We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Motel on Estuary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
At the Rocks Motor Lodge
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Ulsan, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Motel on Estuary”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Right on Estuary @ Meeanee Quay for nice walking paths; 10 minutes walk to restaurants at West Quay and Bridge Street. But, have to take a taxi to downtown Napier - mine was NZ$16. Sleek, well designed buildings, so I really felt I was in a unique place and not a boring, plain motel. I felt very comfortable there. It is pristinely clean with new towels and dishes and nice sized rooms. Also has hotpot, blowdryer, coffee press, toaster, microwave and fridge. There are plenty of brochures and advice from David at the front desk. This was an excellent choice and a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_Betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    27
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
67
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This motel is the subject of many reviews.
I arrived here because i was sick of being gouged by Moteliers for internet, sometimes $NZ20.
This place gave both of us a ticket for 250 mbytes Internet free. Thats good, very good.
Some people have mentioned that their main room was small.
Our unit has a spa bath , and seems about 33 meters, price $NZ130 . Mind you in Palmerston North we had a unit of 40 metres square
Its all good but we have come from Holiday parks where you have an oven.
In my opinion kitchenette is just a word, no hotplate means you don't have a kitchen,
You cook in kitchens .
An electric fry pan and microwave do not make a kitchen. And yes there is a reason, motels do this because they don't really want you cooking in here, because cooking creates some smell and work.

Room Tip: Check out the room sizes. It might be better to go another ten dollars for a bigger room and spa. Pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulscottfilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Arrived slightly early to check in, didn't get a great welcome and ended up leaving the hire car in the road and wandering around the estuary - not an inspiring start! The room we had was fairly cramped with a double bed taking up just about all the space in the room - even difficult to get both cases open at once. However, the bathroom was nice & spacious, clean and well-maintained. The location, on an estuary quite a long way from the town centre, was quiet but there were few good restaurants within walking distance. We had no outdoor space which was a pity as the room was so small. We were only there for the cricket - and we won, so that helped raise the mood ! But were not too sorry to be moving on.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the suites with a spa bath - we didn't know about these and were a bit disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandHazel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

After our first night in a motel that was a disaster we have been checking trip advisor and booking motels rather than just turning up.
We recently spent 2 nights here, on arrival we did not feel that our host had the best customer service skills (perhaps as we had interupted his dinner to check in around 6.00pm).
The rooms were spacious and clean, the bathroom was slightly dated and the spa bath noisy.
We did also not realise when we booked that the motel was not within walking distance of any decent restaurants.
On a positive note when our room was serviced they did more than was stated they would in the compendium.

Room Tip: All on the ground floor just differ in size
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I chose this motel because it was advertised as eco friendly. The front door opened into a small sitting area that contained a desk that was very handy for using the laptop. The next room contained the bed, table and chairs and also a small kitchen running along one wall. The bathroom was large and had a spa bath with a shower over it. There was also chairs outside (the cushions for these were inside by the front door). The area was exactly as advertised with plenty of variety in eating places a short walk around the wharf area. There was a walking track along the beach all the way into the town centre (about 5 kms). Driving was about 7 mins from the town centre. Didn't use the gym so can't comment. Loved everything about this motel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez-from-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Really good quality motel. Room had private outside seating area and bathroom had claw foot bath. Breakfast also very good. Motel out of town center but walking distance to wharf restaurant area which is good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.6 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
2.0 mi away
Deco City Motor Lodge
Deco City Motor Lodge
#15 of 47 in Napier
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairley Motor Lodge
Fairley Motor Lodge
#8 of 47 in Napier
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#34 of 47 in Napier
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Court Motel
Cedar Court Motel
#25 of 47 in Napier
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Rocks Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Rocks Motor Lodge

Property: At the Rocks Motor Lodge
Address: 27 Meeanee Quay, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — At the Rocks Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Qualmark 4 plus star motel featuring modern deluxe studio, executive and family rooms with relaxing spa baths, romantic clawfoot baths and private gym. Situated adjacent to Ahuriri Estuary and close to Napier's West Quay with wonderful waterfront dining, bars and cafe's, and still only 5 minutes from Napier City Centre and Airport. We are only 80 metres from a safe swimming beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your At the Rocks Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing