We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Abri Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abri Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Spent a few days in at Abri Appartments in July. Paihia turned on perfect weather and the accommodation was just as good. Beautuful views from Treetops unit, great facilities, cosy during the cooler nights and close to eateries. Would love to come again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reinfelds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
199
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

By far the best accommodation we had during our last NZ trip.
We stayed in their King Suite, which consists of big living room/kitchen, a separate bathroom, a huge porch with a BBQ and a huge bedroom with a super king bed (very comfy). We were welcomed by the friendly hosts, which gave us wonderful tips on the town and the region. One of the greatest things is the view one has from all rooms. One sees the bay of island and Russell in the distance.
If we came back to Paihia, we would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dutchtraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Abri Apartments, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay in The Suite. It was a pleasure talking to you and sharing our local knowledge. We will look forward to your next visit when you return to Paihia.
Kind Regards
Helen & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Almost don't want to tell anyone about this lovely place we discovered!
Lovely well appointed and set out apartment surrounded by native trees and birds. so great privacy and serenity. Really did feel like we were staying in a tree house. Fab views out to sea. Even if the weather is nasty you can just enjoy Paihia from here! Very friendly service, nothing's a bother. Immaculately clean and all the little things you may possibly need are there. So handy to all the attractions of Paihia, so can just park the car up and stroll to town. Could not fault anything here. Thanks for the wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in Tree House. Palms looks like it has good views. The third room is under main house, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sirri14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Abri Apartments, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Hi Sirri
Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us in the Treetops during the recent Jazz & Blues Festival and also for sharing your experience with us. It was great to meet you all and lovely to hear that you had a wonderful time. We'll look forward to seeing you at the next Festival, or maybe just when you need a relaxing break away. :-) :-)
Kind Regards
Helen & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the Palms unit. This is a geat spot - views, easy walk to jetty and shops, and fabulous accommodation. The unit is new and clean. Plenty of space for a couple. Great spa bath and deck. Comfortable bed. Quiet. And very well run by nice people. Doesn't get any better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterY62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rakaia, Canterbury. New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed in Tree Tops for 3 nights, with possibly the best views in Paihia, wish we could have stayed longer. Spotlessly clean, & with everything you could possibly need. Short walking distance to shops & restaurants should you not wish to cook in your apartment. Great to have the little extras like cling wrap, foil,etc
Also many thanks for the thoughtful turning on of heater & lights as we were late arriving.
We will definitely be back.
Rosemary & Kevin

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Great place to stay, self catering using the BBQ on the deck overlooking the bay. Top quality accommodation and superb, helpful service. Situated a few blocks back from the sea front in an elevated, quiet location providing stunning views to the bay and Russell. A short walk to the beach, town center and wharf, with plenty of restaurants. Facilities include a well equipped laundry with washing machine and tumble dryer, superb for a family of 3.
We will be back in 2015.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeDuberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Abri Apartments, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Hi Mike
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. It was lovely to meet you and your family during your stay with us. We'll look forward to your next visit. :-)
Kind Regards
Peter & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We were delighted to have found this beautiful place! Staying in Paihia for a week we wanted somewhere peaceful, attractive and with self catering facilities. Our villa at Abri Apartments fulfilled every requirement and more. Well designed and built of timber, the two free standing villas blend into the private hillside garden and face a superb view of the the Bay of Islands.
Good design of the spotlessly clean interior as well as provision of all amenities (the kitchenette really was fully equipped for self catering) made this a very comfortable and beautiful home for a week. The friendly and helpful owners added to the pleasure of our stay, as did the kiwi which called out across the hillside morning and evening!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ines027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Abri Apartments, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Hi Ines & David
We really enjoyed meeting you during your stay with us and receiving your wonderful feedback on our Apartments. Its always great when our guests can spend that little bit longer, fully enjoying our Apartments and the Bay of Islands. Will be lovely to see you again sometime :-)
Kind Regards, Peter & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 20 in Paihia
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abri Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abri Apartments

Property: Abri Apartments
Address: 10/12 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abri Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abri Apartments has two unique chalets individually set apart for total privacy featuring awesome sea views, open plan living, double spa bath & full kitchen facilities. Nestled amongst the trees in a sub-tropical garden away from busy roads, the apartment / chalets are totally private and look out over the Bay of Islands towards Russell and beyond ..... Also available is a one bedroom Suite with a Super King or Twin Bed option, sea views, kitchenette and shower facilities. The three accommodation units each offer the comfort of a home away from home; each with their own private entrance, a deck with wonderful sea views and a BBQ; plus luxurious details to surprise you during your stay. The apartments are spacious and tastefully furnished with comfortable lounge and dining areas. It is an easy 3 minute stroll to the beach or into central Paihia Township where you will find a variety of shops, cafes, and restaurants; as well as to the Paihia Wharf where all of the Bay of Islands dolphin tours and scenic cruises depart. All this makes Abri Apartments an ideal location for a romantic holiday retreat for couples; plus being the ideal location to base yourself while you explore the many spectacular sights and activities of the Bay of Islands. * Complimentary Car Parking * Competitive Seasonal Rates * Free WiFi * Complimentary Guest Laundry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Abri Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abri Apartments Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing