We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel de la Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel de la Mer
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great motel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed here for over a week and loved it. So comfortable. We were given a spa room upgrade. John and Llanys went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and had a great time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynlesleyflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    62
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
22
156
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed here for one night for a weekend getaway, was one of the best stays at a motel we've ever had. Huge spa bath/tub located next to the massive (and very comfortable bed). Everything was very modern and in good working order. The owners were very friendly and helpful and guided us to a fabulous cafe for breakfast. Great value for money ! Would definitely stay here again next time we are in the bay

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stopped here 1 night while visiting friends in Hawke Bay. It was easy to book on line and by phone. The rooms are modern, clean and large with a huge spa bath and separate shower and wc. We had excellent advice from the owners on places to eat and visit. It is only a short walk to the centre of Napier. Parking is conveniently right besides the rooms. You do have to pay extra for wifi and for breakfast but it remains quite good value.

Room Tip: We were very happy with the standard room which had a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mango Creek, Belize
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed a night here during our honeymoon. The location made for a nice walk to the downtown area. The prices were very reasonable.

The rooms offered much more than we were expecting. They were clean and comfy. Our room had a large Jacuzzi tub and a very comfortable bed. The bathrooms were modern and updated.

The owner was very friendly and attentive. He answered several questions we had about the area attractions and wineries.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvinZab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stylish and in keeping with the Art Deco town. Complete with all amenities. Well positioned - be sure to ask for room with sea view.Owner meticulous - everything thought out to the last detail. More than an everyday motel. Recommended.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for sea view - even if you pay a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kosova14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

ALOHA from Hawaii!

The experience was spectacular:
A) Wonderful proprietors: John & Llanys, warm & caring, informative, treated all guests like family with much respect. We wanted to find a B&b with proprietors on property and this is the perfect place!
B) Suite w/ SPA was very reasonably priced: meticulously kept
C) View of Hawkes Bay from every room, including our room on the ground floor; walking distance to everything we needed!

Room Tip: There is breakfast prepared for you if needed; the only reason we didn't was it was Sunday; John...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Reading the previous reviews we expected a lot more. Once again on a busy street and the traffic noise starts early. Decor is very 70's . Needs to be updated. We had Room 1 which is designed for the disabled. Great but we are not disabled. The hosts were very nice and even gave us a free dinner drink voucher for the RSA which was walking distance away. A great cheap meal was had by us there. Everyone has different ideas about places and I must say our accomodation on this trip which we organised through NZ Travel Organizers on the web has been very varied. We did state that we wanted 5 star accomodation. We got some great accomodation along the way and some what we call average accomodation, but the hosts everywhere have been really friendly and lovely to deal with.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank carlablack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
1.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#31 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel de la Mer

Property: Motel de la Mer
Address: 321 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#18 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel de la Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel de la Mer looks forward to welcoming our customers having established ourselves as a favourite with business travellers and discerning holidaymakers, who relish luxury, and a genuine, hospital experience. Our stunning oceanfront location complemented by our spacious motel apartment suite accommodation is lavishly appointed with tasteful interior décor. Each of our suites has a luxurious, relaxed atmosphere and facilities to match. Spoiled for choice: Executive Studio, Deluxe Executive Suites with large in-room fresh water private spa's and Executive One Bedroom Suites (no spa), and Deluxe Penthouse Apartments with large fresh water in-room spas and spectacular views. Situated close to Napier's C.B.D, a variety of top class restaurants, cafe's, boutique shopping and a selection of activities with the oceanfront and promenade at your door. "McLean Park" is just a 12-15 minute stroll. A "Fabulous Sporting Arena" where all our "Major Rugby and Cricket" events are hosted!. Motel de la Mer has now achieved the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence Award" for the fifth year running, and a place in the TripAdvisor Hall of Fame. This is all the more reason to come explore and experience Napier and the Hawkes Bay Region and our friendly hospitality at Motel de la Mer. Motel de la Mer - quality, superior, oceanfront suite accommodation - Relax with us in Napier, Hawkes Bay, where "Art Deco" lives on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Mer
De La Mer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing