We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Esk Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esk Valley Lodge
Ranked #11 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

This accommodation is in beautiful surroundings with extremely hospitable owners. The rooms are beautifully appointed with every convenience a tourist may need - from safe to hairdryer, from tv to internet access.
We had a delicious fully cooked breakfast (from our own menu) in addition to juices, cereals, breads, fresh local fruit with homemade jams and local honey.
Although a little way out of Napier, access was very easy.
Information was sent by Jes well before the visit about attractions and landmarks along the route to Esk Valley and both Eileen and Jes suggested many local restaurants and viewpoints to visit.
A really super stay - highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
72
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

Tucked away from the main road amongst vineyards in a very quiet position, Esk Valley Lodge is a very warm, welcoming, private residence with guest rooms. We had the cosy Riesling room with a large bathroom, and it overlooked the garden from one window, and the vineyards from the other. Jes and Eileen were very helpful, friendly and generous hosts providing their own wine and nibbles before dinner. Eileen's platter comes highly recommended, and the full breakfast is exactly what it says, probably the best in New Zealand. Jes was always keen to direct you to places to visit and things to see, and provided maps (and weather forecasts) to help. Two nights was not enough, hindsight is wonderful!!
Really good value for money, and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lirey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

A wonderful B&B with most accommodating hosts (Eileen and Jes, and Roxy the dog). The bed was the most comfortable bed that we stayed in during our stay in NZ, with fantastic bedding. We wanted to stay longer!

We stayed for two nights in the Sauvignon room, which has a separate living/additional bedroom with TV / DVD player. We'd driven quite a lot during our short trip to NZ, and this was a perfect weekend getaway. We had dinner there as well, and met the two other guests staying during the weekend. The four of us had a great dinner and after we invited Jes and Eileen to join us for a few drinks and a chat. It really feels like a home away from home.

The gardens were great and the property is not far from Napier and Hastings.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRiskyKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

Located amongst vineyards & set back from the main highway, Esk Valley Lodge commands great views & captures all day sun. You can choose from one of two covered verandahs and enjoy your favourite tipple. The hosts Jes & Eileen are extremely friendly & will welcome you with a glass of their own bottled Sauvignon Blanc. The rooms are absolutely lovely. The Sauvignon room especially is ideal for a small family as it has a separate lounge that will accommodate two single beds with ease. Each room has their own bathroom & the main lounge downstairs is great for relaxing with full sky channels/satellite tv, books, dvds plus each room has its own tv/dvd player. We opted for the continental breakfasts but full english is also available. It really felt like home away from home but with the added luxury of someone else doing the cooking & cleaning. We were part of a group of 6 friends & our two children, yet the place never felt overcrowded as the grounds are huge & the lodge is extremely roomy, yet not pretentious. We would strongly recommend this place as a family getaway, a romantic stay or as in our case with a group of friends. Whilst on paper it may seem a long way out of Napier, it is in fact less than 10 mins to Napier Port and 20-25 mins to Gimblett Gravels. A great place to stay & good value for money with lovely hosts.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh Surrey UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

One of our top recommendations for accommodation in NZ. Jes and Eileen put so much into their place to make it work. As well as providing a delightful home they couldn't do more for you, and the breakfasts are amazing.

After a day in Napier including the guided town-walk around all the wonderful Art Deco buildings (inside and out!) why not stay 'at home' for the evening with their 'platter' meal washed down by their own excellent wine. Bliss!

If you have time let Jes take you round the vines to show you how to test for sweetness and the differences in the grape varieties. It made our stay at Esk Valley even more special.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englisholdies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

We hesitated to write this review because the Esk Valley Lodge is really a nice place to stay. The owners are friendly and engaging. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. However, it is a drive to get to Napier and even further to reach most of the Hawkes Bay wineries. If the primary purpose of going to Napier is to visit wineries, we would suggest staying on the other side of the village of Napier.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dugan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, CO
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

We spent two nights at this beautiful B&B. Jess and Eileen and their friendly dog were the best hosts! We arrived about 9 PM after a flight into Napier. They were at the door to welcome us and help get the luggage up the stairs. We stayed in the Sauvignon Blanc suite. We found it very comfortable; the evening was warm and we were glad to find an air conditioner in the suite. This suite has a separate living area so if one person is a night owl and the other a morning lark, there is ample room to let the sleeper be undisturbed. The small balconey has great views over the vineyards with mountain behind that. Very beautiful and romantic. Breakfast was cooked to order at the time we asked the night before. They offered us a relaxing time on the porch with wine and "nibbles" before we hurried off to a restaurant in Napier. We were concerned that the location in the Esk Valley outside of Napier would be inconvenient. But the taxi driver knew just where it was; the wine guide (whom we would also recommend Grant Petherick) picked us up there with no complaints. It was about 10 minutes from the airport; about 17 minutes to downtown Napier. Their vineyard sends their grapes to the Esk Valley Winery to be made into a delightful Sauvignon Blanc. Eileen is willing to sell their private stock if you request. (Look up Esk Valley Winery if you want to find out how well they make wine!) Plan a visit to that winery while you are there. Outstanding! Anyway, we thoroughly enjoyed out two nights. We would have stayed another night if we had known that the rivers near Taupo were fished out for the season and we drove back to near Esk Valley to fish with a guide the next day. Also Free Wifi with a computer in the lounge for guest use!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
5.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
6.8 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
6.9 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
7.5 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
7.4 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#7 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esk Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esk Valley Lodge

Property: Esk Valley Lodge
Address: 342 Hill Road | RD2, Napier 4182, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Esk Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique accommodation in gardens and vineyards in the heart of the beautiful Esk Valley. Peace and privacy yet only 15 min from Art Deco Napier. Our rooms are named after the grapes grown in the vineyard and are tastefully decorated with quality linen and fittings and recycled Rimu timber is used throughout. The Sauvignon Suite is a self-contained suite consisting of bedroom with King Bed, veranda overlooking vineyards and gardens, separate lounge and separate bathroom. The Riesling room consists of twin King single beds and en-suite. The Semillon room is a ground floor room with its own private entrance onto the veranda and woodland gardens. It has a king size bed, TV and DVD, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and quality linen and fittings. There is a separate and private bathroom with shower and bath and a separate toilet. All rooms have heat pumps, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, TV and DVD, wireless Internet access (free). In addition guests can make use of the lower guest lounge and large LCD TV with full Sky Digital, library and DVD library and Espresso machine. Outside guests can wander the gardens, pick fruit for the table or play Petanque, Lawn darts and other games or just relax. Guests can use our Retro style bicycles to explore the vineyards, Cafes of the Esk Valley. Or borrow a rod for fly or surf fishing. Breakfasts are a feature with local fruits and homemade preserves and yoghurt to start with and an extensive choice of cooked items. We use our own and local produce whenever possible including eggs from our chickens and fruit and vegetables from the garden. Organic options available and special diets catered for. An evening meal or platter is available on request for those guests who have had a busy day walking the hills, swimming at the beaches or partaking in the many wine and food delights of Hawkes Bay. Esk Valley Lodge is an environmentally friendly operation that uses sustainable practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esk Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing