We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Rijstafel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indonesia Restaurant

Indonesia Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 194 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Rijstafel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We really enjoyed the supreme rijstafel we had with its 19 or so dishes and the spice condiments that accompanied it. It has been about 40 years since I last enjoyed such a good rijstafel. The service was great and the host and staff very friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank m0eder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Wow that has been a long time to be deprived of having a Rijsttafel... So glad you enjoyed it. Don't leave it another 40 years because we cannot guarantee that the restaurant will ever be celebrating over 70 years... But hey, you never know.
Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Since 1983
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    858
    202
    42
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
“Overpriced given quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I loved the Rijistifaal (apologies for spelling) concept but the blend of flavours could have been much much better. The quality of meat was cheaper cuts, relying on the sauces and spicy condiments to compensate. The $72 for the Supreme Rijistifaal was overpriced given the spectrum of flavours was not broad enough for Indonesia cuisine. Service was good. Sorry but overall I felt the experience was a little underwhelming given the price tag.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pinitia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thanks for your review. It's always a pity when people are not enjoying themselves and feel that they don't get value for money. $36 per person for a meal consisting of approx. 20 different items, al made on site... Okay, of course we use cheaper cuts of meats used in Rendang (beef) or the Kurmah (lamb stew). Don't expect anything else from Indonesian/Malaysian cuisine for these dishes. All items - including the sauces and condiments - are made on premise. You write that the service was 'good' but don't follow this up in the rating.
We strive to please each and every customer but are also aware that this is not always possible. Disappointing that your one and only feedback of any restaurant in the world has to be a negative one...
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - The only Indonesian Restaurant in NZ, Celebrating 31 Years



loved the Rijistifaal (apologies for spelling) concept but the blend of flavours could have been much much better. The quality of meat was cheaper cuts, relying on the sauces and spicy condiments to compensate. The $72 for the Supreme Rijistifaal was overpriced given the spectrum of flavours was not broad enough for Indonesia cuisine. Service was good. Sorry but overall I felt the experience was a little underwhelming given the price tag.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic experience and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

From the moment you walk in, you feel like you are entering another world. We loved the service, the artwork and the unique experience of the meal. Kees was a superb host, topping up our wine, offering advice and giving us privacy. We loved the 'Rijsttafel' concept and the food was awesome. Thanks Restaurant Indonesia - we will be back!!! :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review of your dining experience at our restaurant. Reading your contribution it's very evident you enjoyed your evening with us. That's what it is all about. We'd love to see you back!
Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Proudly Celebrating 31 Years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The service was relaxed and friendly. The food was delicious and it was great trying so many little seafood delights. The alcohol was cheep which was great.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for your review of our little restaurant. Glad you enjoyed it. Also nice that you noticed that our drinks menu is very affordable. That's how we want it to be...!
It seems you had a great time visiting Napier. Good!!!
Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Since 1983
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa
Level Contributor
162 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great tasting menu and very attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Wow this was the first Indonesia Restaurant we found in NZ and it is a good one. Very friendly staff that goes the extra mile to keep our kids happy. The traditional Rijstafel was very Lekker (nice). Good value for money and very good location and atmosphere. I wish we had a restaurant like this in the Bay of Plenty. Thanks for a lovely evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FvdHPapamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
It goes without saying that we appreciate your time to write about your findings dining at our restaurant. Happy to learn that all of you - including the kids - did enjoy it.
Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Celebrating 31 Years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indonesia Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Indonesia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing