We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Crown Hotel Napier
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Honeymoon accomodation”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for our wedding night, and were delighted to find a bottle of champange found its way into the room for when we returned.

Staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. The room was excellent, with a great view of the bay. A great spot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Daniel

Congratulations once again on your recent wedding! Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    315
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
149
638
32
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed in one of the heritage studio rooms on a recent business trip. The room had everything you'd need. The gas fireplace was a bonus, that along with spa bath made for a relaxing evening after a long day. Plenty of takeaway/casual dining options close by.I'll definitely be staying here in future

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janes00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Janes00

Glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Heritage Room and it is lovely with the fireplace on those cooler evenings/days.

Glad to hear that you will be coming back to stay with us!

Warm Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made welcome and nothing was too much trouble, the staff were excellent.
The presentation of all parts of the hotel is first class, the grounds were spotless as were the rooms.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor apartment with separate bedroom, it was quiet and very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank eagarbeaver_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Eagerbeaver

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback.

Lovely to hear that our team looked after you during your stay and you had a pleasant and relaxed stay with us. Hopefully we may see you back in Hawkes Bay in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I can't recommend this place enough.
We normally pre-book our accommodation on wotif but decided to be spontaneous.
Found the front line staff helpful and lovely to deal with.
We had the $169 room. Awesome!!
We will be back.
Thanks. Tam and Jenny

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Tam and Jenny
Great to hear that you booked direct with the hotel and that you had a wonderful stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Warm Regards


Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Beautiful setting, great rooms and a team who really understand service and go well beyond the call. We only wish we had stayed longer. The hotel has real personality and it's clear a great deal of thought has gone into each aspect, from the local craft beer in the mini bar to the fit out of the room. I can't recommend the Crown highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcur035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear mcur035

Thank you for the lovely comments about our team here at the hotel. It is always appreciated receiving the feedback on our staff and knowing they have gone the extra mile to ensure your stay was extra special.

Thanks again

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I am a wheelchair user and with my wife and 2 children stayed at the Crown over the Easter break. The room was comfortable, accessible and well appointed. The kitchen did however lack suitable cooking appliances such as an oven and cook top. We all had bikes with us and the Crown had an excellent facility for storing these securely when necessary. The staff were excellent in their customer service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ross340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Ross

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. In regards to perhaps the additional cooking facilities with stove and cook top these are available in our 1bedroom premium suites or 2 bedroom.

So pleased that you had a lovely Easter Break.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I took my girlfriend here on the way to a camping trip north of Napier. We took the Premium Studio which has a spa bath facing the sea, a huge comfortable room, and an emourmous super king bed.
One of the best things about the Crown is the restaurant Milk and Honey. I had one of the best hotel dinners that I have ever had here, and the wine list was fantastic.And it wasn;t bad for breakfast in the morning either. I would definitely come here again, and if I ever need a hotel in Napier I will be staying again!
The staff were super friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BigDaddyGeeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Big Daddy!

Lovely to hear that you enjoyed the Studio Premium Suites with the lovely views! I will also pass on your comments to Milk & Honey Restaurant.

Warm Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.0 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Napier

Property: The Crown Hotel Napier
Address: Cnr Bridge St & Hardinge Rd | Ahuriri, Napier 4144, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#9 Business Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crown Hotel Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque seaside village of Ahuriri. The Crown Hotel Napier is located on the waterfront amongst boutique shops, cafes and restaurants and only a short drive to the award winning vineyards of the Hawkes Bay. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms and suites including 2 and 3 bedroom luxury apartments. Choose from the elegant heritage suites in the original 1932 Crown Hotel building or the contemporary designed rooms overlooking the ocean. The Crown Hotel offers the ultimate combination of classic opulence and history to modern luxury and design. Offering full conference facilities, complimentary undercover carparking, daily newspaper, guest laundry, fitness centre, outdoor courtyard with fireplace, 2 bars and Milk & Honey Restaurant...relax and indulge at a boutique hotel with timeless charm and genuine personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing