We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but chic”
Review of Mahia Street Kitchen - CLOSED

Mahia Street Kitchen
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Simple but chic”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were in the locale and in the mood for good coffee! Luckily we stumbled on this wee gem in Ahuriri (over beside Vetro and Big Save) ...and in we went in for morning tea. The surroundings and ambience were casual-chic and the chairs in the cafe area were undeniably comfy, especially with the big cushions!!! The service was great, the friands were fresh and moist and the Louise cake was just like your Granny would have made!!!! The coffee was GREAT! What a find! We will be back!
Thanks
They do night service too...will definitely be a starter next time I am in town!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not far off.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We went for Mother's Day brunch. The service was bright and friendly, but lacked a little focus as our meal progressed. It's a lovely setting and the quality of the meals are generally of a high standard. We were a little disappointed with the brunch menu. It was quite small and simple for a classic brunch menu and sadly the portion size was a let down. We both ordered the MSK breakfast which at $24 would suggest a decent sized fair, but sadly it wasn't. The chorizo listed was for me one coin-sized dicing, and my wife's was two. One slice of bread for two eggs. The eggs were perfectly poached though it's just that value for money in Napier is quite a big deal. We didn't say anything as this would have been embarrassing for all. We'll probably be back though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NapierChutney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We had an enjoyable evening meal, excellent menu, nicely prepared food, great service. Reasonable prices. Our only complaint would be the wine list which was sub par and we ended up having an non alcohol evening. We understand a new wine list is coming soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank George1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My daughter and I have just enjoyed a wonderful lunch at Mahia Street Kitchen. From the friendly welcome right through to our departure we were treated to extremely efficient and professional service. Nothing was too much trouble for the very approachable staff. The food was a great size, well presented and with amazing flavours. Such a great sounding menu too. We will definitely be returning. The sooner the better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marnie-kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Napier's Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Had a dinner over there. The decor is simple, modern and cosy. Its location may not be the best location as in others restaurants in the nearby village but the food is great with friendly staff! Unfortunately I was staying ther for one night, otherwise definitely I would come back again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Freewid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mahia Street Kitchen also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing