We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good size room, great shoreline view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edgewater Motor Lodge
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good size room, great shoreline view”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Overall, it is a good stay. The premise is just across the shoreline. One could walk the shoreline and enjoy the nice view of napier costal. This is not one of those ordinary hotels. Rather, it is really like those motor inns you find in the US. However, it is a very nice establishment. The check in was quick and the reception was manned by two old age lady and gentleman during my stay. They are friendly and easy to talk to. Once checking, I went to my room which is on the first floor . There are only ground and first floors. Although it is on the first floor, I loved the view as soon as I stepped into the room. One could see the sea view that napier offers. The establishment offers free package milk for your hot drinks in your room. The size of the room is reasonable and it is clean. The bed comes with electric blankets which are very welcomed during my winter visit. There is a guest laundry facilities on site. If you wish to stay in your room, then you may be pleased to note that there are quite a number of good channels on TV. The room price is very reasonable given the view you get from your room. The next door establishment charges almost $30more for the same view. So edge water is definitely a better choice. The only caution is the size of the carpark. It is very narrow driveway. Alternatively is for one to park along the street parking in front of the establishment,

Room Tip: Choose the first floor rooms. Better view to the shoreline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank General_koh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    84
    29
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
96
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Awesome location- was just down the road from where my conference was held. Opposite the sea but we were on the bottom floor so view wasnt so great- so next time we will book the 2nd floor :-) great value :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piarimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed at the Edgewater Motor Lodge on Saturday 26 April 2014 with my elderly parents. They gave us a downstairs room which was lovely, clean and spacious. Parking was a little tight but nothing I could not negotiate. Very pleasant and helpful Manager. We found this motel perfectly situated for our needs and would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: My mother has an artificial knee and therefore upstairs was not for us. The motel management were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyMcMorran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmerston north
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My partner and I stayed in here for two nights, we found the place spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable. We got a down stairs spa unit over looking the sea across the road, a little place to sit outside. The parks here are abit tricky but you could park outside your unit road side. Very enjoyable stay ♥

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelindaB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hello Melinda.
Thank you for your very kind review and we hope you really enjoyed Napier.
Regards
Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamuela HI
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This motel was just fine for my husband and me for one night in Napier. The room is smallish but light from the ocean-facing windows. It is very clean and the bed is comfortable. The price was quite reasonable and there is free wifi. Only downside is street noise but that will lessen at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ainahou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hello Ainahou. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Thanks for the feeback on the value and the free unlimited Wifi. Marine parade is a busy road during the day but it does quiten right down at night time.
Cheers Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Proved a bit tricky to find a place on Marine parade with a twin room and a view. The only option was downstairs from which the view is fairly limited but could be worse and the price was OK.

As noted in other reviews the parking area is pretty tight but better there than on the road I reckon. Normal cars are OK but everyone seems to have a stationwagon or van sort of thing thesedays, as did mum & I on this trip so we're part of the problem!

Water in the shower could tend to run rather cool for a while - don't be fooled into turning up the temperature as it'll come back super hot in due course. This is not exactly a surprise at hotels and motels though, comes with the territory.

So despite the slightly negative aspects, it's 4 out of 5 as everything else was great, no problems. So nice when everything just works as it should.

A good amount of kitchen bench space and a handy table attached to the bench. The usual SKY TV channels you'd expect. Spa bath. Plunger coffee and little biscuits in addition to the usual sachets of instant coffee and tea. An air blower/heater in the cupboard which mum used to keep cool overnight.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levin, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Clean and tidy , great location. Parking is extremely difficult , we had a regular size sedan. Others tried to get larger cars in and it's not impossible but nearly so to fit in the super narrow parks and squeeze between the building and parked cars. Get in late and you have to park on the street.
Wheel chair access to the disabled room requires mounting a curb first to get on to the pathway, with no disabled park.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
572 reviews
1.5 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
778 reviews
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motor Lodge

Property: Edgewater Motor Lodge
Address: 359 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#12 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#15 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Edgewater Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater Motor Lodge offers superb, affordable beachfront accommodation with spectacular sea views. Our great location on Marine Parade in the heart of Napier NZ gives easy walking access to the city centre, National Aquarium of New Zealand, Rotary Walkway, the Ocean Spa complex, Napier Municipal Theatre, Conference Centre, McLean Park Sports Ground, Intercity bus station, RSA, Cosmopolitan Club and a variety of restaurants and cafes. All units at our beachfront motel in Napier have ocean views, tea/coffee making facilities (full cooking facilities in 12 units), microwave, ensuite with shower (spa bath in some units), hair dryer, queen size beds, phone, free WiFi, 5-channel Sky Digital, flat screen TVs with 20 channels, electric blankets, iron/ironing board. Select from basic studio, spa bath studio, superior studio, one bedroom or two bedroom motel units (ideal for families). All motel units are non-smoking and are serviced daily. Guest facilities include a salt water plunge pool, BBQ, laundry, free off-street parking and free Wi-Fi internet throughout the motel. Cooked/continental breakfast available to unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Napier
Edgewater Motel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing