We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice spot, decent rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Motor Lodge
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Booked this as a last minute trip. Room was decent took a 2 bedroom apartment.
Modern furnishings, sky TV, friendly host.

Room cleaning was pretty poor, there was still chips in the oven from who knows who. Chips also stuck on oven ledge when you opened the door. i noticed food and other inhabitants on the ground under lounge, as i dropped the remote and unforatuntely had to get onto the ground to pick it up.

The free wifi was tempremental....acutally most of the time i couldnt get service. Oh well i wasn't there to sit on the internet so i accepted.

We were on the gorund floor and the people above us were extremely heavy footed or large. Otherwise its only a thin sheet of paper between floors.

Good location, good price but i doubt i'd stay again

Room Tip: not the ground floor due to thin flooring
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gotrice24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

Sadly the weather did not help but when we checked in we had to ring the bell for a long time for somebody to come to the office , the Proprietor was fairly unintersted in the wait that we had .
He finally assigned us a down stairs room with a view which was hard to see because of the lousey weather and the salt spray on the windows which was no fault of the Proprietor because of the salt spray .
The room was as one would exspect for the price that we paid $115.00 per night but there are a few things that they maybe could look into in the future .
The Bedside lamps are positioned so high with the switch being up with the lights that we almost had to get on to a chair to turn off the lights at night .
when we arrived the room was tidy and we kept it as tidy as we could for the 3 days that we stayed but the cleaning staff have obviously never used a vacuum cleaner in their lives and proved that as our place was not Vacced at all . Over all we would say that we rated Edgewater at 4.5 out of 10 but bear in mind , you get what you pay for .

Room Tip: Dont forget to remember that everyone who comes in the door is the opportunity for an other sale !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaipunaOhau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Well positioned motel, very close to the National aquarium and sea front. Easy access to the town and shops/restaurants. Clean and comfortable with all normal facilities but we had a room at the front overlooking the sea, across a main road, which could be noisy at times.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here overnight in march 2013. The owner could not have been more helpful with some information about the local resturants and attractions. The rooms were a good size and well appointed the bed was clean and comfortable. The stone beach was across the road and great to watch the ocean crashing in and hear the noise of the stone being moved by the ebb and flow of the tide.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clishmaclaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a studio room with a spa. $270 was a great deal compared to other accomodation we looked at. Very handy to the town centre. Our room was very well cleaned, and in order. The room was very spacious, and had awesome views of the beach, although I would try an upstairs room next time to get an even better view. Rooms downstairs have spa baths. The hosts were very welcoming, especially the lady who we met on arrival. Very pleasant lady.
There is not really anything to fault as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. No aircon could be an issue during hot summer days though. Its located on Marine Parade so of course it can get busy at times. Get in early to get a good park as there is not much space & other guests sometimes dont know how to park within the lines. Wifi was extremely slow at times so I would switch onto my own internet connection on my phone. But still had an incredible time here. Thank you so much to our hosts. :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piarimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed two nights here.Very convenient to downtown. Walking distance to grocery. Good set-up for cooking and dining. Comfortable bed. Table and chairs outside on patio and a plunge pool. But the best? A spa tub! What I needed after long drive through the countryside. The owner and the lady at the desk were very helpful. Only problem was the parking. Fairly narrow spaces and drivers who could not stay within the lines made for some interesting parking situations! Would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor. Some road noise. A higher floor would be less noisy and make for a bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darcy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We were driving along the Napier waterfront looking for somewhere to stay after our flight out of Hawke's Bay was cancelled. We liked the look of the Edgewater so went in to check out the rate and their availability. The host was lovely, very friendly and accommodating, and the rates was really reasonable. The rooms were nice, super clean, and the shower was fabulous! The only slightly negative thing about the Edgewater is that it is on the main road, so can be a little noisy with the trucks going past on their way to the port, but I reckon that the stunning view of the ocean out of your window makes up for that.

Room Tip: Upstairs is nice, you get a better view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
580 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
923 reviews
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 47 in Napier
797 reviews
1.5 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motor Lodge

Address: 359 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#12 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#14 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range: £60 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Edgewater Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater Motor Lodge offers superb, affordable beachfront accommodation with spectacular sea views. Our great location on Marine Parade in the heart of Napier NZ gives easy walking access to the city centre, National Aquarium of New Zealand, Rotary Walkway, the Ocean Spa complex, Napier Municipal Theatre, Conference Centre, McLean Park Sports Ground, Intercity bus station, RSA, Cosmopolitan Club and a variety of restaurants and cafes. All units at our beachfront motel in Napier have ocean views, tea/coffee making facilities (full cooking facilities in 12 units), microwave, ensuite with shower (spa bath in some units), hair dryer, queen size beds, phone, free WiFi, 5-channel Sky Digital, flat screen TVs with 20 channels, electric blankets, iron/ironing board. Select from basic studio, spa bath studio, superior studio, one bedroom or two bedroom motel units (ideal for families). All motel units are non-smoking and are serviced daily. Guest facilities include a salt water plunge pool, BBQ, laundry, free off-street parking and free Wi-Fi internet throughout the motel. Cooked/continental breakfast available to unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Edgewater Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Napier
Edgewater Motel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing