We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break with a baby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Hotel Napier
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Weekend break with a baby”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Studio room was gorgeous. Great view, clean, luxurious. The spa bath was wonderful. Restaurant below the hotel was easy, friendly and good food. Not much in the way of vegetarian but the chefs were willing to make me something that wasn't on the menu. Staff friendly, good value for money with the winter saver. We'd definitely return and book in again!

Room Tip: Get a corner room for extra views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Jude

Great to hear that you took advantage of the Winter Warmer Getaway and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

Warm Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    320
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
150
645
33
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had a lovely nights stay in a wonderfully appointed room with a fabulous bathroom, all very lovely, the one downside of the room was we were above the restaurant so got woken up earlier that we would have liked by the noise from there. Also there was a little miss communication with our reservation at the beginning, we didn't get any response confirming our stay, we also booked a package and the information about the meal wasn't quite right. Would certainly go back though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatlivego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Ianandjade

Pleased that you enjoyed your stay and apologies for any miscommunication about the dinner option with the package that was booked.

Thank you for posting your comments.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We just needed a night's getaway, not too far from home and The Crown was a great choice! We got a fantastic rate for a lovely studio room with a great view and manged to get a late check out and a half-price tariff offer, if we book again in the next 3 months! We met friends for a wine & pizzas etc at the Milk & Honey, enjoyed a movie (& another wine) at the intimate Globe Theatre & then had a love Thai meal all very close. Lovely to have a choice of wining & dining options in walking distance, as well as the walkway along the waterfront.

Chris & Dene

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a room with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chrisandene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Chrisandene

Sounds as though you had a great few days in Ahuriri and so pleased you enjoyed our lovely Globe Theatrette.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whakatane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed three nights and found its central location was excellent. Restaurants and shops Round.
The house bar was a bit small but the rooms weren't , I loved the spacious is of the rooms
You could relax and chill out.

Room Tip: Superior suite ground floor corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WhakataneChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Christina

Glad that you enjoyed the local area surrounding the hotel and also the comfort of your room.
Our House bar is small however it does lead to the outdoor courtyard where we have a lovely outdoor fireplace for guests to enjoy. We also have a larger bar at Milk & Honey restaurant at the front of the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Warm Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have now been 6 times to Napier over the past Year and after having stayed in a few locations and tried different places this is by far the best Our next trip back will be spent here
Clean modern rooms and well presented is a very nice welcome Congradulations to all staff
Views were terrific
Well done Crown Hotel we will be back very soon

Room Tip: A room with sea views is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Paul

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel. Thank you for the lovely feedback our on team here at The Crown as they do strive to go the extra mile!

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Warm Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverwoods, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Crown was superb from the moment we checked in the manager on the front desk (Stacy?) was very helpful and the accommodations were superb. No expense was spared from the heated bathroom floor to the

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bruce_Susan495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Bruce_Susan

Heated bathrooms floors are always nice at this time of the year! Pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it's always lovely to hear positive feedback in regards to the team. I will pass on your feedback to Casey.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spent the weekend here for a 40th birthday with family. The rooms were clean and spacious, although we did have a one-bedroom room (the bathroom was huge with a great spa bath). Location was fabulous and Milk and Honey restaurant was divine! The free newspaper in the morning is a lovely touch. Also went to the Globe Theatre for a movie which was an added bonus. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tress211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Tress211

Thank you for selecting the Crown Hotel to come and celebrate your 40th! Glad to hear that it was a fabulous relaxing weekend enjoying what Ahuriri and Napier has to offer.

Hopefully see you back for the 41st birthday!

Warm Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
863 reviews
1.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.0 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
568 reviews
1.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
772 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Napier

Property: The Crown Hotel Napier
Address: Cnr Bridge St & Hardinge Rd | Ahuriri, Napier 4144, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#9 Business Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crown Hotel Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque seaside village of Ahuriri. The Crown Hotel Napier is located on the waterfront amongst boutique shops, cafes and restaurants and only a short drive to the award winning vineyards of the Hawkes Bay. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms and suites including 2 and 3 bedroom luxury apartments. Choose from the elegant heritage suites in the original 1932 Crown Hotel building or the contemporary designed rooms overlooking the ocean. The Crown Hotel offers the ultimate combination of classic opulence and history to modern luxury and design. Offering full conference facilities, complimentary undercover carparking, daily newspaper, guest laundry, fitness centre, outdoor courtyard with fireplace, 2 bars and Milk & Honey Restaurant...relax and indulge at a boutique hotel with timeless charm and genuine personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing