We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and super location”
Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Motel
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Comfortable and super location”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Rooms are clean, modern and well equipped with efficiencies. Make sure you ask for a second floor location as these provide a great view of the water. Motel has a nice pool, lots of free parking, seating on the balcony and even a black lab to great you! Easy walk to all the attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moneychanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    133
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
101
254
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
South Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Well set out motel with lovely fittings and comfortable funishings. Family friendly but the boys had difficulty sleeping due to the road noise. Great pool and a very short walk into town. Great pool and helpful hosts.

Room Tip: If you aren't use to road noise, ask for a room closest to the office and downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZAmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and this motel was the perfect place for us. Great location opposite beach and within walking distance to cafe's, restaurants and the harbour & pier. Our room was on the top floor overlooking the pool, spa and beach. This was the most expensive accommodation on our trip but I think thats because of the location. The room was large & really well fitted out for self contained cooking if that is what you wanted to do. The bathroom was HUGE and I loved it. Our tours were booked for us before we even arrived and that was a great service provided. We would definitely come back and would also recommend staying here to anyone.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor gives the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mc4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Nice , clean hotel. No TV and aircon.in main bedroom. Internet not included and quite expensive.
Very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VICTEETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alf0798, Owner/Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear Victeeth
We are not sure that your Review is based on our facility as your comments are not in keeping with our room chattels or our policies.
Our main bedroom / living rooms are all furnished with 32inch flat screen TV's(1 has a 46incher) and in all those that have seperate bedrooms as well, those bedrooms are all furnished with 26inch flat screen TV's to.
We are one of only a very few accommodation providers in Paihia that have air conditioning / heat pumps in their apartments. This we feel helps meet the modern day guests expectations to which we also provide on arrival, complimentary free internet access.
Our best regards
Denis and Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We have stayed here and were not disappointed on our return visit. The hospitality is as great as ever and Aileen and Denis certainly make one feel at home and has the happy knack of pointing you in the right direction for dinning. Love the new bathroom. We will return.

Room Tip: Upstairs for the best views of the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiRowenaHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed on two separate nights in mid December, the hotel were kind enough to let us leave our luggage and car whilst we cruised in the Bay of Islands. Rooms were excellent, very clean and well tended. On the second visit we had a separate bathroom which was superb. We would HIGHLY recommend the Anchorage to anyone.

My only negative is that compared to the rest of NZ the price per night was a little high, but that may just be Paihia and the location is worth the extra.

Room Tip: Ist Floor rooms have better sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uktravellerrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Anchorage Motel for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We had an upstairs room overlooking the pool with the beach and bay forming an idyllic backdrop. Room was very spacious with a well equipped kitchenette, huge bathroom, comfortable king bed and everything was spotlessly clean. The motel is conveniently located at the end of the waterfront road approaching from the south, far enough away from the main part of town for peace and quietness but not too far as was an easy walk to the shops, ferry wharves, restaurants and other amenities. We enjoyed the ambience of the place downing a few gasses of wine in the balcony with a couple of other friendly travellers staying in the next door rooms. The road out front can be a bit noisy in the earlier parts of the evening, however, things quieten down before it gets too late and you can get a good nights sleep. The view out over the bay in the mornings is outstanding, especially when the cruise ships are in. Two ships were in the weekend we stayed. Mine host, Aileen, is a lovely lady. Made us very welcome on arrival and was very helpful with suggestions for activities, bookings etc. Overall, a great little motel in a great spot and at an affordable rate.

Room Tip: Upstairs gets the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Property: Anchorage Motel
Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing