We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking on a very busy weekend”
Review of Albatross Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albatross Motel
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very pleasant weekend, despite the motel being fully booked. Great Value for Money, Studio exactly as advertised. Was very impressed with the general friendliness, in particular the cleaning staff were very helpful and showed great hospitality when we asked for their assistance to clean up after an crockery accident.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our fantastic team made you feel welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel at the last minute so wasn't expecting too much but we were pleasantly surprised. We got a lovely friendly welcome, shown to our room with a free bottle of fresh milk and everything explained which is rare when staying at a motel. The room had everything we needed for our two night stay, small kitchenette, shower room and comfortable bed, we watched movies on the TV too. Convenient for Napier but in a quiet spot. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you very much for your great review. It makes us very happy when guests appreciate our efforts to make them feel welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We visited the Albatross after seeing other reviews. We were warmly welcomed by Graham who managed to give us a well appointed appartment which catered for our needs. As a standard room wasn't available we were upgraded at no extra cost. The location is opposite an estuary within easy reach of Napier which is about 5km away. The rooms are decorated in a contemporary style with plenty of space and a very good wet room. Housekeeping also do a very good job and ensure you aren't inconvenienced, as well as keeping you well stocked on all the essentials.
Graham and the team there are a credit to the Albatross and I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the single storey rooms to the right of the office, these are a little more expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinp1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. It is much appreciated and it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

a convenient stay for an overnight visit to Napier, clean room, comfy beds, friendly staff, good kitchen arrangement, nice weather, not the greatest outlook, but we were only there to sleep. In all, a positive experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. The best views are from the upper floor studios, where they look out over the estuary with it's ever changing tide and great sunsets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

As AA members we saw this motel in their accommodation directory and decided to check it out.
It also,is a "FLYBUYS" member. Our greeting/welcome by the motel owner was very friendly and helpful. Our accommodation was most comfortable and convenient to the places we wanted to go !
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor have views and a very pleasant balcony with comfortable tables and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We appreciate your review, thank you. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our every need was attended to, the staff was friendly and provided all the little extras we needed. We slept well, took lovely walks right from our room and could walk to a fish shop for dinner. The bikes for hire at Albatross gave us the extra exercise and touring we always look for while traveling. It was clean, quiet, and very comfy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 911Gwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after by Graeme and Sarah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We only stayed 2 nights but was nice clean if a little dated owner very helpful town a bit farther to walk than expected but pub on the corner at top of road do excellent food would want more luxury if I was to stay for longer

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliemagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We recommend our deluxe studios for longer stays, as these have had a complete renovation as opposed to a refurbishment of the standard rooms. The deluxe are only $15-$20 more than a standard room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
2.3 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
581 reviews
1.9 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#12 of 46 in Napier
96 reviews
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#19 of 46 in Napier
153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palm City Motor Inn
Palm City Motor Inn
#8 of 46 in Napier
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedar Court Motel
Cedar Court Motel
#27 of 46 in Napier
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Motel

Address: 56 Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Napier
#4 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Family Hotel in Napier
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#11 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#14 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range: £56 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albatross Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation proud to have scored 9.5/10 on Target TV, Unlimited Free Wifi, Guest Select 50+ TV Channels to choose from, 200m to the beach and overlooking the estuary. Range of room types to suit a variety of requirements and budgets. Refurbished rooms, Swimming pool and spa.You are guaranteed a warm welcome and friendly service at The Albatross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Albatross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatross Hotel Napier
Albatross Motel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing