We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Beautiful and serene"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Retreat
Ranked #11 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Beautiful and serene"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is one of the best motels my husband & I have stayed at. Jan and Kevin are the nicest people you could wish to or want to meet. Friendly, clean. If we are ever in Paihia again whether it is to stay or visit we will be sure to look Jan & Kevin up. The views are astounding. Thank you from Rick & I. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinSmith2013, Owner at The Retreat, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Kia Sharon & Rick
Thanks for your fantastic review ,we are glad you enjoyed our Retreat and everything that goes with it ..We do enjoy helping to make our guests feel at home
regards
Jan & kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    19
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is our new fav family spot. The weather didn't play ball all weekend - thunderstorms and lightening one day, sunshine the next - but it really didn't matter at The Retreat. The rooms have everything you need for a short or longer stay...we were relaxed and comfortable, and the view kept us enchanted. It's just a walk down the hill to the bay, or hop over the other side for pipi picking. Of course it's always the people that make the difference - thank you Jan and Kevin for making our family weekend extra special. By the by, we went to Shippey's in Paihia for fish and chips late on Sunday night - thank goodness they were open and the food was spot on.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Writing this sitting at my desk in work, and wishing I was back at The Retreat.

We chose this place because it promised a good view over the bay, and it totally delivered. Beautiful views over the bay that we could see from our bed. Best thing to wake up to in the morning.

The motel style apartment itself was spotlessly clean, and had everything you could need - including a very well stocked kitchen and plenty of hot water.

Jan was incredibly friendly and helpful, and we really felt welcome. There was a TV and good DVD selection for rainy evenings too.

All in all, I would very much recommend! Good value in the winter season too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinSmith2013, Owner at The Retreat, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Kia ora from Paihia
Thanks for your review ,we are so glad that you enjoyed The Retreat
Come back again
Regards
Jan & kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

A couple of kilometres south of Pahia The Retreat lies up a steep private driveway that leads to a collection of bungalows and motel rooms overlooking Pahia Harbour and Russell. Whatever the weather the views are magnificent from the balconies on the main small block of motel style apartments - whether it's a lovely sunset or a shower sweeping over the bay it is sure to captivate.
Our apartment was roomy, laid out well with good kitchen kit to help a self caterer. A good comfy bed and lots of hot water are always a requirement and this place did not fail. More difficult was access to the advertised guest laundry - only useable between 10 am and 6 pm - just the time when guests are unlikely to want to be doing their laundry chores. The reason for the rule is understandable - the laundry room butts up to guest chalet and who wants a washer running at unsociable hours? Help from Jan and co-operative guests sorted it all out for us.
The town offers lots of restaurants, bars and attractions and there is a choice of two supermarkets.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shipyardtales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferntree Gully, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We left our Paihia accom to the last to book because of the cost and the choice in the area. Luckily we picked the best. Kevin is a great host, very laid back and helpful. The room wasn't new, but it was clean and spacious. The view is to die for. I was still feeling the effects of an early departure and woke early my first morning there. To watch the sun rise over The Bay of Island from bed was awe inspiring. Our only mistake was booking for 2 nights. A week would have been more appropriarte.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryF1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, Brazil
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

There are endless places to choose from in Paihai area so it's hard to choose but you won't go wrong at the Retreat if you want fantastic views, a comfortable home away from home, and friendly hosts. Jan and Keith run a great operation. The property is well marked on the highway with an enticing drive up the narrow roadway to the cabins. You can relax on the deck as the tide comes and goes. See the cruise ships arriving in the distance, the sailboats in the bay and the oyster diggers down below in the tide pools. The units are basic, with all you need to cook if you wish. A mircrowave would have been handy. The place is so clean. Beds comfy. Sheets and towels replaced during the week as well. Nice touch. Not easy access to walk to the beach - down a long hill along the highway, but plenty of great beaches to drive to.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthCuritiba_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep South
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed here over New Years eve 2012/13. We spent a lot of time choosing where to stay in Paihia and we weren't disappointed in the Retreat. As other reviewers have said its outside Paihia, which is on the other side of a steep hill. But as we weren't looking for accommodation right in town this suited us well. The views were stunning and the setting is beautiful. The owners were very helpful and the studio unit we stayed in was clean and comfortable. One word of warning, depending on the time of year you stay, you need mosquito repellant (we'd forgotten ours), we were all bitten a lot, I had 40 bites on one leg alone.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#7 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tarlton's Lodge
Tarlton's Lodge
#5 of 23 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Property: The Retreat
Address: 22 Paihia Road | Paihia, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet,secluded natural bush setting set on a 10 acre Penninsula with panoramic uninterrupted seaviews,Northfacing,but only 3 minutes drive to Paihia Central.Bush walks,great Fishing,native bird life and access to the Coastal Walkway A perfect home away from Home ,Friendly Hospitality ,Relaxed Genuine Kiwi Owners ,on site. Prepare to be spoilt.A great place to base your Complete Northland Holiday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Retreat Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing