We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and really modern ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Crown Hotel Napier
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is well located in relation to the seafront. And Ahuari village is very nice, along with the quayside where there are plenty of good restaurants and bars including Sri Thai. The place is very modern and extremely clean. Only nark we had was that the Wi-Fi was extremely expensive and had it been included we would have given this 5 stars. Forget the centre of Napier, much better off staying here.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Francescini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

978 - 984 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed over the Christmas period for 6 nights and as always had a great time. The staff are very friendly and we really appreciated the complimentary breakfast platter delivered on Xmas Eve and thought the Xmas Carols playing through the hallways on Xmas Day added a nice touch. We always stay on the 2nd floor & were lucky enough to watch a cruise ship departing out our lounge window while we were there. We enjoyed pizzas on our balcony from Pizza Pazzi, cupcakes from Bonnie Cakes, and watched a movie at The Globe - there is as little or as much to do (and eat) as you want in Ahuriri and we would highly recommend The Crown as "the place to stay".

Room Tip: We like the corner suite on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Burmesebaby29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Lynda

Sounds as though you made the most of your stay in Ahuriri and at The Crown Hotel by enjoying the local area and what it has to offer.

The cruise ships definitely look magnificent when they depart!

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.


Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed in the self contained units. Great unit, well appointed, plenty of space to chill. Handy to great restuarants which are in easy walking distance to and from the unit, (great indian across the street). The crown is a short drive to the art deco centre of town and well positioned to all the wineries in the area. The staff on the front desk need to read up on some of the attractions but overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JohnHerveyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed for one night on Christmas Eve at the Crown hotel and really enjoyed it. The room was spacious spotlessly clean, had a very comfy bed and amazing view over the harbour with spacious balcony. The bathroom with spa bath was amazing. Nice touch with a lot of locally produced items in the minibar.
Reception staff was efficient and friendly.

We ordered food from the "milk and honey"-restaurant to our room which was very good.

The possibility to borrow DVDs from the reception was a nice extra. The only thing I dislike was the quite steep extra surcharge for wifi. That should not be necessary in 2013 anymore.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Henning A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Henning

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments during your recent stay at Christmas.
Pleased that you enjoyed the amenities in the room and nice to see that you noticed the local Hawkes Bay products in the minibar.

In regards to the wifi we do provide 1/2 hour complimentary daily and a local provider 'NOW' also provides 1 hour complimentary. We have reduced the charges for wifi to $15 per 24 hours.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Excellent place to stay. We overlooked the water and had a lovely room on the 4th floor. The rooms are well decorated and spotless.

Internet is free for half an hour per day, that is unfortunate and should be reviewed perhaps. A lot of places include it in the room price and I will be favouring those from now on.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nespresso5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over NYE.
Making the reservation was a breeze and we appreciated that Nicole arranged to have our friends in the unit next to us. Plus she arranged a taxi on NYE .. Seamless check in too.... Before check in time ....Great service....Nothing was an issue....
The room (a 1bdrm suite on level 2) was spacious (decent sized bathroom!) and clean and it was nice having the balcony which got plenty of sun. We opted for a room overlooking Bridge Street to maximise the afternoon sun.
Not a huge amount of privacy on the balcony ... We could see into our friends bedroom from our balcony ... But that wasn't really an issue
The location is great -plenty of food options - and other shops - around - and right across from the beach. Parking was free and underground

The only thing I didn't like was the noise from the air conditioning which sounded like the spin cycle of a washing machine. We had to turn it off .. Though the bathroom lights obviously automatically turn it on which was a bit distracting in the middle of the night.. Being a bit sensitive to noise that did put me off.
Children running up and down on their balcony on level 3 above us on the morning of our last day also wasn't fun...
We had a breakfast and a dinner at Milk and Honey.... Service was great in the morning... Not so great in the evening... Food consistently good though
Overall the Crown was great.. And ideal for our brief New Years stay

Room Tip: Rooms facing bridge st are good for afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annieandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I spent one night in The Crown Hotel. The facility of this hotel was very good. However, the staff there is not very at attentive. I waited at the reception for 15 mins while the staff was on the phone the whole time. There wasn't even a gesture or acknowledgement of my present during her phone conversation.

Anyhow, ignore the service there. This hotel is a good place to stay. It is closed to the town centre and yet noisy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morpheus20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Morpheus

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and I was very shocked to hear the comment about the un-attentive staff at reception. We always get very positive comments about our reception staff and letting someone wait for 15minutes is highly unusual so I do apologise. Our staff are very aware of our customer service expectations so I find this incident very surprising.

In hindsight of the unsatisfactory checkin I do appreciate that you had a lovely stay at the hotel and I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay in NZKL.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
924 reviews
0.0 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
798 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
581 reviews
1.1 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#13 of 46 in Napier
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Napier

Address: Cnr Bridge St & Hardinge Rd | Ahuriri, Napier 4144, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#9 Business Hotel in Napier
Price Range: £101 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crown Hotel Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque seaside village of Ahuriri. The Crown Hotel Napier is located on the waterfront amongst boutique shops, cafes and restaurants and only a short drive to the award winning vineyards of the Hawkes Bay. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms and suites including 2 and 3 bedroom luxury apartments. Choose from the elegant heritage suites in the original 1932 Crown Hotel building or the contemporary designed rooms overlooking the ocean. The Crown Hotel offers the ultimate combination of classic opulence and history to modern luxury and design. Offering full conference facilities, complimentary undercover carparking, daily newspaper, guest laundry, fitness centre, outdoor courtyard with fireplace, 2 bars and Milk & Honey Restaurant...relax and indulge at a boutique hotel with timeless charm and genuine personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing