We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More room in a tent”
Review of Albatross Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albatross Motel
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More room in a tent”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The facilities for more than a one night stay were disgraceful. No cupboards to put clothes in and basically lived from day to day from our suitcases. Advertised as full kitchen facilities - rubbish, A tiny portable caravan type stove. Small microwave and tiny fridge only good for a bottle of milk. 2 knives, 2 forks and 2 small cups. The 2 drinking glasses were the smallest I have ever seen. No air conditioning and a 'budget' fan in lieu. Approx a 15 minute drive from the town centre. Noisy with paper thin walls and even the sink plug wasn't the correct size. No extractor in the bathroom/combined toilet. Very small and cramped room and marred our small break. Booked for 8 days but couldn't stand the motel any longer and left after 5 days.

Room Tip: Go to a different motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbatrossNapier, Manager at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
We were disappointed to read your review of The Albatross as we try incredibly hard to meet all our guests expectations. On this occasion we clearly were not the correct Motel choice for you. Your review goes against the general trend of our reviews and I am disappointed you felt the need to post this without first having a conversation with us. If a bigger glass was required a simple request would have resolved that. Most people find our 5 minute drive from the town centre a refreshing break from the City centre. We hope that your next pet friendly Motel is a better experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    235
    62
    11
    9
See reviews for
159
249
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Albatross was very clean and tidy and offered good value for money. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the room was very comfortable and clean. Its about 35-40 minutes walk from Napier City Centre so its in a great location with an excellent view across the Ahiriri Estuary. There is a small swimming pool and spa on site which was ideal for relaxing after a day walking around Napier. I had no complaints about my time there and would highly recommend the Albatross to anyone wanting to visit Napier.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are a long walk to the CBD but only 12 minutes from the marina area with it's boutique shops and lovely cafes etc. And of course the estuary across the road is a lovely peaceful place to stroll around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We spent one night here, and found it satisfactory, although traffic noise might be a problem at times. The room was not the most modern, but was fine for one night. It was convenient to use for exploring Napier - about 5 km away. We would probably try somewhere else on another occasion, but might return to this motel.

Room Tip: An upstairs room will provide a better view across the marshes
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinBut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbatrossNapier, Manager at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review of The Albatross Motel. We hope you will consider us again for a future visit and if so we would like to recommend our deluxe units for additional space and comfort at a reasonable and competitive price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Highly recommended! Good value for money. Nice clean, functional facilities. Was very pleased with accommodation provided. Great locality and very easily accessible to Napier CBD and other tourist spots.

Room Tip: I specified what we required when booking, so was happy with arrangements made for our stay. Our co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuru F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbatrossNapier, Manager at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review of The Albatross Motel. We look forward to having wonderful guests like you, and the many others that stay with us back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Excellent room excellent value happy customer thanks location is central and easy to get to town centre very clean and great small kitchen well equipped beautifully clean and a eco vibe that was cool to see.
Thanks

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bungy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbatrossNapier, Manager at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review of The Albatross Motel it is greatly appreciated as are all the reviews. Lets hope we get another big name artist, great weather and fantastic atmosphere in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Albatross is always very clean and tidy, warm welcome and friendly faces make for a great weekend away. Will be back next year. We stayed in the rooms 29 and 30 which was right next to the terrace good if you want a quiet wine on the deck.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing us and glad to hear that you are a regular and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Nigel went out of his way to assist even doing the drying and return of my jeans. Nothing was too much trouble and the wifi here was easily the best and the most generous I have experienced in my four weeks of travel so far in NZ. Road noise was not an issue have stayed at many a motel with much worse noise even in Cuba street Wellington. Unit was clean and we'll appointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Graeme, our manager would have been the one to dry your jeans for you. We have a policy at this motel to go above and beyond just handing a room key over to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
2.3 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
570 reviews
1.9 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
67 reviews
2.0 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#10 of 47 in Napier
776 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
552 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#18 of 47 in Napier
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Motel

Property: Albatross Motel
Address: 56 Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Napier
#4 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Family Hotel in Napier
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#11 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Albatross Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation proud to have scored 9.5/10 on Target TV, Unlimited Free Wifi, Guest Select 50+ TV Channels to choose from, 200m to the beach and overlooking the estuary. Range of room types to suit a variety of requirements and budgets. Refurbished rooms, Swimming pool and spa.You are guaranteed a warm welcome and friendly service at The Albatross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albatross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatross Hotel Napier
Albatross Motel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing