We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A brilliant motel”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This was one of our favourite motels in New Zealand. It is very convenient for walks along the prom and in the town. The facilities were clean,comfortable and modern with a pleasant eating area inside and outside the room so we chose to self cater all our meals. Staff were very friendly. There is also a lovely pool and free wifi which not all motels have. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wodie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    76
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
80
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed here for two nights while touring around the area, from Dec 30 to Jan. 1. The two bedroom unit was great for our family of five, and the location was quite handy to Marine Parade, the main drag of Napier, and the beach. Our first night was fine, but unfortunately, it all went to pieces on New Year's Eve. It seems like a lot of the beach towns in NZ turn into magnets for rowdy party animals, so I suppose we were taking our chances by traveling at this time of the year. (It has been some years since I've lived in NZ.) But the level of noise shocked us. We had the unit right by the road, which was probably the noisiest. From about 11 pm, people yelling up and down the street, car horns, doors slamming, several fights, and worst of all a woman screaming at her partner in the next unit at 3 in the morning. Nobody got much sleep and my kids were scared.

To be fair, the owners were away and another couple were there as caretakers. Being from Auckland, they seemed as surprised as we were by the level of noise all night. They were helpful and obliging and did a good job with the guests. It wasn't their fault. However, while I can recommend this motel at any other time, I would avoid Napier altogether at New Year, unless you hate to sleep.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the two-bedroom unit closest to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

Lovely big rooms and well equipped kitchen. Very clean. Lovely friendly staff. Great value for money. Will definitely stay again. A short walk to the centre of Napier (10 mins) or the beach (2 mins). It doesn't have beach views (or claim to have) but you can hear the water from the rooms which was lovely and relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AbbeyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Lovely room - everything you needed was there - very clean
Only a few minutes walk from town centre and about 50m from beach
Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Have stayed here previously and would definitely do so again in future

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SueMM186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

To get that nostalgic feeling of the Formica Period, come here to Formica heaven. Be it in the kitchenette, on the wardrobes and desk or in the bathroom, Formica is king. Why pay to go to a museum when here the nostalgia is included in the price (NZD 115 for a double room), which isn´t too much in my opinion. The microwave oven is also an early classic. For the price, recommendable!

Room Tip: This is a typical two-storey motel, so if you have heavy luggage, ask for a downstairs room. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This was the first time we had stayed at the motel. It has a really great location, being close to the shops, and one block away from Marine Parade. The motel itself was clean and spacious. As far as making beds go, i feel that the staff doing that job need more training on how to make a bed properly. Was certainly not up to standard. I did complain and the owner was very apologetic. Very noisy if you are in a downstairs unit, and have units above you. You can hear everything, people walking around, doors being slammed even people talking.

Room Tip: Go to this motel of season when there are not so many people around then you wont get any noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is a great motel. Staff were very welcoming upon arrival. Spacious room was excellent - bathroom was an enormous wet room suitable also for wheelchair/disabled access. Spa bath in rooms. Couch and small kitchenette. Only a 2 min walk across the street to the beach and Napier waterfront; a further 10 mins to the city centre. Very quiet at night. Excellent wireless internet.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lincoln J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
1.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.1 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel

Property: Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel
Address: 411 Hastings Street | Hawkes Bay Region, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing