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This was a beautiful B & B with every comfort, and the most welcoming and friendly hosts. The fine wine and home baked cheese snaps, lovely breakfast - on the verandah listening to the birds if you wish - and beautifully appointed house was just exquisite. Well done Rayma and Phillip, a really lovely experience with generously offered time and local knowledge.

Room Tip: A lovely down stairs room perhaps if traveling with an older family member, and all rooms with great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
We are very grateful that you took the time to write about us and that we gave you a memorable experience. The bird song in our garden is something we enjoy immensely and we are pleased you enjoyed it also and whilst it is not always suitable to have breakfast on the veranda it is very pleasant on fair days even if it is just with a coffee and the newspaper and later in the day when it is in the sun it is a marvellous spot to relax. Again thank you for your review and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Whether you are wine lovers or Art Deco fans or just plain tourists like yourself this establishment is a great place to stay . Rayma and Phillips made us most welcome along with their three cats especially Ronnie the ginger Tom. We stayed in the ground floor garden room which was very spacious and a welcome change to the smaller rooms were made been staying in. Breakfasts are a feast and Rayma can cook up some unusual surprises.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardGuess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast. We hope that the selection we offer gives plenty of choice, and where possible we use fresh, local produce and even some from our own garden.
As you mentioned, Napier is famous for its Art Deco architecture. Something we celebrate with two festivals one in summer and one in winter. Details of dates are always available on the artdeconapier.com website.
Ronnie the ginger cat does enjoy the guests but unfortunately since you stayed he has become an "only cat". We have very sadly had to say good bye to the two greys. They came into our lives 17 years ago so it has left a big gap. Ronnie does miss them but he is enjoying the extra attention.
Again thank you for your kind words. It is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I agree with all previous reviews. Excellent hosts and lovely homely touches. Good comfortable room. Everything you need thought of carefully. FANTASTIC food, cake with tea and really good canapes - some of the best we have ever tasted. Slept well too!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank susanjshone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to review us. We appreciate the kind words about what we offer and for endorsing all that other have had to say. I always try to have home cooking to serve with tea or coffee when people arrive and try to serve the guests different canapés each evening of their stay. Thank you for mentioning those occasions. Again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

A wonderful place to stay. We arrived early and our room was not ready but Rayma made us very welcome with tea and cakes before we set out to explore Napier.
Our room was very comfortable and nicely furnished. The complimentary drinks on the terrace before we went out for our evening meal was very relaxing and added to this pleasurable stay in Napier. Rayma was very helpful with advice on local trips and activities. The breakfast provided was excellent with lots to choose from.
This was a memorable stay, thanks for a wonderful couple of days, we wish it had been longer.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry your room was not ready but as we are also very generous about check out times, sometimes there just is not enough time to turn the rooms around if guests do have a short journey to get to us. But we are pleased people do come and meet us and leave their luggage before going to the city. We are also able to give information regarding the best way to spend their time. And we do try to give refreshments upon arrival at any time of day. Thank you for mentioning this. We appreciate the feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
903 reviews
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 47 in Napier
784 reviews
0.7 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobden Garden Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobden Garden Homestay

Property: Cobden Garden Homestay
Address: 1 Cobden Crescent | Bluff Hill, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cobden Garden Homestay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayma and Phillip invite you to their colonial, Bluff Hill villa, approximately 12 minutes walk from the city. Enjoy a spacious, en-suite bedroom, generously appointed and furnished with king/twin beds, television and DVD. Relax in a guest lounge, on the veranda or in the extensive garden or check your emails using our free wifi or the guest computer. Enjoy complimentary pre-dinner local wine and hors-d'oeuvres and a generous breakfast. Unobtrusive cats in residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Cobden Garden Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing