We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treetops & a spectacular view of the Bay of Islands”
Review of Abri Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abri Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treetops & a spectacular view of the Bay of Islands”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had a wonderful few days in Paihia in the clean, comfortable & well maintained Treetops suite with one of the world's best views looking over the Bay of Islands. The apartments are perfectly located with a short walk to the beach, restaurants, ferry terminal & shopping area as well as an easy walk to the Waitangi Treaty grounds.
Helen & Peter are friendly informative people who were concerned for us since we had to travel through Cyclone Lusi to reach Auckland for a homeward flight. Very kindly we were offered extra nights if needed but with their local knowledge & reassurance we had a safe drive to the airport.
We can readily recommend a stay at the Abri Apartments & hope one day to return ourselves.
Thank you Helen & Peter.
Jenni & Kim, Melbourne

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flannos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Abri Apartments, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hi Jenni & Kim;
Your welcome; we were happy to learn that you had a safe journey home. :-) Thanks for your great review. We'll look forward to seeing you on a return visit.
Kind Regards
Helen & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
202
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

we stayed for 3 nights in the Palms suite - really fabulous accommodation with such attention to detail in the decor and soft furnishings. Surrounded by beautiful lush tropical gardens with views over the bay, and a short stroll to town centre, Abri is just perfect - couldnt fault in any way. Can highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn06-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Abri Apartments, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi Lyn
We totally agree; we certainly do have a "Touch of Paradise" here at Abri. We've just replaced the Lounge and Dining Suites in all our apartments and are finding that our guests are "loving it". Thank you so much for your High Recommendation. We hope we'll see you again on a return visit.
Kind Regards
Helen & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

A stunning view and central location. A stylish apartment with everything we needed. Peter and Helen have thought of everything and provided a very comprehensive information folder. Wish we had been able to stay longer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Abri Apartments, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi Helen
It was lovely to meet you during your stay with us at Abri. Yes, we've tried to think of everything that our guests might need whilst staying with us, so it was lovely to read that we have :-) Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with others and your recommendation. :-)
Kind Regards
Helen & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

When we go back to Paihia, no doubts about it this place is where we will stay again. It is tucked away from the main road and the views are amazing- you feel like you are in a tropical jungle- lush green all around.
The hosts were so incredibly friendly- just lovely people.
Very clean space and well looked after.
We stayed in the suite which is attached to the main house- would love to try their free-standing bungalows next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Abri Apartments, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Hi Gina
Lovely to meet you and your family and receive your amazing review. Thanks so much for taking the time to write it. Yes, the Treetops and the Palms are awesome as well, so we'll look forward to hosting you again on a return visit. :-)
Kind Regards
Helen & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

this beautiful accomodation is totally stunning ! the nicest place we have stayed for a very long time. Totally recommend to couples, there was nothing we needed that it didnt have. Thanks Helen and tripadvisor for our amazing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHERYL407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Abri Apartments, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks so much for your wonderful review, Sheryl. It was great to meet you during your weekend "getaway". Looking forward to hosting you again on a return visit.
Kind Regards
Helen & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesdin, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed in the suite for four nights, The standard of the equipment was the best we found in six weeks of New Zealand. The view was amazing and the appartment is within easy reach of the town centre and ferry to Russel.
.

Room Tip: Suite had little sun on the deck & is below owners appartment ,but has best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Abri Apartments, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Hi Alan
Thanks for your lovely review on the Suite. Happy to hear that everything was perfect.
Over the last 6 months we've installed new lounge suites and dining suites in every unit, so it was good to get your feedback about the standard of equipment. We're always striving to improve!! :-)
Kind Regards
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Suite, situated under the house. It was beautifully appointed and the views are wonderful. We stayed 4 nights and used the barbecue on the deck one night instead of eating out. Peter is a mine of information on the area. Sadly we didn't get to meet Helen. We did however meet their very cute dog!!! No complaints whatsoever.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RosinaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Abri Apartments, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Hi Rosina
Sorry that I missed meeting you during your stay with us but yes, Peter is a brilliant host as well and so is Chester!! :-) I was away visiting our very cute granddaughter. :-)
Hope to meet you on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
946 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
0.5 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abri Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abri Apartments

Property: Abri Apartments
Address: 10/12 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abri Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abri Apartments has two unique chalets individually set apart for total privacy featuring awesome sea views, open plan living, double spa bath & full kitchen facilities. Nestled amongst the trees in a sub-tropical garden away from busy roads, the apartment / chalets are totally private and look out over the Bay of Islands towards Russell and beyond ..... Also available is a one bedroom Suite with a Super King or Twin Bed option, sea views, kitchenette and shower facilities. The three accommodation units each offer the comfort of a home away from home; each with their own private entrance, a deck with wonderful sea views and a BBQ; plus luxurious details to surprise you during your stay. The apartments are spacious and tastefully furnished with comfortable lounge and dining areas. It is an easy 3 minute stroll to the beach or into central Paihia Township where you will find a variety of shops, cafes, and restaurants; as well as to the Paihia Wharf where all of the Bay of Islands dolphin tours and scenic cruises depart. All this makes Abri Apartments an ideal location for a romantic holiday retreat for couples; plus being the ideal location to base yourself while you explore the many spectacular sights and activities of the Bay of Islands. * Complimentary Car Parking * Competitive Seasonal Rates * Free WiFi * Complimentary Guest Laundry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Abri Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abri Apartments Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing