We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cobden Garden Homestay
Ranked #5 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Delightful Rayma and Phillip were certainly very welcoming and helpful with area activity suggestions and restaurants.
Our bedroom was very spacious,spotless with a large bathroom!!
Evening wine and canapes were certainly an added unexpected bonus. Breakfast delicious!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your very kind words and for taking the time to review us. Your grades are of interest to us and indicate that there are some things we can improve upon still. Of course some things cannot be changed but if you do have any suggestions we would love you to email us. Again thank you for your feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Cobden Garden Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

What a pleasure to stay in this hilltop house in the wonderful Art Deco themed city of Napier.

Great hosts who bring all guests (who want to) together at 1830 each evening for canapés and wines. Very helpful with recommendations for restaurants and activities.

Lovely rooms with plenty of space for luggage and comfortable en-suite bathrooms, well stocked with wash stuff.

Port and chocs at bedtime a lovely touch and the breakfast table is a sight to behold. My wife especially enjoyed the convent eggs.

B&B is at the top of the hill overlooking Napier and a good 10 minute walk downhill to the centre of the city. Probably nearer 20 minutes back depending on the excesses of fine dining.

Napier is a lovely city that is a great example of what can be done, post earthquake. Christchurch should learn much from their drive and focus over 80 years ago.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are grateful that you took the time to write about the features of your stay and that you found it such a pleasure to stay with us. Those who do sample the convent eggs at breakfast have all enjoyed them and like your wife often had them a second time. However there are plenty of options including the traditional "English Breakfast", or the more exotic French toast with a tropical twist (made with coconut milk) . Again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Beautiful house, great big room with everything you need, delicious breakfast, but best of all the delightful hosts. We would definitely stay again - might even return just to stay again, although it is a bit of a way from the UK!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Well what a recommendation - travel all those miles to visit us again! We do hope you do! We really enjoy seeing people again. It feels like having friends visit and we do reward your loyalty with a discount. It is great your enjoyed your spacious room and the house. We have worked hard to create a relaxing, gracious place for people to visit and hopefully provide all that the traveller needs. Thank you for taking the time to tell the trip advisor community about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Rayma and her husband Phil clearly approach running their B&B as a vocation. Their home is an historic colonial house at the top of Bluff Hill , and so preserved in the 1931 earthquake, set in a delightful garden with views over the Bay. But it is what goes on inside that counts. The bedrooms are spacious, comfortable beds, well appointed with everything thought of. Bathrooms are modern, light and airy with every facility. Night time turn down with treats on the pillow. Evening wine with home made canapés. And just the best breakfasts anywhere. If this wasn't enough, what makes Cobden such a hard place to leave is the incredible friendliness and warmth which Rayma and Phil bring to everything they do. We stayed two nights, sensible guests stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SxO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review and for suggesting that guests should stay longer. We do try to give guests a great experience that makes it difficult to leave us but Hawke's Bay also offers so many opportunities to enhance your holiday. From the cultural experience of the newly re-opened MTG (Museum, Art Gallery, Theatre) and Art Deco guided tours to the kilometres of cycle tracks, the many bird watching opportunities - especially the Gannet Colony and the numerous wineries and award winning restaurants, there is something for all visitors. We again thank you for taking the time to write this review and so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

this is one of the most friendly places i have ever stayed in,the utmost attention is paid to your comfort,Rayma & Phillip pull out all the stops,tea on the veranda when you arrive, a little nightcap left in your room, but, they go way abovewhat was expected,printing out maps for us,which, without we would not have made it to Gravity Canyon, never once were we treated like strangers, we were treated like family, they also are complimented by a cat called Ronnie, Ronnie is a great Cat, bless you both & thankyou, ps i will be thinking of Ronnie on the 25th, if you visit Napier, this is the place to stay

Room Tip: any room is good
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased we were able to help you on your journey. The cat (Ronnie) is still making a great fuss of the visitors and has conned his way into bedrooms despite our policy of "no cats in the bedrooms". He does seem to be a delight factor at our B&B. Again thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed with Rayma and Phillip for just one night but wish it could have been longer. This is a beautiful abode, just above the City, with all the creature comforts of home. Rayma and Phillip are kind, warm and funny and open their home to guests with real generosity. We will definitely find an excuse to go back for a longer stay. Thank you both very much.

Room Tip: Our adult daughter stayed in one room and my husband and I stayed in the other so we saw two of the...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarebitwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We really enjoyed having you to stay and do hope that you do get to return. Your enthusiasm was infectious, making it a joy to host you. We are very grateful that you have taken the time to write the review and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This lovely, warm, and inviting home is in a perfect location and has hosts that go overboard to see that you're comfortable, feel welcome, and find everything you need in Napier. They host an evening happy hour and were so gracious, kind, and interesting. Our room was spacious, the bathroom a treasure, and we had stunning views from everywhere. I highly recommend Cobden, and thank of host Philip and Rayma, for making our stay in Napier perfect.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs! The views are amazing!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you so much for such an amazing review. We really enjoyed hosting you and our conversations. That is a special part of our wine and canapés evenings. We do have such interesting conversations and get to know something about so many parts of the world. We do hope the rest of your holiday went well and that your hat caught up with you in Dunedin. Again thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
914 reviews
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 47 in Napier
787 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#10 of 47 in Napier
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobden Garden Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobden Garden Homestay

Address: 1 Cobden Crescent | Bluff Hill, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: £133 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cobden Garden Homestay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayma and Phillip invite you to their colonial, Bluff Hill villa, approximately 12 minutes walk from the city. Enjoy a spacious, en-suite bedroom, generously appointed and furnished with king/twin beds, television and DVD. Relax in a guest lounge, on the veranda or in the extensive garden or check your emails using our free wifi or the guest computer. Enjoy complimentary pre-dinner local wine and hors-d'oeuvres and a generous breakfast. Unobtrusive cats in residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Cobden Garden Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing