We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Pacifica Kaimoana Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 201 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

• Location: Located on the beach promenade, in a nice small cottage painted in blue. Nice interior, modern with tasteful furniture.
• Staff: they are all really outstandingly friendly and efficient. They try to really do their best to accommodate you!
• Food: wow, the food is really outstanding: in particular the Salmon and the swordfish are fantastic! But also the other dishes are very good.
• Wine list: good choice of local wines
• I really did not expect such a good place here in Napier, and should I ever come back I most certainly will come back to Pacifica!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TandTSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    51
    25
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delectable Kai”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Dinner for three in Napier. We had 6 different taste sensations. All fantastic. Beautiful wine and good company, we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Teheikoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Interesting”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Two of us shared 5 courses which cost around $170 including three glasses of wine.
The 3 fish courses we ate were wonderful, imaginative and delicious as was the chocolate dessert. Neither of us enjoyed the goat dish, it just didn't work.
The service was very friendly and professional.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djanni11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We decided to book this restaurant (essential) from reading reviews on Trip Advisor so we knew what to expect. All mains are around $25 and are large entrees or small mains. The menu changes daily according to what is fresh or whatever whim the chef decides to delight his diners with. Ryan our waiter is extremely knowledgeable about food in general and the dishes on the menu specifically. 12 dishes on the menu. I had swordfish coated with coffee, truffled clams and butter sauce and then panko crumbed oysters, kina and mushroom ragout. My husband had the swordfish too, then roasted pork fillet, pigs ears, chia crusted tiger prawns and tapioca congee followed by venison short loin served rare with baby beetroot and roquefort cream. Each dish was sensational and well worth the price and the visit. We did not have desserts. We will certainly return on our next stay in Napier.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiG360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special dining experience”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I love Pacifica's points of difference, making this not only a different way of dining but a whole food experience. We found 2 courses of "mains" enough. Two small meals, beautiful visually and a taste sensation. The males in our group managed a passionfruit souffle as well, but an optional extra really. The waiter explained each course and it's ingredients and or the methods of preparation. At the beginning a couple of extra starters for everyone, which were little treats. All in all a great food experience (again for us).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judymac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pacifica Kaimoana Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Pacifica Kaimoana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing