We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property for sale”
Review of Manor on Parade

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor on Parade
Ranked #32 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Norddeutschland
Level 6 Contributor
807 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 610 helpful votes
“Property for sale”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This review might be outdated soon but I thought I might give others a fair warning. When we arrived at the property we saw a large sign saying "on sale". Our inquiry gave the result that the hosts want to sell the B&B just because they thought they spend enough time in this business. So new hosts might comment on this review.

The building is located directly on the parade along the oceanfront, a short 500m walk to the aquarium and equally long to the art deco center of the city. We chose the backroom due to the ability to sit in the evening sun and have a glass of wine on the balcony. The room was clean, big enough for the two of us and our two large suitcases and had a nice modern bath with shampoo missing from the amenities (apart from this nothing to complain about but bring your own shampoo).

We spent two nights there and the room was well kept and had all needed things inside (including wine glasses). There is a fridge that is a communal one so you have to take care of your goods.

The breakfast was wonderfully prepared had some nice danish pastries, good marmelade, and even some cheeses but it lacked any cooked part and the coffee was standing in a large container (up to 12 cups) and kept warm during the whole time of the breakfast.

I think the two latter points were due to the more than obvious attitude of the hosts to keep as few contact with the guests as possible. On arrival we asked for some advice on a tour to wineries and received the more than "helpful" advice to go to the i-site. We do book b&b due to the normally more personalised service and the higher attentiveness and with that one exception we had a pretty good time in New Zealand but here the hosts confided themselves to the absolute minimum. Sorry to say even with the formal part (bedroom, cleanliness, breakfast) in general being ok, this attitude left us a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Googe, Owner at Manor on Parade, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
We're sorry you were disappointed in your stay at Manor On Parade.On your arrival you asked about M.O.P being for sale and we told you we were hoping to retire and do other things,why you feel the need to warn others about this I'm not sure.
You commented our breakfast was lacking something cooked,we don't offer a cooked breakfast it is continental with a lot of extra's.The 'container' of coffee you mentioned is a glass coffee pot on a Bravillo coffee machine keeping it hot for the guests convenience.
You obviously expect a lot of personal contact from a host,we have found guests come to Napier to enjoy the Art Deco,wineries etc.not to spend time with the hosts.
We have enjoyed many wonderful conversations with guests,received fabulous reviews and never before been accused of having a bad attitude.
This is the first time we have felt a need to respond to a review but we feel your comments are unjustified and untrue.
Judy and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Manor on Parade sits on a pleasant boulevard directly across from the ocean. We spent four nights in Room 1, which is located at the front of the house. We were traveling with friends who stayed in Room 2. Room 1 is quite spacious with a sitting area next to picture windows that span the room’s width and overlook the ocean. The room is tastefully decorated and appointed with comfortable furniture and quality linens. Serviced daily, the room is very clean (as is the whole house). The bathroom sparkles and looks brand new. The hostess, Judy, has nicely equipped the in-room kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, hot water kettle, a nice assortment of tea, French press, coffee grounds, milk in the fridge, plates, mugs, cups, flatware, cutting board, wine glasses, and a bottle opener. The four of us comfortably spent our evenings in the sitting area reviewing our day’s adventures while having wine and cheese. Judy’s continental breakfast preparation and presentation was a delight. Center stage each morning on the lace-covered table sat a large array of beautifully arranged fresh cut fruit flanked by fresh squeezed juice, baked goods, jams, and cheese. A sideboard was filled with a variety of cereals and multi-grain breads, yogurt, and a toaster.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat. In addition to the aforementioned, Manor on Parade is within easy walking distance to groceries, restaurants, and downtown.

Room Tip: Front room (Room 1) ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toulousekittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Don't be put off by the slightly old-fashioned reception room- this B & B is a gem. The rooms are extraordinarily tasteful and comfortable. Everything you could need is provided. Our bedroom was slightly small, but this was made up for by the very spacious bathroom. If you have the choice, it would be worth spending on the front bedroom which has wonderful sea views. The breakfast was delightful with lots of fresh fruit and a variety of breads and jams.

Room Tip: It's probably worth spending the extra for the large room on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Centipede100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We have had the pleasure of staying at this most wonderful B & B three times now, on the mission concert weekend in February. As a group of friends we book all three rooms and have stayed in all three now. The rooms are most beautifully decorated.
Judy & Colin are warm and freindly hosts and make you feel so welcome. You will be spoilt with a fab breakfast that will keep you going well into the afternoon. The Manor on Parade is a must stay,we love it and will return year after year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful it does not matter which one you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

A special place with a stunning view directly on the ocean. The room was wanderful with a lot of space and very nice fornitures (ask for room n.1!!!). The breakfast is really special with a lot of homemade good things to eat (fresh fruit nicely cutted, a great variety of marmelades and jam, muesly, cheese, yoghurt, white nd multi grain bread, ...). Moreover Judy, the owner of the B&B, is very helpful and can give you a lot of good suggestions. For my wife, that is an hotel manager in Milan-Italy, Manor on Parade was one of the best B&B she has ever seen (especialy fot the breakfast)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEBMBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We only stayed for the one night. Had the large room at the front of the house. It was very spacious and very tastefully furnished to a high standard ie linens etc. Everything had been thought of, there was nothing that was not there (except Sky Sport for husband!) Would definitely recommend it rather than stark standard motel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livingstone_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room opened onto our own lovely deck with a table. There is another room with an ocean view that also looked nice. The breakfast is amazing.

Room Tip: oceanfront room best, but back room also nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindencraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 47 in Napier
784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Napier
Quest Napier
#4 of 34 in Napier
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#9 of 47 in Napier
552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor on Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor on Parade

Property: Manor on Parade
Address: 283 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing