We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Hotel Napier
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delighted”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were so delighted with our stay at the Crown. Every thing was "Excellent". We will be back and will bring Friends next time. We were on the Second Floor, right in front, looking out to the Ocean. Very happy with that, but we will try 3rd or 4th floor next time just because its there to try.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Donna

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    308
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
146
626
32
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Have just spent 2 nights at this amazing apartment hotel with friends and had a brilliant stay. I was travelling with 2 friends so our request was for a 2 bedroom apartment. Check in super easy and parking undercover was a breeze. On entering the apartment I was thrilled with everything it contained. 2 Double Bedrooms with King Beds in each with one having an extra bed but also the one with extra TV. The bedding and bed were bliss with so many pillows one had to start heading to bed very early just to remove them before retiring. Bathrobes, lovely fluffy towels, face washers and plenty of free toiletries. It only had one bathroom but it was huge with a fantastic walk in shower. Kitchen very well equiped with plenty of coffee, tea, sugar supplies. Dishwasher including powder and anything you could want to enjoy your stay. The large furnished balcony was beautiful and private with a nice view of the sea if you stood by the railing. We were on the second floor. Only issue with that was as we leant over we were perfectly obvious to the tenants below using their outdoor setting for drinks. Did feel we were intruding upon them. Staff were friendly and efficient and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone venturing to Napier, and why wouldn't you, Napier is beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougalHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear DougalHorsham

Glad you enjoyed you stay in our 2 bedroom suite and also what the surrounding area has to offer.

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback on Trip Advisor.

Warm Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
192 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here for the second time in a month and I can report that the Crown Hotel is consistently good. Our preferred room is on the fourth floor for the best ocean views, and staff have always been happy to accommodate our request. The little extras are really appreciated, such as bath bombs for the spa, super soft robes and a complimentary paper. We also received a complimentary bottle of wine for mentioning TripAdvisor - so, thanks, TripAdvisor!

The room itself is spacious, with a king bed boasting no less than seven pillows of all degrees of softness/firmness and shape. There is a small sitting area facing the Port and also a table and chairs on the balcony for prime ocean viewing. The bathroom features a spa bath and clever recessed shower. The linens, towels and robes are high quality and every part of the room is spotlessly clean.

The location is very convenient, with the highly rated Milk & Honey Cafe right next door, along with the Globe Theatrette, which offers a 10% discount to Crown guests. There are also some quirky and interesting shops nearby and a variety of other cafes and restaurants within short walking distance.

No suggestions for improvement. We continue to be very pleased with our choice to stay here whenever we visit Napier.

Room Tip: I recommend asking for a room on the fourth floor for the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLKrivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Sarah

Thank you for taking the time to post your extensive and detailed feedback. Pleased to hear that you enjoy the hotel and its facilities and most importantly our team when you come to stay with us. Plus the local area and what it has to offer is a big plus for an enjoyable stay.

See you again soon!

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great Location.
Very helpful staff, nothing was a problem.
Excellent restaurants within walking distance, recommend hiring a bike there are brilliant places to bike ride.
Michelle was very helpful and sorted out our stay at Christmas. we are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steph111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Steph

Thank you for your comments regarding our staff and team and pleased to hear that you will be back to stay with us at Christmas! Ahuriri is such a great location to explore and enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We regularly stay here when visiting Napier and have yet to find fault. A great location, always clean, good service - you can't ask for much more.
Recommended.
I have to add extra characters, so: If you like wine and stunning New Zealand scenery, then HawkesBay/Napier should be on your itinerary

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear TMBear

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback and glad that you enjoy your stay with us every time.

We look forward to welcoming back to The Crown Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I were doing a tour of the North Island and, unfortunately, could only stay at the Crown Napier for one night. If we had known how good it was at this hotel we would have definitely arranged our itinerary to have at least three nights there. Great view from the 3rd floor front and the room was exceptionally clean and well furnished.. Ate at the restaurant below, "Milk and Honey" which we would also recommend. Definitely would give this hotel top marks for everything.

Room Tip: Try a front room - the views are great and the traffic noise is minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dan_carraway45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Dan

One night is never enough when visiting Hawkes Bay! So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we may see you back here at some stage in the future.

Warm Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just out of Napier this hotel is on the water front. Rooms were clean and spacious with a hugh bathroom. Just what we needed for our relaxing 4 night stay in Napier. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Hugh comfortable King bed that let you get the best night sleep ever.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msellie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Msellie

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and great to hear you had a wonderful sleep experience. Thank you for the comments regarding our team at the hotel, as it is always nice to pass on guests comments to them.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
831 reviews
1.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.0 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
563 reviews
1.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
758 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Napier

Property: The Crown Hotel Napier
Address: Cnr Bridge St & Hardinge Rd | Ahuriri, Napier 4144, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#9 Business Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crown Hotel Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque seaside village of Ahuriri. The Crown Hotel Napier is located on the waterfront amongst boutique shops, cafes and restaurants and only a short drive to the award winning vineyards of the Hawkes Bay. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms and suites including 2 and 3 bedroom luxury apartments. Choose from the elegant heritage suites in the original 1932 Crown Hotel building or the contemporary designed rooms overlooking the ocean. The Crown Hotel offers the ultimate combination of classic opulence and history to modern luxury and design. Offering full conference facilities, complimentary undercover carparking, daily newspaper, guest laundry, fitness centre, outdoor courtyard with fireplace, 2 bars and Milk & Honey Restaurant...relax and indulge at a boutique hotel with timeless charm and genuine personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing