We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Crown Hotel Napier
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Such a great location which many years ago was basically an area for the local fishermen, warehouses for the wool industry and oil industry storage. Today the area has opened up to development with many bars and restaurants in close proximity to the Crown. The Crown provides excellent accommodation and the location provides a great vista of the Bay..

Room Tip: Naturally a view out over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fullergood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Fullergood

Yes the area of Ahuriri has developed greatly of the recent years and offers everything within walking distance.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed what the hotel had to offer and the surrounding area.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on Trip Advisor.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

880 - 886 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is fabulous, we only stayed one night, the room we had was sea view, very clean, bright and modern. The location was also fantastic, i'm going back for a longer stay. Good size rooms and three choices of pillows, friendly check in staff. There was a group of us staying there for my brothers 50th birthday.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have sea views, with lots of sun and light, we were on Level 2 and didn't noti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gingin5356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Gingin

So pleased that the weekend away for your brothers birthday went well and everyone had a relaxed and enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return!

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

First stay at the Crown Hotel but would love to go back. Beautiful view, comfy bed, lovely shower, & heaps of space in the room itself. Attached restaurant ok but plenty of others in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adrienne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Adrienne

So glad you enjoyed your first stay at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks for the lovely feedback.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My friend and I came here for our annual girls night away. The rooms were immaculate. Clean and very comfortable. A nice little deck. Short walk to the bars. Free parking. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Colleen

Always nice to get away for a girls weekend and close and safe walking distance to everything.

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stay here when in Napier on Business. While it is away from The central city it has all a traveller requires near by, especially restaurants. The staff always provide excellent service and the rooms are always clean, quiet with comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Studio rooms have excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kapitikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Kapitikiwi

Thank you for the lovely comments regarding the team here at the hotel as they do strive to go the extra mile for every guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel did everything we need. Spend only one night here in the end of a long trip. The place is modern and the room was great with a kitchen area, bed and pillows were perfect. I can't wait to come back again. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Nancy

Great to hear that you had a wonderful stay in Hawkes Bay. One night is never enough!!
We look forward to welcoming you back up to stay with us.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed one night in 4th floor harbour view apartment. Can't fault the room or fixtures and fittings. Thoroughly enjoyed the free bottle of wine given to us by a helpful, friendly and professional male receptionist, who persuaded us to take the "Winter Warmer" deal. For and extra $116 we could have dinner and breakfast in the ground floor restaurant Milk & Honey. Not sure if there was a miscommunication but we did not realise that we would be offered a restricted menu once in the restaurant. We queried this with our waitress and she kindly spoke with the manager who graciously agreed to allow us to choose from the main menu as long as we did not chose more expensive starters/mains/deserts than the "agreed' deal price. This suited us much better. It should be pointed out that the restaurant is a separate business to the hotel. Not sure if we would chose the deal option if restricted to the 2 starters 3 mains and 2 deserts on offer originally. All in all enjoyed our stay though and would recommend The Crown to friends and family when staying in a Napier.

Room Tip: Fourth floor harbour view is great quiet but with a lovely view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clearclearclear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear ClearClearClear

Thanks you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor and I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time in New Zealand.

Apologies that it was not communicated at the time of booking that the dinner at Milk & Honey restaurant was a 3 course set menu in the Winter Warmer Package but pleased that the restaurant was able to accommodate with your preference.

Kind regards

Michele Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
944 reviews
1.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
805 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
587 reviews
1.1 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#11 of 46 in Napier
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Napier

Address: Cnr Bridge St & Hardinge Rd | Ahuriri, Napier 4144, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#9 Business Hotel in Napier
Price Range: £96 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crown Hotel Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque seaside village of Ahuriri. The Crown Hotel Napier is located on the waterfront amongst boutique shops, cafes and restaurants and only a short drive to the award winning vineyards of the Hawkes Bay. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms and suites including 2 and 3 bedroom luxury apartments. Choose from the elegant heritage suites in the original 1932 Crown Hotel building or the contemporary designed rooms overlooking the ocean. The Crown Hotel offers the ultimate combination of classic opulence and history to modern luxury and design. Offering full conference facilities, complimentary undercover carparking, daily newspaper, guest laundry, fitness centre, outdoor courtyard with fireplace, 2 bars and Milk & Honey Restaurant...relax and indulge at a boutique hotel with timeless charm and genuine personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing