We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic and run down but some nice features”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Archies Bunker Backpackers
Ranked #25 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic and run down but some nice features”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We were there early August and I think it's fair to say that this is not Napiers busy time! We only saw one other person in the hostel and we couldn't even find a restaurant that was open in the evening! The hostel is ok, definitely not the best we stayed in whilst travelling for 2 months but also not the worst. We stayed in a double room and the good points were that the room was a reasonable size, it had our own flat screen TV (massive bonus!), reception has 300+ DVD's to choose from to watch on the TV and they allowed us to check in early which was great. On the down side the overall feel of the hostel was very run down - paint peeling off the walls, kitchen utensils had seen much better days. Also, when we woke up in the morning there was no power for at least an hour. Not a massive issue but there was no apology or any mention at all of the inconvience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    17
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
19
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Pleasant and tidy place to stay! Cheap and friendly, close to everything in napier, car parking outside. Can't find a downside with this place! Would definitely recommend to anyone. is perfect for friends travelling on a budget, or a family. the service provided was great and helped us through the booking process, (we were first timers). Everyone staying there was friendly and met some lovely people from around the world.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alliechomperr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012

On a first trip to Napier just recently I stayed here. The place is very clean, with basic kitchen, bathroom amenities etc. Was always tidy and clean. Is based in the city centre within easy walking distance of all things required, and most of the tourist stuff (except wineries). I had booked a single room but was upgraded to a double which was nice. Had a TV in my room that even has Sky Movies. Jemma who I dealt with by email, and on check-in was very lovely, and efficient. Management is about to change, and I met the new owner whilst in training, who seemed nice also. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemgal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Friendly staff welcomed us into this hostel based in a lovely old building close to the town centre. We booked a double room and were given a family room with a double bed and bunk beds in the room. The room was very clean and modern and whilst there was TV and hair dryer, there were no towels. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreakinSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed here 4 nights.Thought the place was Ok except for the showers until my last morning ..The owner got extremely angry with me because i checked out 30 minutes late and was moving to a different backpackers in the area.Initially refused to give me back my key deposit until he evenually relented.Very immature behaviour indeed.

Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank brenda600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Stayed here for over 5 weeks. After only a few days Doug had got work for us, which continued for the entire length of the stay. Both he and Rachel did their best to ensure that the quality of everything was top notch. Good equipped kitchens, many well functioning showers. Large dorm space, even in the fewer bed dorms. Large lounge both upstairs and downstairs, with a large free DVD collection.

Loved the stay there, and would absolutely recommend all bound for Napier to consider staying there!

Keep up the good work Doug, Julie and Rachel! :D

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EndreH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

The staff are so friendly, the rooms are very breezy which is good for smelly feet!
Tv room is massive, free pool, smoking deck, your allowed to drink alcohol!
Would deffo go back

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrawHatReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
835 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Napier
YHA Napier
#8 of 35 in Napier
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stables Lodge Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Napier
Econo Lodge Napier
#25 of 47 in Napier
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dome
The Dome
#4 of 35 in Napier
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel de la Mer
Motel de la Mer
#22 of 47 in Napier
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archies Bunker Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archies Bunker Backpackers

Property: Archies Bunker Backpackers
Address: 14 Herschell Street, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Napier's finest Backpackers Accommodation facility. We are situated opposite the Napier museum, in a quiet tree-lined street within sight of the Napier information centre and only metres away from shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. We provide low cost, clean, comfortable accommodation. Our facility sleeps over 50 people in spacious surroundings. We have two large lounges; both with Sky TV, DVD players and an extensive DVD library which is free to guests. One lounge is a peaceful retreat, while the other provides a pool table, large screen TV, board games etc. Off the main lounge we have a deck and large BBQ, ideal for relaxing and enjoying the traditional kiwi way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Archies Bunker Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing