We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tarlton's Lodge is the place!!”
Review of Tarlton's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tarlton's Lodge
Ranked #5 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We( myself and my husband) are so glad we chose to stay at Tarlton's Lodge we enjoyed our stay. We stayed for 3 nights, everything is perfect. The best view of the bay, very peaceful and the delicious breakfast not forgetting our own private spa tub.

Mike is so helpful with every information you need. He recommend which place to go.

Room Tip: Look no further come to Tarlton's Lodge this is the best place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alai143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed here on April 25 and April 26, we stayed in room 2, which had the entrance through the house. Mike was a lovely host and only too helpful in settling in and on advice if needed.

The room was like new with lovely furnishings and a great view.

Would definitely stay again the cleanliness was top notch. Would be hard pressed to find a modern and clean place to stay. We were so glad we did not choose a hotel / motel on the waters edge, the spa and breakfast was the cherry on the cake.

Look forward to seeing you again Mike and I hope that dog will be perching on your elbow.

Room Tip: The rooms on either side did have a larger spa and separate entrance, rooms one and three, would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

If you're trying to choose accommodation in the Bay of Islands & want something a little further away from the bustle & noise of the township - you need look no further than this one. A super quick drive & only 10-15 minute walk into the town of Paihia, but so completely serene & peaceful you don't even know there's a town down the hillside.

Stunning views, great privacy, amazing hot tub outside your room overlooking the stunning bay. Huge comfy bed, lovely modern bathroom with rain shower & beautiful cooked breakfasts by the lovely Mike - a wonderful host.

Room Tip: We had room number 3 on the end - separate entrance & perfectly private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leletia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Paihia was the first destination on our March holiday. Tarlton's Lodge is superb Bed and Breakfast accommodation. Impeccably clean room; wonderfully comfortable bed (very important); shower that had enough power to give a massage!!! (also very important); sliding glass doors onto private balcony with our own "hot tub"; the most amazing views of the Bay; and Mike, a host who supplies a personalised breakfast to your balcony, and who is a mine of information regarding the area. Nothing was too much trouble. A wonderfully relaxing and encouraging place to start a holiday.
Richard and Judy Harrison (Perth)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardh381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Paihia is a very good starting point to explore the Bay of Islands and Mike's B&B is the perfect place to stay. You can't find a more spectacular view and having a bath in your personal hot tub on the terrace makes it even better.
The breakfast is all that you can wish for and Mike's advice about things to do and see is invaluable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin-Erhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

We have an amazing view from our room, just had a lovely fresh breakfast served with a smile.
Thoroughly recommend this place absolutely gorgeous!
A light walk into town ( just to work off the lovely food ) into beautiful quaint Paihia. I believe the markets on today, so here we go!'





  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lugya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Me and My wife stayed at this amazing lodge for 2 nights (please note we had only booked for 1 night but ended up extending our stay for another night) Mike is a very welcoming host which added nothing but plus points in our stay. The room that we stayed in was one of the most beautiful room we have ever stayed in NZ in regards to the view , the room , the bathroom, the service.

SPA Bath - a bonus. The service provided by Mike right from making the room to the early morning breakfast was just spot on. Right from the time we entered we were given all the possible info of around bay of plenty. We were assured by our Host that he will just be an text away and so was the case. My wife could not stop taking pictures of the room and the view.

Highly , Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AADI09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.8 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 21 in Paihia
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#2 of 21 in Paihia
549 reviews
4.2 mi away
Appledore Lodge
Appledore Lodge
#3 of 21 in Paihia
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarlton's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarlton's Lodge

Address: 11 Sullivans Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: £162 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarlton's Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paihia’s most spectacular sea & island views await your discovery at Tarlton’s Lodge. All our luxury B&B rooms have their own entrances, decks, spa pools & parking space. Each room is designed & furnished to the highest standard with leather armchairs you can really relax in & enjoy the fabulous views. Every morning(weather permitting) I will cook you a wonderful breakfast & serve it to you on your own deck. Each day I service your room & replenish your fridge with fresh milk. After you return from an adventurous day relax in your own spa pool looking out over the Bay of Islands. I have lots of local knowledge about the area & the tours as well. Tarlton’s Lodge is situated just an 8 minute walk or 2 minute drive to the centre of Paihia, close to the amenities & tours but away from the hustle & bustle.**Please note we do not take children** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tarlton's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarlton's Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing