We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL”
Review of Motel de la Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel de la Mer
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua
1 review
“GREAT HOTEL”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Hotel De le Mar ticks all the boxes!
Friendly and helpful hosts.
We stayed three nights at the motel and everything was perfect, the room was spotless and beautifully furnished. The bed was King size and comfortable. The kitchen was fully equipped. The bathroom was spacious and modern.
. We stayed in a ground floor unit which was quiet. It was equipped with a lovely big spa bath in the main room .
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly come back again.
J.C. ROTORUA

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    62
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
23
157
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2013

John & Llanys are lovely hosts - very approachable with great recommendations for the Hawkes Bay region! We stayed in a ground floor executive studio that was meticulously presented & one of the cleanest rooms we have stayed in. Soaking each night in the Spa was awesome after a day of sightseeing. An easy walk to Napier main street along the beach boardwalk made staying at the de la Mer perfect! Definitely recommended & will definitely stay again!! Thank you John & Llanys!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLHansenNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Very approachable hosts, full of helpful information. Unit beautifully clean and wonderfully serviced each day. Very handy to all of Napier's attractions and amenities. A definite plan to re-visit. Felt very at home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Very friendly and helpful hosts. Beautiful modern and very clean rooms. Beautiful towels and linens. The kitchen was well equipped, and lots of different teas and coffees were provided. We had a fabulous stay and would definitely come here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor has a spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
195 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Single night stay in ground floor unit w/room view of beach. Motel is literally right across the street from the beach & downtown is only a few blocks away.

Very clean, modern well-maintained, quiet King unit w/spa bath & separate shower. Excellent lighting throughout. Spacious & well laid-out unit w/full kitchenette, table & chairs in courtyard outside room. Very comfortable King bed. Some thoughful designer touches in small accessories in the room,

Helpful efficient hosts who steered us to a terrific Indonesian restaurant & also to Lookout Peak & wineries in Hastings.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed here for over a week and loved it. So comfortable. We were given a spa room upgrade. John and Llanys went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and had a great time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynlesleyflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed here for one night for a weekend getaway, was one of the best stays at a motel we've ever had. Huge spa bath/tub located next to the massive (and very comfortable bed). Everything was very modern and in good working order. The owners were very friendly and helpful and guided us to a fabulous cafe for breakfast. Great value for money ! Would definitely stay here again next time we are in the bay

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
568 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.1 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#7 of 47 in Napier
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Motor Lodge
Edgewater Motor Lodge
#17 of 47 in Napier
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel de la Mer

Property: Motel de la Mer
Address: 321 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#18 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel de la Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel de la Mer looks forward to welcoming our customers having established ourselves as a favourite with business travellers and discerning holidaymakers, who relish luxury, and a genuine, hospital experience. Our stunning oceanfront location complemented by our spacious motel apartment suite accommodation is lavishly appointed with tasteful interior décor. Each of our suites has a luxurious, relaxed atmosphere and facilities to match. Spoiled for choice: Executive Studio, Deluxe Executive Suites with large in-room fresh water private spa's and Executive One Bedroom Suites (no spa), and Deluxe Penthouse Apartments with large fresh water in-room spas and spectacular views. Situated close to Napier's C.B.D, a variety of top class restaurants, cafe's, boutique shopping and a selection of activities with the oceanfront and promenade at your door. "McLean Park" is just a 12-15 minute stroll. A "Fabulous Sporting Arena" where all our "Major Rugby and Cricket" events are hosted!. Motel de la Mer has now achieved the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence Award" for the fifth year running, and a place in the TripAdvisor Hall of Fame. This is all the more reason to come explore and experience Napier and the Hawkes Bay Region and our friendly hospitality at Motel de la Mer. Motel de la Mer - quality, superior, oceanfront suite accommodation - Relax with us in Napier, Hawkes Bay, where "Art Deco" lives on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Mer
De La Mer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing