We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, spacious room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Hotel Napier
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice location, spacious room”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very nice hotel, just outside Napier. We got a large room, with kitchenette and separate lounge area. Lot's of space, really nice. Although right along the boulevard, not noisy. Great ocean view. Very much enjoyed our stay here, even though it was only for one night. Wish we could have stayed a bit longer. Good quality food in restaurant as well, at a decent price. Complimentary parking in basement garage.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2012martine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear 2012Martine

Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to post them on Trip Advisor.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    320
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
150
645
33
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

we stayed here for 2 nights en-route to Wellington from Auckland. We booked a Heritage room, and were given the one with the skylight - but the blind over the skylight fell down and nearly hit my husband on the head on the first night when we tried to close the blind!

Room itself other than that was fine - big room, nice large bathroom.

Think that to charge $25 a day for wi-fi access is more than a little cheeky (and expensive), when you are paying for a premium room.

The hotel itself is a little outside of Napier, but still close to other eateries and drinking places - a really nice Thai place just 5 mins walk away, and other nice pubs and eateries in Ahuriri.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SaffronHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Tianjin2005

Thank you for taking the time to place your comments and apologies about the blind on the skylight!! It unfortunately was a loose screw.

We do provide 1/2 hour wifi complimentary daily and it is also complimentary in the reception area. We have recently decreased the cost of wifi after the free daily 1/2 hour to $15 per 24hours.

I am pleased you enjoyed the local area and your stay in Hawkes Bay

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Toiletries were half-empty when we checked into the room. There were a couple of stains on some of the furniture. This pointed to a lack of servicing of the room before our arrival.

Slippers, toothbrushes, and toothpaste were lacking. These would have been mandatory in any international hotel. I therefore enjoyed a decreased level of comfort and toothbrushes and toothpaste had to be purchased.

The water pressure in the shower was uncomfortably low.

The room was very spacious and well-appointed, the kitchenette was sensible and well-stocked, and an excellent view from our room and an excellent level of sleep quality contributed to a very good experience overall.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jordaninauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Jordan

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

My sincere apologies that your bathroom amenities were not replaced as this is something that is always replaced daily.

Slippers are not provided in all hotels, generally 5star international branded hotels. We appreciated the feedback on the toothbrush sets and will look at supplying toothbrush and toothpaste sets complimentary.

I am surprised in regards to the low water pressure in the shower as we only have comments that the pressure is fantastic and I did check the room and it had very good pressure so perhaps it was a one off occurrence.

I am pleased though that you had a lovely experience overall at the hotel and in Hawkes Bay.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We were given a 1st floor large corner room with good view of the promenade and beach, and were able to leave our car in their basement garage. The room had a separate sitting area and bedroom, and a well-equipped kitchinette. No safe in the room; bathroom had only a shower no bath, otherwise this was a fairly luxurious room. Wifi was available but free only for the first 30 minutes for each device. We took breakfast in the Milk and Honey restaurant next door - good food but large portions and not cheap. For dinner there are several restaurants within 10 mins walk, but quite a few were closed on Mon and Tue. We tried the Thirsty Whale (ok) and Fox on the Quay (food v good but limited selection of wines by the glass).

Provided you have a car so you can drive into Napier and around this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Astronomer at large!

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback as it is appreciated.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Obviously living in Napier, I have not had many chances to check out Napier hotels! Buttt....your wedding night is a little different and we booked into the crown to celebrate our wedding just a few hours before. We were both blown away! Fantastic little touches such as a note from the manager congratulating us and a bottle of champagne for us to celebrate with. The room was fantastic...very modern with some nice touches. The spa pool with the window looking out over the bay was very cool :) If you are from out of town, this place would be a great option. Very modern, clean rooms in the fantastic Ahuriri setting. From what we saw the rates were very competitive for what you get. Ate in the Milk and Honey restaurant for breakfast and we have eaten here before. The food is good but the wait on a Sunday morning can often be quite long. Unfortunately our food was forgotten about and we received it an hour and a half after ordering! Not great but it tasted nice so no real complaints. All in all a memorable experience and I would recommend the Crown to anyone. Thanks to all the staff for making our wedding night a truly unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommybanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Tommy

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Crown Hotel on your wedding day. I have also passed on your comments to Milk & Honey Restaurant in regards to the service you experienced. The restaurant is managed separately to the hotel however we do appreciate the feedback as it is the hotels restaurant for guests and we do expect a high standard of service delivery.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
436 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

• Location: Located on the beach promenade with good views of the ocean.
• Staff: they are very friendly, fast and efficient check-in
• Room: the 2-bedroom apartment is of a good size. The decoration is a bit outdated in a motel style, but it is still OK and the apartment is well equipped and has all amenities needed
• I did not eat here so cannot judge the restaurant
• Overall a good choice in Napier for one or two nights

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandTSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear TandT

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback as it is important to us.

We are undergoing a continuous refurbishment programme whereby we have upgraded all the TV's to LED and introduced new posturepedic beds and bedding. Next year we will be undergoing the lounge area of the 1 and 2 bedroom suites.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for our wedding night. The Manager who checked me in was very polite and wished us well for the day. Upon returning that evening they had left us a card and bottle of wine, it was such a thoughtful touch and after a big day it was great to sit and unwind on our balcony over looking the sea and listening to the waves.
The room was big and spacious with lovely bathrooms. The room was spotless and tastefully furnished. a large wardrobe area was perfect for stashing my huge dress during our stay.
All staff were polite and well presented. The room service via Milk and Honey (the restaurant below) was fabulous, it was well presented, hot, of top quality and cheaper than local cafe's.
I would certainly recommend this as a place to stay and am proud that my home town has such a stunning hotel to spoil our visitors.

Room Tip: We stayed in the premium studio on the fourth floor, it had a balcony overlooking Hawke Bay which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Vicky

Congratulations on your recent wedding! It's always nice to hear that the bride and groom particularly enjoyed their stay at the hotel especially when your wedding day can be so stressful. Sounds as though you were very relaxed!

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
863 reviews
1.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.0 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
568 reviews
1.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
772 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Napier

Property: The Crown Hotel Napier
Address: Cnr Bridge St & Hardinge Rd | Ahuriri, Napier 4144, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#9 Business Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crown Hotel Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque seaside village of Ahuriri. The Crown Hotel Napier is located on the waterfront amongst boutique shops, cafes and restaurants and only a short drive to the award winning vineyards of the Hawkes Bay. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms and suites including 2 and 3 bedroom luxury apartments. Choose from the elegant heritage suites in the original 1932 Crown Hotel building or the contemporary designed rooms overlooking the ocean. The Crown Hotel offers the ultimate combination of classic opulence and history to modern luxury and design. Offering full conference facilities, complimentary undercover carparking, daily newspaper, guest laundry, fitness centre, outdoor courtyard with fireplace, 2 bars and Milk & Honey Restaurant...relax and indulge at a boutique hotel with timeless charm and genuine personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing