We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“100% value for Money and should be rated as a 5 Star Lodge!!”
Review of Tarlton's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tarlton's Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“100% value for Money and should be rated as a 5 Star Lodge!!”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Me and My wife stayed at this amazing lodge for 2 nights (please note we had only booked for 1 night but ended up extending our stay for another night) Mike is a very welcoming host which added nothing but plus points in our stay. The room that we stayed in was one of the most beautiful room we have ever stayed in NZ in regards to the view , the room , the bathroom, the service.

SPA Bath - a bonus. The service provided by Mike right from making the room to the early morning breakfast was just spot on. Right from the time we entered we were given all the possible info of around bay of plenty. We were assured by our Host that he will just be an text away and so was the case. My wife could not stop taking pictures of the room and the view.

Highly , Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AADI09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
191
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We loved our stay here! Mike is really a great host with a superb eye for fine taste.
Loved our room with own private outdoor spa bath with spectacular views of Paihia.

Totally recommend it. And we adored Pedro & Toby too. You will find out why!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Amazing Views, clean, private and with a spa.... couldn't ask for more...... It is a little out of the way and up a windy road but it was nice to be away from the hustle of the beach area. Mike was extremely helpful and we had a lovely breakfast on our patio the next morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EireKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I'd read on TripAdvisor that Tarlton's had the best view of the NYE fireworks in Paihia, and we were not disappointed! Upon arriving at the house, we already got a sense of the beautiful hilltop view across the Bay of Islands. Mike was a great host, helpful and friendly but never overbearing, and offered loads of great advice on things to do in the Paihia/Russell area. His awesome cooked breakfast, served on your own veranda each morning, was another highlight. The rooms are luxurious and private, all three rooms were occupied while we were there but we never saw any of the other guests (except briefly to say "Happy New Year" at midnight!). The location is also great; after driving around the North Island nearly every day, we were keen to leave the car behind. Paihia is about a 10 minute walk down the hill, near enough to stroll to dinner, but far enough away from the noise and crowds of New Year's Eve. Overall, Tarlton's was a great choice for a secluded getaway in the Bay of Islands!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own private access, but Room 3, on the far right of the building, has its own e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stayfrostysparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The view, room, and Mike's hospitality (and awesome breakfasts) made Tarlton's my favorite spot on my three week trip of the North Island. The location is close enough to walk to town (although you have to huff it back up the hill!). I didn't want to leave - - I kept tacking on additional nights!

The place was up for sale when I was there in August. I hope there are no changes with new ownership.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarefootGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Our one night at Tarlton's Lodge was definitely not enough. The quality of the accommodation and the service offered by Mike are first rate. We made full use of the hot tub on our balcony with bubbly to boot Watching the sailboats go by at the end of the afternoon as it was our last night in NZ after a super trip. We would highly recommend Tarlton's and look forward to one day being able to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We camped and backpacked our way up the west coast and back down the east of Northland, we got to Paihia and thought we would treat ourselves a nice hotel on the beach, Lady at the info centre showed us some pamphlets and we ended up at Tarltons! WOW! It was absolute bliss! We have stayed in some nice places but this takes the cake! We plan to go back when we can. The rooms were spotless, the breakfast fantastic, and the view from the spa pool with a glass of wine was to die for! Thanks Mike!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia_and_Carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.0 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#3 of 20 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#2 of 20 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarlton's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarlton's Lodge

Property: Tarlton's Lodge
Address: 11 Sullivans Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarlton's Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paihia’s most spectacular sea & island views await your discovery at Tarlton’s Lodge. All our luxury B&B rooms have their own entrances, decks, spa pools & parking space. Each room is designed & furnished to the highest standard with leather armchairs you can really relax in & enjoy the fabulous views. Every morning(weather permitting) I will cook you a wonderful breakfast & serve it to you on your own deck. Each day I service your room & replenish your fridge with fresh milk. After you return from an adventurous day relax in your own spa pool looking out over the Bay of Islands. I have lots of local knowledge about the area & the tours as well. Tarlton’s Lodge is situated just an 8 minute walk or 2 minute drive to the centre of Paihia, close to the amenities & tours but away from the hustle & bustle.**Please note we do not take children** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tarlton's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarlton's Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing