We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Hotel Napier
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were given a big room, which had a nice bed and a kitchenette, which even had a dishwasher. We ate at the restaurant on the premises (Milk and Honey) for dinner and breakfast. Was excellent for both. Hotel located across the main road from the ocean. Good place if you don’t mind a 10-minute drive to the center of Napier. A bit pricey. Charged for $7.5/hr for wifi.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KilburnPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Kilburn Post

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor and pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Napier.

Our wifi is free for 1/2 daily and then a charge as you mentioned of $7/hour or $15 per 24hours.


Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    323
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
154
648
33
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Unplanned trip to Napier, a more pricey option but well worth it. Across the road from swimming beach at Ahuriri. Nice premium studio apartment, spa bath. Milk and Honey restaurant below now a favourite

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Sue

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor and pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Ahuriri. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals in Milk & Honey.

Hopefully we may see you back in Hawkes Bay in the future.


Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

If you are staying in Napier, then this is the place to stop. Clean, modern large rooms with balconies overlooking the water, spa bath, kitchenette and great staff who are keen and happy to assist. Highly recommend, good value for what you get.

On site parking, late checkouts where possible, bikes to ride, a cafe/bar downstairs. Only tiny negative was the breakfast in the cafe wasn't amazing, OK but just not great, but that's being super picky. Coffee was still good and a cold beer or local wine outside on a warm evening was perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront with balcony, better higher up as depending on what night you are there could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guns68

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor and pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. It's the perfect spot to enjoy a glass of wine or beer on your outdoor balcony.

Thanks again

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a great choice for a stay in Napier. The rooms are clean and spacious, with a well appointed spa bathroom. The Studio Premium Suite are a great choice with sweeping waterfront views. We were luck to get the corner suite on the top floor.
The area is quiet and perfect for a good nights sleep.
Milk and Honey downstairs is fantastic option for breakfast. As is the Globe Theatrette for catching a movie.
Only complaint is a lack of free wifi, which makes it difficult to plan activities and check on a few emails.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris_888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Chris

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor and pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Ahuriri. The Studio Premium suites are perfect for the wonderful views and space.
In regards to the wifi we do offer half an hour per day complimentary and then thereafter there is a charge of $7 per day and $15 per 24 hours.

Hopefully we may see you back in Hawkes Bay in the future.


Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Beautifully appointed hotel and well located opposite the beach.
We had a top floor suite facing the beach and the fitout is very impressive. Warm bathroom floor, separate toilet, spa, little kitchen, large balcony, a/c to name some. Beautiful toiletries. The only thing we would have liked to see would be a safe but they are happy for you to use their safe. Everything is in new or near new condition.
The staff are very helpful.
Very close to restaurants etc.
There is a ground floor restaurant but it didn't cause use any problems.
We would return and recommend the front top floor suites.
Paul

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Buster953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Paul

So pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at The Crown Hotel and thank you for your lovely comments.

I have taken note of your comment regarding the safe and as we have safety deposit boxes available at Reception this has to date been suitable however if this request does become more common we absolutely will look at putting safes in all of our guestrooms.

Thanks again

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

One of the best locations in town. The hotel is situated on the beach line, we had room with ocean view. Close to the hotel there is really nice restaurant. We had Spacious room with really comfortable bed. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bilyana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Bilyana

Pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is well located in relation to the seafront. And Ahuari village is very nice, along with the quayside where there are plenty of good restaurants and bars including Sri Thai. The place is very modern and extremely clean. Only nark we had was that the Wi-Fi was extremely expensive and had it been included we would have given this 5 stars. Forget the centre of Napier, much better off staying here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Francescini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
885 reviews
0.0 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
572 reviews
1.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#10 of 47 in Napier
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Pier Hotel
East Pier Hotel
#19 of 47 in Napier
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Napier

Property: The Crown Hotel Napier
Address: Cnr Bridge St & Hardinge Rd | Ahuriri, Napier 4144, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#9 Business Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crown Hotel Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque seaside village of Ahuriri. The Crown Hotel Napier is located on the waterfront amongst boutique shops, cafes and restaurants and only a short drive to the award winning vineyards of the Hawkes Bay. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms and suites including 2 and 3 bedroom luxury apartments. Choose from the elegant heritage suites in the original 1932 Crown Hotel building or the contemporary designed rooms overlooking the ocean. The Crown Hotel offers the ultimate combination of classic opulence and history to modern luxury and design. Offering full conference facilities, complimentary undercover carparking, daily newspaper, guest laundry, fitness centre, outdoor courtyard with fireplace, 2 bars and Milk & Honey Restaurant...relax and indulge at a boutique hotel with timeless charm and genuine personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing