We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull stay at Baystay”
Review of Baystay B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baystay B&B
Ranked #8 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderfull stay at Baystay”
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Best place we stayed at in New Zealand by far. We would recommend this place to everyone. The accomodation was better than 5 star. Spotlessly clean, great breakfasts and friendly hosts and 2 cats. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spudkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    20
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
159
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We've stayed in quite a few B&B's in Tasmania and in Ireland and this was the best for a friendly and pleasant ambience, super bathroom, cleanliness, fantastic breakfasts (generous freshly squeezed OJ a real treat) and good coffee all day. The furnishings were modern and nice. Pleasant views over the countryside from the deck. Rob and Nick were helpful and informative, giving us advice about what to see and they even lent us their laptop to check our emails. Will happily recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgecrest
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2009

I have stayed at BayStay on two occasions and, at both times, the experience was totally delightful. The breakfasts/dinner served were delicious with added touches of appetizers or dessert available to enjoy at our leisure. There is a gourmet coffee machine in the kitchen which makes individual cups of coffee to have at will. The view from the balcony is gorgeous, overlooking rolling green pastures and grazing sheep. The rooms are all very tastefully furnished with modern/contemporary decor, elegantly yet simply stated. Nick and Rob are also very well-informed regarding points of interest in the Bay of Islands region and surrounding areas and are very willing to graciously share that information. BayStay is a FIRST-CLASS establishment and an absolute pleasure to experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Niek and Rob were so welcoming, friendly, helpful whilst being totally professional hosts.
As we were the only guests, it being very early in the season, they upgraded us to their best room which was lovely. They gave us lots of information and helpful tips on how to spend our time there and an excellent breakfast, cooked by Niek, to set us up for the day.
Baystay is ideally placed in a very quiet situation overlooking the river, close to the town and amenities. Quite honestly it was superb in every way.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barton14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

The rooms were spotless and ultra modern, with fresh linen and the most softest towels.
Breakfast was superb including the freshly squeezed orange juice.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NolaWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2009

The bedroom and ensuite were spotless as was the rest of the premises. The breakfast was delicious and their was a mean coffee machine for serious drinkers. The hosts were friendly and obviously enjoyed having visitors. The views of the river and bush were spectacular and being just out of Pahia it was quite and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

This was our first B&B and at first it felt strange being in someones house, but the boys made us feel so welcome and comfortable that we did not want to leave.
We stayed 2 nights and it was tempting to just stay here and not travel !
The premises are spotless, the food and service 1st class. The second night we literally had the place to ourselves. The other couple had left and Rob and Nick went out...tossed us the keys and even suggested we get some takeaway and eat in to save money...which we did in front of the lovely fire after a balcony spa !!.
They have 2 beautiful cats which they said was up to us if we wanted them near us. Well my wife is not a cat person at all ....but she is now, She had both of them asleep on her lap within no time. ( you dont have to be near the cats if you dont want to I should confirm)

Ok its a very short drive to town but the view over the valley is so relaxing and what a great spot to enjoy a wine after a days driving.
The boys can provide heeps of local info which helped us as it was raining and ment we had to adjust our sight seeing.
The free internet in our room was bonus to catch up on news etc.
Value is fantastic as well ..will never stay in a motel again.
Thanks Guys !!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelixF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
946 reviews
2.2 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
2.2 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#2 of 20 in Paihia
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
1.6 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baystay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baystay B&B

Property: Baystay B&B
Address: 93A Yorke Road, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baystay B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WIFI, All rooms are air-conditioned. Baystay B&B is situated overlooking the Waitangi River, just out of Paihia where you will find a variety of restaurants and shops, or you can relax at the beach. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast, the spa pool or just the views from the deck. We can give tips on how to explore Northland or give help on booking your day trips. Relax, No Worries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Baystay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baystay B&B Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing