We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel de la Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel de la Mer
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I travel quite a bit and this motel was decidedly memorable. The location was perfect, across the road from the beach and a short walking distance to great restaurants and the centre of town. The room itself was really spacious, well designed and appointed. I'm like the princess and the pea when it comes to beds and pillows but I slept like a baby because it was so quiet and comfortable. We had a view of the main beach and the owners were genuinely helpful. This was probably the best motel I have ever stayed in and I will be returning on my next trip to Napier.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    62
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
23
156
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We drove up from Wellington after work on New Year's Eve (300+klms) and received a nice complimentary phone call en route to check all was well and to let us know reception closing times etc, the manager greeted us by name when we arrived (nice touch) very friendly and showed us to our room, gave us tips and directions to New Years attractions close by. Our room was a first floor suite with air con, a very comfy king bed and a spa pool in the bedroom....awesome. The room itself was immaculate, very clean, great shower, very quiet even on New Year's Eve. Had a nice sea view and made drinks on the veranda outside the room very nice. The motel is very handy (walking distance) to shops restraunts and waterfront attractions. The sea views are better from the first floor rooms or the penthouses above. I would defiantly stay here again, great staff, service and location. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: First floor has better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We just returned from a 2 day trip to Napier to celebrate my partner's birthday. John was an excellent host and was very accommodating [excuse the pun]. The room and fittings were of a high standard. The Marine Parade location was at the port end so it's very handy to everything -5 mins walk. We experienced the hottest [and most humid] day of the summer thus far, so the air con was fantastic. We would recommend a visit to anyone looking for location, pricacy and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phuketin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
335 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The penthouse room was a great 1 bed room suite with 2 balconies. Vary large and spacious. Modern room, great bed and pillows. The balcony view overlooked the South Pacific and park on the other side of the street. It was short walk into downtown. The folks at the motel were very nice. There was parking was onsite at not charge. Note that you must climb 3 stories to get to your room, so pack a smaller / lighter bag for only a one night visit. Great choice, easy to recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy2645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albufeira, Portugal
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Our choice of this motel was completely accidental, but we made the right choice alright. The accommodation was superb, and the location was ideal. The manageress, Llenys, was very friendly and helpful, and we will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
189 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

With tens of choices of motels scattered around town, it is not easy to find one in Napier, but this place almost has it all.

We like :
-Verrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrry large room. Extra comfortable bed, complete kitchen, even an electric cooker, which is not common. Nice bathroom and Zembu countdown interned provided to each of you. Soundproof is good as nothing heard in-or-outside.
-A huge spa in the middle of the room, next to the bed, for spa lovers, and their admirers.
-5 minutes to the art deco centre, where main shopping area is, as well as most of the dining options.

We don't :
-nothing

A good maintained motel, correctly priced, and near to anything in compact Napier

Room Tip: The higher you go, the more of the seaview you get. Also, prices change accordingly. The building is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEEPfromPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Motel de la Mer is a great base for a stay in Napier. It features spacious, stylish accommodation, has guaranteed water views and is easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and the magnificent city centre. John, Llanys and their staff take real pride in making sure that the units are spotless, and they have plenty of advice about the local attractions. We had four nights here and were very sorry to leave, not just because we love the city, but also because Motel de la Mer is such a quality establishment. Great value for the price. Highly recommended – we wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else in Napier.

Tip if driving Napier-Taupo: the morning we left we drove from Napier to Taupo. John told us about a waterfall (Waipunga Falls?) that we could visit about an hour from Napier. This is well worth a few minutes stop, especially as the car park/viewing point is just off the highway and requires only a very slight diversion.

Room Tip: Second or third floor rooms have better sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrenCesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
1.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#33 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel de la Mer

Property: Motel de la Mer
Address: 321 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#18 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel de la Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel de la Mer looks forward to welcoming our customers having established ourselves as a favourite with business travellers and discerning holidaymakers, who relish luxury, and a genuine, hospital experience. Our stunning oceanfront location complemented by our spacious motel apartment suite accommodation is lavishly appointed with tasteful interior décor. Each of our suites has a luxurious, relaxed atmosphere and facilities to match. Spoiled for choice: Executive Studio, Deluxe Executive Suites with large in-room fresh water private spa's and Executive One Bedroom Suites (no spa), and Deluxe Penthouse Apartments with large fresh water in-room spas and spectacular views. Situated close to Napier's C.B.D, a variety of top class restaurants, cafe's, boutique shopping and a selection of activities with the oceanfront and promenade at your door. "McLean Park" is just a 12-15 minute stroll. A "Fabulous Sporting Arena" where all our "Major Rugby and Cricket" events are hosted!. Motel de la Mer has now achieved the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence Award" for the fifth year running, and a place in the TripAdvisor Hall of Fame. This is all the more reason to come explore and experience Napier and the Hawkes Bay Region and our friendly hospitality at Motel de la Mer. Motel de la Mer - quality, superior, oceanfront suite accommodation - Relax with us in Napier, Hawkes Bay, where "Art Deco" lives on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Mer
De La Mer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing