We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Ranked #3 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a wonderful time”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Such a warm welcome from Paul and Barbara! We stayed for three nights with our two year old who loved the animals and we all loved the beautiful gardens. Paul is a terrific cook ( I recommend the chocolate mousse!) and so accommodating of all our requests. The room had everything you could need. Thanks for a super time. We will recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
179
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The welcome made us feel special. On our tour round the delightful grounds we saw the Morepork! Chissed Pook (Beer Barbequed Chicken) and the Lamb we had for dinner were both fantastic.
The breakfasts set us up for the day. Help with bookings was great.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellishouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed every minute of it! The hosts gave us a warm welcome and are so friendly. The location is just breathtaking and the rooms are spacious, clean and have everything you need.
We would recommend this place to everyone.
Morepork will last in our memories as a highlight of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicciBoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Just back from NZ (North Island) where we spent our last 3 nights at Morepork Riversidge Lodge...This will definitely remain our best experience across NZ - where people are always very friendly - after having visited the South Island last year.
Morepork's location is great, with its large bedrooms, beautiful garden and the river just below. It is pretty quiet despite the road just above.
Thanks to Paul and Barbara's kindness and generosity, you feel at home in no time. So much that I had to remind myself that I should not forget to pay before leaving!
A la carte breakfasts are fresh, generous and succulent.
Our hosts also did their level best to make this stay one we would remember about. Paul offered our 4 kids multiple activities (animal petting, garden tobogan) that they all very much enjoyed.
Don't miss Morepork if you visit the great Bay of Islands!

Eric, Marie and the kids

Room Tip: If you travel as a couple, ask for the master bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moukx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We were overwhelmed by Paul's hospitality - nothing was too much trouble for him. Little touches like the fruit and chocolate in the rooms on arrival and the bottles of iced water that he left out for us simply added to what was already a perfect stay. The gardens are beautiful and Paul's breakfasts are delicious. He read a bedtime story to our son and obviously adores children. He arranged a dolphin watching trip for us on our last day and when we returned to collect our bags he had made coffee to take with us on our drive to Auckland. And on top of all this, he was looking after Barbara who was convalescing after surgery. Brilliant host. Thanks Paul. You are a real star.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alansolicitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed for 2 nights, which really wasn't long enough!!! Our room had a sweeping view of the garden and river which we could enjoy with a glass of wine on our sundeck. The room itself was clean, tasteful, and included a fridge (essential for keeping the wine cool for post exercise recovery). We were also welcome to make use of the lounge and dining room area, which was great for swapping stories with the other guests.

In the gardens Paul has built a number of walks including marked areas where the resident Morepork perches (we saw him). These lead round to the Alpacas, Sheep, and goat which we helped to feed. The Alpacas (Anzac and Timtam) were really friendly.

Breakfast was served at a large communal table with the other guests and Barbara made sure you never went hungry. We were lucky enough to join Paul and Barbara for and evening meal with the other guests (separate cost, but very reasonable) which was cooked excellently and accompanied by fantastic wine. Sarah may never forget the choc mousse! If it's available, I would highly recommend this!

Prior to arriving, Paul and Barbara emailed us to ask if we were still interested in sailing (we mentioned this when we booked) and pencilled us in on Gunga II (also great) for the next day. They really thought of everything and made sure we had a great time!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Morepork the end of February 2011. Paul looked after us during our stay (Barbara was away at the time). I have never experienced hospitality like it. After a rather awful journey to Paihia, Paul greeted us with infectious enthusiasm and delicious blueberry muffins.
The breakfasts were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. We even had dinner with Paul and his family the one night.
Paul made great suggestions on places to visit and sorted everything out from the toll road charges to directions to organising and booking trips for us. Paul seemed to really care about our enjoyment whilst we were in Paihia, which now in the UK seems a rarity. Every morning we would leave Morepork with some water and a muffin to see us on our way. I would strongly recommend Morepork and Paul for anyone considering a stay in this area. The only regret we had, was not asking for the recipe for the blueberry muffins!

Room Tip: We had the room where there was no onsuite - but it was fine for our needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TReess12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
5.0 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 20 in Paihia
332 reviews
1.3 mi away
Appledore Lodge
Appledore Lodge
#4 of 20 in Paihia
244 reviews
5.3 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#2 of 20 in Paihia
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
945 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
452 reviews
5.3 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morepork Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morepork Riverside Lodge

Property: Morepork Riverside Lodge
Address: 846 Puketona Rd. | Bay of Islands, Northland, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Morepork Riverside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our B&B/Homestay set in 4 acres on the Waitangi River, just out of Paihia Township on the way to Kerikeri. Stroll through gardens & native bush, home to many birds including Moreporks (NZ’s native owl). Tame alpacas, sheep and a goat. All rooms have a king or super king bed, en-suite (one with a large corner bath), TV&DVD, tea & coffee, refrigerator & wireless broadband. Our two river side rooms also have their own deck and a sofa. Puketona room guests have use of a table & chairs on our BBQ deck. Yummy full breakfasts. Gourmet or Light evening meals available. We are "Kiwis" and have traveled extensively throughout NZ and the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Morepork Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morepork Riverside Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing