We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Napier”
Review of Manor on Parade

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor on Parade
Ranked #34 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the room at the back of the house. Room and en suite were immaculate, with a very nice little veranda to sit out on and have a pre-dinner drink in the evening. Maybe not the best of views, but we were very happy with it.
Judy was very friendly and served a fabulous breakfast with an amazing array of fruit and pastries.
Great location within easy walking distance of town centre and large choice of restaurants. It's true that you can't park outside the property during the day, but that didn't present a problem. If you're planning to leave the car during restricted hours, it's a simple matter of using the car park opposite which doesn't cost much.
Napier is a lovely little town with unique architecture and character, even if you're not necessarily an Art Deco fan. Wine tasting tour around Hastings is a great way to spend an afternoon.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank spinaltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

Lovely Rooms and first class Breakfast. Good sized en-suite. We had the middle bedroom at the side of the house.Can hear the traffic 6-30 am onwards OK after 10-00pm. ( We are not use to road noise ) Parking outside is a problem, 2 hours during the day. I had a slight problem in our shower.I found it slippery, Judy give me a towel to put on the shower floor.Otherwise everything First Class. Not as homely as many B & B 's where you can spend time chatting in the evenings after returning from your evening meal.The only time we saw Judy was at Breakfast.
N.B. Parking problems in Napier, Meters everywhere. Not a beautiful Beach in front of B & B Very rough Pebbled Beach. Do not go to Cape Kidnapper from B & B, quite a drive to end of road. Then can not even see it at High Tide. Low Tide 4/5 hour walk . Better off going to Te Mata Peak. Havelock North. Nice place. Plus you can drive right to the Top, great views.
We ate both nights just 100 metres right from B & B. I think a Quality Inn which had a Restaurant, Cobb and Co. Nice and warm Good Value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Googe, Owner at Manor on Parade, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you for your recent email informing us of your safe return home and your enjoyment of your holiday in New Zealand.
While admiring your attempts to conserve water while showering, ultimately a certain amount of water is required to wash the soap away to prevent possible slipping.
We will pass on your comments to Hawkes Bay Tourism and they may consider relocating Cape Kidnappers closer to Napier City and possibly replacing the pebbles on the beach with sand!
Thank you for your kind feedback of our B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed only one night at Manor on Parade. The location was perfect, within walking distance to the city center and the sea. We were upgraded to the sea view room that was large with a wall of windows with a great view of the sea. The sunrise was amazing. Breakfast was very generous and we had so much variety to choose from. The room was quiet and private and was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieLWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Judy made our 3 day-stay very enjoyable. Our room looked out on to Hawke's Bay with a view of Cape Kidnappers; the room had recently been totally renovated and was extremely comfortable. Judy's breakfasts were delicious. The B&B is located close to CBD and you can easily walk to the city center. Parking was available either outside the B&B on the street or across the street in a parking lot
Judy was most helpful in arranging our accommodations in that our arrival dates varied. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_Diane_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This is an outstanding B&B, just across Marine Parade from the beach, with beautifully appointed rooms, a gorgeous view of the South Pacific from the front room, and an excellent location only a few minutes' walk to town. My friends had the very large front room with lots of windows facing the ocean, and I had a smaller but very pretty room at the rear of the property with French doors opening onto a good-sized deck with attractive, comfortable deck furniture. As the reviews mention, the continental breakfasts are delicious.

A visitor's center is just 5 minutes' walk down the street, and near it, on a shared path running along the ocean, is a bike shop where bikes can be rented and ridden for miles along the coast in either direction. Napier is definitely a worthwhile destination, and the Manor on Parade is strategically placed to take advantage of its charms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zihuatanejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed at Manor on Parade May 2 & 3. The location is perfect being right on the sea front. Our room was extremely comfortable and very well appointed. The breakfast was generous, fresh and beautifully laid out. We will return!

Room Tip: We had the room at the back but this room has it's own private deck so for us it was just perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed on 28th February. Comfortable, on the seafront, with parking available outside in the evening (but you have to move in the morning). Well situated for a walk around the Art Deco buildings in Nelson. The breakfast in the morning, specifically the fresh fruit, was absolutely wonderful. Thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freewillarchivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.4 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#13 of 46 in Napier
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#31 of 46 in Napier
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dome
The Dome
#5 of 34 in Napier
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor on Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor on Parade

Address: 283 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: £82 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing