We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place- rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers
Ranked #16 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place- rude staff”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We arrived with our baby daughter and were instantly told off for not having told them that she would be coming too (we actually had sent them an email about it). It shouldn't have mattered anyway as we didnt ask for anything else- we had brought our own travel cot, etc but we were made to feel really unwelcome. The person who greeted us then huffed and puffed and found us our room that was already booked anyway (a lot of hassle, waiting around, etc for no reason).

Anyway, besides that the place is great and you don't need to interact with the staff as it's quite self explanatory. The rooms were clean and the shared facilities were well looked after. Location is very good too- just a short walk into the centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    27
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
8
39
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Köln
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

What a lovely place! We stayed there for 10 days over Christmas (actually we stayed longer than we had planned!). Although the weather over the Christmas days was absolutely horrible, Rose, the host, was very welcoming and made our stay a homelike and great experience. She and her great staff treated us with a big cooked English breakfast and initiated a Christmas swim on Christmas day. There is a cozy and beautiful communal are including a well equipped kitchen, a cute sitting room and loads of nice seats outside to tan, chat, read or surf the (free!!) net on the veranda and little courtyard. There is free tennis including balls and rackets and a gas BBQ as well. Party goers: you have to be quiet at 11pm or stay somewhere else :-) Well, we definitively highly recommend that lovely place. Go there for at least 2 or 3 days. Loads of things to do around, anyway!

Room Tip: The two hutlike cabins are simple but very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaalexD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Very very clean toilets and we stayed in a double room which was super comfy and the best was the free bicycles that we took around the whole town and also into Russell. Staff very nice. Location is only 5-10 mins walk from info centre(depending on luggage you are dragging)
24 hr open lounge and kitchen

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodwin123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Our two night stay at the Pickled Parrot in Paihai was our first backpacker experience. Our family had a four bed family room, but my husband and I had an ensuite room with lounge, kitchen and shared terrace which was over and above what we had expected. Everything was clean and tidy. Although we were ensuite, I did check out the communal showers which were modern and of a good standard. The manager Rose was a friendly person, and made us feel very welcome.

Would recommend The Pickled Parrot as a reasonably priced option when staying in the Bay of Islands, and it is a flat easy l0 minute walk into the centre of Paihai.

Room Tip: Ask for the double ensuite room with lounge, kitchen and shared terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerryshut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I enjoyed my stay overall at Pickled Parrot. Facilities were good and the rooms were clean. Overall the hostel was quite small and the common areas were quite crowded at times. It isn't a party hostel and there are quite a lot of rules, but I guess this makes for a pleasant experience for everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone_A037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

After the initial struggle to find it as the sat nav was a bit confused, we ended up in a nice little backpackers.

We had a double room four ourselfs. It was basic but had everything you need. The room was clean but the mattrasses could be a bit more comfortable.

The kitchen is well equipt and has enough space to cook for everyone. Just next to the kitchen is the living room with TV and DVD player. So watching a DVD when people are cooking is almost impossible due to the noise.

There are enough bathrooms the amount of people and they are spaceous and from the looks newly renovated.

The staff is really friendly and was always helpful, let it be for organzing a trip or with other information.

The only thing is personally did not like was that the owners dogs walked around everywhere, especially the kitchen, as me personally I do not like animals close to where I prepare food. But this is my personal opinion.
Otherwise everything was fine.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Berickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here for a weekend away, it was like a home away from home for a good price, purely chilled out, clean, comfy, quiet, small. The owner was lovely. The kitchen and living area are like a small house so its great for socialising with the other guests!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise_cahill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.9 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
0.7 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Saltwater Lodge
Saltwater Lodge
#8 of 30 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
0.2 mi away
Bay Adventurer
Bay Adventurer
#17 of 30 in Paihia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickled Parrot Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Parrot Backpackers

Property: The Pickled Parrot Backpackers
Address: 9 Greys Lane, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at the Pickled Parrot. Enjoy free breakfast in this small personal hostel set in a sub tropical garden paradise. Friendly welcoming hosts, very clean accommodation, excellent kitchen facilities, all linen provided. Close to beach, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Pickled Parrot Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers Hotel Paihia
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing