We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B, Great view, amazing breakfast, helpful host”
Review of Manor on Parade

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor on Parade
Ranked #34 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B, Great view, amazing breakfast, helpful host”
Reviewed 19 May 2009

The Manor on Parade is a beautifully decorated historic house located "on the beach" and within a 10 minute walk of the art deco downtown of Napier. We had reserved the ensuite room which is enormous, very well appointed and looks out over the beach. While visiting one of the thermal areas earlier that day, my wife had fallen and muddied her favourite jeans and shirt and asked Judy our host if there was a laundry on site or nearby - Judy agreed to wash them herself which to us indicates the care she has for her guests and their comfort (we were prepared to go to a laundry nearby).
The "continental" breakfast was huge with a great variety of juices, fruit, coffee, teas, jams and marmelades, breads, pastries, joghurts, all served in a beautiful room in the front of the house.
This was one of the best B&Bs we stayed at in New Zealand.

Bob and Marie
Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2008

Napier is a little gem, and it gets even better if you stay here in the room overlooking the beach. This room is one of the best rooms I ever have stayed in. Crash in the one of the great chairs, sip some wine and enjoy the view. In the morning you can enjoy av nice breakfast,

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icca5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2008

Manor on parade in Napier, New Zealand is one of the best B&Bs I have ever stayed at. The building itself has preserved its charming history while providing every imaginable modern convenience. The decor is both welcoming and elegant, and the proprietors, Judy and Colin, cannot do enough for their guests. The attention to detail is first class, and the breakfast is a feast in itself. This will always be our destination in Napier.

  • Liked — Warmth, attention to detail, breakfast, historical setting, beach view
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Al_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2007

I drove into Napier one evening without having booked anywhere, and drove up and down the waterfront in search of somewhere that looked nice.

'Manor on Parade' won, and I was not disappointed. Colin and Judy made me very welcome, and the room I had was basic, and not huge, but very comfortable; I slept soundly!

The front room, which I got to see the following morning, is just beautiful. If you can get that one, you're in for a treat, but Colin and Judy have plans to rearrange the other two rooms to make them a bit larger and give them both ensuite facilities in due course.

It's conveniently located, across the road from the beach and just a short walk to the centre of town and the tourist info office.

This was my first B&B in NZ, so I can't do much in the way of comparisons, but it made a good impression. I'd certainly come back.

  • Liked — Friendly welcome, charming building, good location
  • Disliked — Not much, really
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quentinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
884 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#10 of 47 in Napier
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Napier
Quest Napier
#4 of 34 in Napier
328 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairley Motor Lodge
Fairley Motor Lodge
#7 of 47 in Napier
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor on Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor on Parade

Property: Manor on Parade
Address: 283 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing