We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort food during crazy weather”

Indonesia Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 195 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfort food during crazy weather”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Napier during the middle of a crazy rain storm. After doing bit of reviewing on trip advisor we decided Restaurant Indonesia was the spot for us. We were not disappointed. From the time I called to make a last minute reservation until dinner finished, service was outstanding. We were made to feel welcome from the minute we walked in the door. The food was excellent. It was full of flavour and comforting, exactly what we wanted with the storm outside. This meal definitely stands out as one of the best we've had in New Zealand.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Very happy to read that we provided what was needed during atrocious weather we experienced. Thanks for the great review and rating your meal with us as one of the best whilst traveling in New Zealand.
Safe travels!
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Established in 1983
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    867
    205
    42
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a surprise birthday dinner here for my Dad and the service was fantastic, the owner very obliging and funny. Made you feel very relaxed. The meal was really lovely, a banquet with tastes of all sorts of dishes. Wine was a full glass for around $6. Fantastic to see a restaurant give you a decent glass and not charge outrageously. Top knotch would go again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cherie218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thanks for your review. Good to read you enjoyed it.
And yes we like to keep the prices of our wines at a very affordable level and of course you get a decent serving of it. And ALL our wines are from local wineries which makes us maybe the only one to do so here in Napier...
Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Since 1983
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The end of a great day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

At the end of a day out, 30 of us descended on The Indonesian(planned & booked). It was brilliant, great service and food. The flavours were fantastic. Thanks Kees & Joss.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
It's a little while ago that you had your function at our restaurant. Really appreciated that you have taken the time to write your feedback on your first dining at experience at our establishment. And we're happy that you enjoyed it.
Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Proudly Celebrating 31 Years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A warm and welcoming place in a storm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I recently enjoyed a meal in this restaurant while on business in Napier. I went with a group of business associates and from the time we entered we were made to feel very welcome. It was a wild night outside and very comfortable inside. One of our group had been there before and had recommended the restaurant.
The service was very good and the food excellent.
Well worth a return visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Your review is greatly appreciated. A wild night outside, some comfort food inside. What else is needed. Lucky you didn't dine with us last night because it was beyond wild...
Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Established in 1983
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Love love love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My partner and I have been huge fans of Restaurant Indonesia for a few years now. So I decided to take him there to celebrate his 30th birthday! I'm so glad I did - we were looked after so well! Great service, combined with great food and a warm and friendly atmosphere, just awesome! Kees and Joss always make you feel like you've been welcomed into their home! What can I say it's always great and I can't wait to share this little gem with my parents when they come to stay in Napier next month. Without a doubt make sure you order the Rijsttafel at Restaurant Indonesia! Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thanks Amanda for your kind words about our restaurant and particularly about Joss and myself.
The night you dined with us we let you in on our little secret but we now can more openly let anyone know that we have sold our little restaurant. But don't think for one moment that we're disappearing completely because we will be staying on with the new owners for a few months to come.
I know you like our place and we felt pretty privileged to be picked as the venue to celebrate Simon's 30th birthday.
Looking forward meeting your parents.
Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Proudly Celebrating 31 Years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indonesia Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Indonesia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing