We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced luxury!”
Review of Motel de la Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel de la Mer
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight during a trip around NZ. The room we stayed in included a spa bath (easily big enough for two people comfortably). Room price was not much more than others in the area without the spa so we thought why not. In walking distance to aquarium and directly opposite the beach. Highly recommended! Proprietor was keen to give is some ideas of what to do during our brief stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here 18months ago and am glad to say its still just as good. Spent 4 nights in 1st floor room. Great in room spa and everything you could want. Easy walking distance to town. Staff very helpful and room was spotless each day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed one night at Napier in the Motel de la Mer. Staff were warm and friendly, room was clean and very comfortable. Large rooms with excellent appointment - all you could ask for. Well positioned with walking distance of all amenities and opposite the waterfront. Sorry we didn't have time this trip to stay longer. Would be happy to book and stay again next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Hotel De le Mar ticks all the boxes!
Friendly and helpful hosts.
We stayed three nights at the motel and everything was perfect, the room was spotless and beautifully furnished. The bed was King size and comfortable. The kitchen was fully equipped. The bathroom was spacious and modern.
. We stayed in a ground floor unit which was quiet. It was equipped with a lovely big spa bath in the main room .
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly come back again.
J.C. ROTORUA

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

John & Llanys are lovely hosts - very approachable with great recommendations for the Hawkes Bay region! We stayed in a ground floor executive studio that was meticulously presented & one of the cleanest rooms we have stayed in. Soaking each night in the Spa was awesome after a day of sightseeing. An easy walk to Napier main street along the beach boardwalk made staying at the de la Mer perfect! Definitely recommended & will definitely stay again!! Thank you John & Llanys!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLHansenNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Very approachable hosts, full of helpful information. Unit beautifully clean and wonderfully serviced each day. Very handy to all of Napier's attractions and amenities. A definite plan to re-visit. Felt very at home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Very friendly and helpful hosts. Beautiful modern and very clean rooms. Beautiful towels and linens. The kitchen was well equipped, and lots of different teas and coffees were provided. We had a fabulous stay and would definitely come here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor has a spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
601 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#11 of 46 in Napier
130 reviews
2.5 mi away
Westshore Beach Inn
Westshore Beach Inn
#23 of 46 in Napier
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#25 of 46 in Napier
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel de la Mer

Address: 321 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#18 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range: £85 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel de la Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel de la Mer looks forward to welcoming our customers having established ourselves as a favourite with business travellers and discerning holidaymakers, who relish luxury, and a genuine, hospital experience. Our stunning oceanfront location complemented by our spacious motel apartment suite accommodation is lavishly appointed with tasteful interior décor. Each of our suites has a luxurious, relaxed atmosphere and facilities to match. Spoiled for choice: Executive Studio, Deluxe Executive Suites with large in-room fresh water private spa's and Executive One Bedroom Suites (no spa), and Deluxe Penthouse Apartments with large fresh water in-room spas and spectacular views. Situated close to Napier's C.B.D, a variety of top class restaurants, cafe's, boutique shopping and a selection of activities with the oceanfront and promenade at your door. "McLean Park" is just a 12-15 minute stroll. A "Fabulous Sporting Arena" where all our "Major Rugby and Cricket" events are hosted!. Motel de la Mer has now achieved the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence Award" for the fifth year running, and a place in the TripAdvisor Hall of Fame. This is all the more reason to come explore and experience Napier and the Hawkes Bay Region and our friendly hospitality at Motel de la Mer. Motel de la Mer - quality, superior, oceanfront suite accommodation - Relax with us in Napier, Hawkes Bay, where "Art Deco" lives on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Mer
De La Mer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing