We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location! Excellent Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Archies Bunker Backpackers
Ranked #24 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Reviewed 22 September 2008

What a lovely place!!!!!! Excellent service from Doug ( owner) who had great local knowledge and who took the time to point out great places to go and how to get there! Hostel was VERY clean and tidy. rooms were a good price.

We had a great time in Napier and were very happy with our accomodation!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HollyandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archiesbunker, Owner at Archies Bunker Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2008

Thank you so much for your awesome review James and Holly, it was a pleasure having you to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2008

This was the nicest place i stayed in 7 months of travelling! Doug and Julie (the owners) are lovely and really helpful! They even gave me a job for a couple of weeks. Napier is a gorgeous city, well worth a visit. expecialy if you stay in Archies!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sparklyfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archiesbunker, Owner at Archies Bunker Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2009

Hey Sparklyfrog, thanks for your awesome feedback - we really appreciate you taking the time to put comments on this site. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

Great hostel, we had a lovely ensuite room which was $66 not the $140 as quoted on this website!!! The best thing is the flat screen TV and DVD player in the room and the 250 DVDs that you can choose from..all free of charge! The owners really make this place with their friendly, helpful knowledge. Good location, definitely a good choice for Napier.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank willow58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2008

I have never beem to a better backpackers! a bathroom and flat panel TV in the room? Yes, that's right! Also very clean. And the owners were very helpful recommending things to do. Great location right in the heart of Napier and close to wineries.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Martha212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2007

Built in the International Style in primarily Art Deco Napier, Archie's Bunker is technically a hostel, but isn't just for backpackers. It's quiet, extraordinarily safe, and just chill.

There are a few singles, many doubles and triples, and a large shared dormitory room. Some of the rooms are small, windowless internal rooms (with air vents) that are great for sleeping, and some have gigantic windows that let in a lot of air and light and some street noise. I got one of the internal rooms and had the best night's sleep on my entire trip. There are also backpacker rooms (no sheets) and budget rooms that have sheets. If you email Doug Batt (the owner), he will tell you which rooms are which. I emailed him a bit before I booked, and he responded to email promptly.

Doug and his wife live in the hostel and run it themselves. Unlike transitional staff common in other hostels, they know a lot about Napier and it's environs. There were no security lockers as far as I could tell (either for packs in the dorm room, or for valuables), but they will store luggage in the office if you ask, and it's kept religiously locked when neither of them are in there. Entry to the reception area is open during the day, but entry to the hostel proper is by a security key fob at all times (the key fob also lets you in after dark). In addition, you get a key to your room (of course).

There are two kitchens, two lounges (with a TV each), coin-op laundry, and a coin-op pool table. They have like 200 DVDs in the office that you can borrow for free -- some rooms have their own TV/DVD units! There are (I think) four bathrooms, and 2 sets of showers -- all unisex.

The Kiwi Experience bus stops off at Archie's but it's one of the last stops, so the party people are pooped -- or at the bars and clubs that are 1-2 blocks away. On a quiet side street, Archie's is across the street from the Napier Museum, 1/2 block from Marine Parade and the bay, 2 blocks from the iSite (visitor's center), and 2 blocks from a semi-pedestrianized area with shops and places to eat.

I would definitely stay here again. There are so many people who backpack in NZ, and the hosteling industry is an old one there (noisy hostels, lots of people coming through, transitional or working staff who are overworked, etc), so Archie's is a refreshing change.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Former_grad_student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PiLe95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archiesbunker, Manager at Archies Bunker Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Toad Hall Backpackers
Toad Hall Backpackers
#18 of 34 in Napier
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Art House Backpackers
0.5 mi away
Stables Lodge Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
939 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#9 of 46 in Napier
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archies Bunker Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archies Bunker Backpackers

Address: 14 Herschell Street, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Price Range: £12 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Archies Bunker Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Napier's finest Backpackers Accommodation facility. We are situated opposite the Napier museum, in a quiet tree-lined street within sight of the Napier information centre and only metres away from shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. We provide low cost, clean, comfortable accommodation. Our facility sleeps over 50 people in spacious surroundings. We have two large lounges; both with Sky TV, DVD players and an extensive DVD library which is free to guests. One lounge is a peaceful retreat, while the other provides a pool table, large screen TV, board games etc. Off the main lounge we have a deck and large BBQ, ideal for relaxing and enjoying the traditional kiwi way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Archies Bunker Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing