We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Esk Valley Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Spa
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
85
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauvignon suiteb bplumsnew zealandother guestsfresh fruitown bathroomcharming hoststwo nightsnapier areahawkes baydefinitely stay here againheat pumpjessemillonplatternz
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2012

A wonderful homely atmosphere in beautiful surroundings, a clean, well appointed and comfortable room, and super home cooked breakfasts made Esk Valley Lodge a great place to stay. Eileen & Jes were kind, generous and attentive hosts who were very helpful in suggesting interesting places to visit in Napier, and we much enjoyed their company and hospitality. We would highly recommend that you go there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill and Lin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We spent two night here in Nov 2012. The place is absolutely beautiful: gardens, vineyards and the house. The valley is very peaceful and this is the perfect place to relax. Breakfast was great and we ordered food from Eileen ans Jes (the owners) for one dinner. It was the best food we've got so far in NZ. Very much recommended. The place is out of town, so if you want to kick back and relax, this is your place for it. For active nightlife, forget it. I also borrowed flyfishing gear from Jes and went to the local river to catch some rainbow trouts. A nice bonus!

Recommended!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lkoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We had a pleasant and relaxing stay. We were warmly welcomed with nibbles and a nice glass of our hosts own wine. We were there in winter so there was a cosy atmosphere and a roaring fire in the guest lounge. The rooms where comfortable and scrupulously clean. Breakfast was fresh, abundant and delicious. A little out of town, which is one of the reasons we chose it, but do note that your own transport and a bit of forward planning are necessary. The ideal place to unwind. They will provide meals (other than breakfast) upon request if you don't feel like venturing out every night but this does need to be requested in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osla_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Exceptionally comfortable, beautifully renovated country house. We stayed in the Semillon suite which included a lovely lounge area as a well as a balcony terrace looking over the garden. Very welcoming and friendly hosts and we particularly enjoyed the small touches of luxury that helped to make our stay very special.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Aheatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Pleasant relaxing and tranquil the hosts are both professional and welcoming. The house is charming and surrounds as nice as the photos suggest. Breakfast was excellent.Just remember you are a few kilometres out of town so you need to sort out what you want to do for dinner in advance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeandwendy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews