We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquality Base - ESK Valley Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Esk Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esk Valley Lodge
Ranked #9 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquality Base - ESK Valley Lodge”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This B&B, it's location and hosts Jess and Eileen were nothing less than spectacular. Boy, does Jess (and Eileen) prepare a full and delicious breakfast as you like it plus lots more goodies. And then there is the 5 PM Meet the Guests - Wine and Cheese on Patio. Yes, the wine is from their personal vineyards.

The property is beautiful, the accommodations are spotless, well decorated and very comfortable. Free WiFi! Location is a short drive to Napier and a great region of the North Island to visit whether you are headed to Wellington or Auckland after your memorable stay at the ESK Valley Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iraisok L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
72
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Perfectly situated for exploring Napier whilst being out in the peace and quiet of the country. Jes and Eileen are perfect hosts, welcoming and friendly whilst leaving you to do your own thing. The food and wine were delicious, the lodging comfortable and homely. We have already booked a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay with Jes and Eileen. We enjoyed the tranquility, beauty, and privacy of the lodge and we enjoyed getting to know our hosts. This was our third experience with what we came to call the B&B&D: bed and breakfast and dinner. Because we found driving on the left side of the road challenging, we had a firm rule not to drink and drive, not even one glass of wine. Because of this, we usually tried to stay in places where we could walk to dinner. For all its attractions, Esk Valley Lodge is not one of those places. When Jes and Eileen offered us a glass of their Semillon, we asked about staying for dinner. Even though they usually require 24-hours notice, Jes agreed to make us a simple pasta dinner. Several glasses and a great deal of interesting conversation later, Jes gave us a lovely plate of pasta with vegetables fresh from the garden and a salad similarly sourced. Dinner the next night, which we did order in advance, was the best fish and chips we've had--very fresh fish pan fried with panko crumbs and homemade (and probably home-grown) chips, along with 4 different fresh vegetable dishes and salads. All extremely good and very reasonable. We could enjoy Jes and Eileen's delicious wine without worrying about having to do more than walk a few steps to our quiet and comfortable room. After that meal, Jes and Eileen shared all their tips about Wellington, our next destination. We could probably have stayed up much of the night talking because we enjoyed their company so much, but we had to get on the road and they had a B&B to run. Although this review is mostly about the food & people, the room was terrific, too. We stayed in the Semillon room, which was quiet, spacious and comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jct263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Lovely room with balcony overlooking gardens and vineyard.
Everything we needed, with good wifi and ample breakfast.
Nice quiet location. Owners were happy to host a welcome drink with wine from their own vines, nicely convivial.
One suggestion for improvement: the approach to the house itself is a bit scruffy and we worried momentarily whether we'd made a mistake, especially when their big dog started to bark at us when we parked the car. However, he was just being friendly and the room and hospitality were great.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Spent 3 days at Eileen's and Jes' lovely country house and enjoyed their hospitality. I own a bed and breakfast and really appreciate other professional innkeepers. These two do it really effortlessly and well. They have a comfortable, older home in a small vineyard, a short distance off the main highway yet just far enough away. We stayed in the Sauvignon room, a spacious suite looking over the vineyard. The bed was great and we had two large rooms and bath to luxuriate in. Eileen's breakfasts are wonderful; cooked portions, toasts and jams, cereals and all kinds of fresh fruits. The cooked plums were fabulous. And the best part is how easy it all seems for her to provide this wonderful array for breakfast. Great value and great hosts. Beautiful garden, too.

Room Tip: Sauvignon room looks out over vineyard with private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WisconsinInnkpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed for 2 nights - excellent hosts, fantastic food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This B&B is situated off the main road in the middle of vineyards and surrounded by orchards, flowers and lawns. We stayed in the Sauvignon Suite which had a balcony overlooking the vineyard. This room was big enough to sleep a family of 3 as it had a twin bed in the tv room. The hosts were very friendly and willing to help you plan your day. Guests were allowed to walk through the fruit orchards and pick the ripe fruit. All breakfasts were served continental and/or a full cooked breakfast. All food was fresh, local and or prepared by the owners, such as jams, fruit, museli. We would stay at this B&B again.
Also want to mention that the hosts upgraded our room without having to ask as the a/c unit was not working, very accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bepsga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
5.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
6.8 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
6.9 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
7.5 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
654 reviews
7.4 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esk Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esk Valley Lodge

Property: Esk Valley Lodge
Address: 342 Hill Road | RD2, Napier 4182, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Esk Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique accommodation in gardens and vineyards in the heart of the beautiful Esk Valley. Peace and privacy yet only 15 min from Art Deco Napier. Our rooms are named after the grapes grown in the vineyard and are tastefully decorated with quality linen and fittings and recycled Rimu timber is used throughout. The Sauvignon Suite is a self-contained suite consisting of bedroom with King Bed, veranda overlooking vineyards and gardens, separate lounge and separate bathroom. The Riesling room consists of twin King single beds and en-suite. The Semillon room is a ground floor room with its own private entrance onto the veranda and woodland gardens. It has a king size bed, TV and DVD, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and quality linen and fittings. There is a separate and private bathroom with shower and bath and a separate toilet. All rooms have heat pumps, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, TV and DVD, wireless Internet access (free). In addition guests can make use of the lower guest lounge and large LCD TV with full Sky Digital, library and DVD library and Espresso machine. Outside guests can wander the gardens, pick fruit for the table or play Petanque, Lawn darts and other games or just relax. Guests can use our Retro style bicycles to explore the vineyards, Cafes of the Esk Valley. Or borrow a rod for fly or surf fishing. Breakfasts are a feature with local fruits and homemade preserves and yoghurt to start with and an extensive choice of cooked items. We use our own and local produce whenever possible including eggs from our chickens and fruit and vegetables from the garden. Organic options available and special diets catered for. An evening meal or platter is available on request for those guests who have had a busy day walking the hills, swimming at the beaches or partaking in the many wine and food delights of Hawkes Bay. Esk Valley Lodge is an environmentally friendly operation that uses sustainable practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esk Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing