We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Motor Lodge
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Last minute booking”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We were driving along the Napier waterfront looking for somewhere to stay after our flight out of Hawke's Bay was cancelled. We liked the look of the Edgewater so went in to check out the rate and their availability. The host was lovely, very friendly and accommodating, and the rates was really reasonable. The rooms were nice, super clean, and the shower was fabulous! The only slightly negative thing about the Edgewater is that it is on the main road, so can be a little noisy with the trucks going past on their way to the port, but I reckon that the stunning view of the ocean out of your window makes up for that.

Room Tip: Upstairs is nice, you get a better view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    82
    28
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
96
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We arrived a little early and on check in the host kindly contacted some tour companies to see if we could get onto an afternoon wine tour, we did and it was great!! Our room was clean and comfortable with a great shower. On check out our host recommended we visit Te Mata peak and we are glad he did it was an awesome view as we had a very clear morning. Thank you again for your great hospitality!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel n T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turangi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We booked two adjacent rooms for 2 couples and were pleased we had a shared balcony where we sat in the evening enjoying wine and nibbles, overlooking the sea. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. This is not deluxe accommodation, but very pleasant and good value for money. The location is good, it's close to the city centre. Staff were very helpful and parking is available. Will stay here again. Even though the road is busy, there is little traffic after dark and we had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isabellamunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
252 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Situated on the waterfront with views of the ocean. There is a main road, but busy by day and quiet at night, so I had a good night's sleep. I requested a ground floor room and was able to park my car close by in the private car park. My room was a good size, well equipped, very clean and well decorated. I liked the very compact kitchen area with fridge & microwave. Out front, there is a small patio area where you can sit and watch the sea view. It is only a 10 mintue walk to the shops, cafes and restaurants. Also free wi-fi.

Room Tip: All rooms front the main road. 2 levels - higher level has a better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Hello Female- Tourist.
Thank you very much for your glowing review. We hope that enjoyed what Napier had to offer and maybe one day see you again. Perhapes you could bring some more female tourists.
That would be good.
All the best
Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Situated on the sea front and within walking distance of the resauants and shops. We were on the ground floor looking across the parade and had a small table and chairs outside so we could watch the world go by.The room was large, clean and well eqipped (including a spa bath). Roy was very helpful and gave us information on where to visit on route to our next destination which we are pleased to say we took and made our journey more interesting.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everest10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Hello Everest10. Thank you very much for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed the surgestions I made when you headed away from Napier. I don't get a lot of feedback on that so it was really good.
Regards Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This Motor Lodge is right on the seafront and all rooms have a sea view. Upstairs rooms are best as they offer more privacy. Beds are very comfortable and balconies have outdoor furniture to sit on. The rooms are spacious and clean with a decent sized fridge. Not all rooms have a bath, but all have showers. If you want a bath, you will need to request this when booking to see if one is available. The hosts are friendly and very helpful and shopping is only a very short walk away. If in Napier for work, the rooms have a good sized dining table to use as a work station and wifi available.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view but upstairs is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Hello Kinuk. Thank you for taking the time to write such a good review. We are glade that you had a good time in Napier and look forward to many more families coming to town to enjoy the new Marine Parade facilities that are under way. Just to clarify the saftey aspect of the plunge pool. Each of the 4 ranch sliders that open out on to the courtyard have dead bolt and signs on them for security. We are required to do this by law and it is yearly inspected. Kids arround the pool are always well supervised and we have never had a problem. Cheers and have a good new year.
Regards
Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed here for one night, and were really pleased with the accommodation. It was exceptionally clean, and very spacious. A laundry was available for use - very handy when travelling, and the kitchenette was well equipped. The view from the balcony was second to none, and the central location meant that the Lodge was within walking distance to shops and eateries. The only down side was that it's summer and no fans or A/C were available in the rooms. Great advice from reception when we checked out, as to the best stops on our trip, which was teriffic. A great place to stay, and we would certainly stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Hello Jasmaine. Thank you for your review and it is really good to here your feedback especially on some of the stops I surgested when heading south from here. Thank you for the comments on the accomodation. We do have fans available at reception on request and you can bolt your ranch slider back for the cool seabreeze if required. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.
Regards
Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motor Lodge

Property: Edgewater Motor Lodge
Address: 359 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#12 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#14 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Edgewater Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater Motor Lodge offers superb, affordable beachfront accommodation with spectacular sea views. Our great location on Marine Parade in the heart of Napier NZ gives easy walking access to the city centre, National Aquarium of New Zealand, Rotary Walkway, the Ocean Spa complex, Napier Municipal Theatre, Conference Centre, McLean Park Sports Ground, Intercity bus station, RSA, Cosmopolitan Club and a variety of restaurants and cafes. All units at our beachfront motel in Napier have ocean views, tea/coffee making facilities (full cooking facilities in 12 units), microwave, ensuite with shower (spa bath in some units), hair dryer, queen size beds, phone, free WiFi, 5-channel Sky Digital, flat screen TVs with 20 channels, electric blankets, iron/ironing board. Select from basic studio, spa bath studio, superior studio, one bedroom or two bedroom motel units (ideal for families). All motel units are non-smoking and are serviced daily. Guest facilities include a salt water plunge pool, BBQ, laundry, free off-street parking and free Wi-Fi internet throughout the motel. Cooked/continental breakfast available to unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Edgewater Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Napier
Edgewater Motel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing