We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best motel stay ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anchorage Motel
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best motel stay ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

We were so impressed with the beautiful modern rooms and the cleanliness. The outdoor facilities are amazing, lovely clean pool and a bbq large enough to cook for 6 people. Staying close to the town meant we could park our car and never use it again until time to go home. The walk to town is pleasant. Having rooms serviced every day was a real treat too.
Overall the holiday was our best in Paihia!

Room Tip: First floor rooms overlooking the ocean are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
This is a glowing review and we are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us! The saltwater pool is a great asset of ours and can be used rain or shine, as can our covered BBQ area right next to the pool and spa. It truly adds a special dimension to a family holiday! We are glad you made use of our convenient location that is a perfect distance from the bustle of Paihia centre, and also appreciated the stunning views from our upstairs rooms. We would love to accomodate you again when you next visit Paihia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    129
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
96
248
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the motel and really enjoyed it. Well-equipped kitchen and bath room, clean. Laundry area well accessible. Internet was fast.
Aileen and Karen were of great assistance in booking activities - even short term.
The only thing that I didn't like was the different floor cover as with socks, it was very slippery.

Room Tip: we had room 3 and were very happy with it; ground floor unit and parking right in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyjen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you made use of the array of activities on offer in the Bay of Islands as we are always more than happy to help you book these for your convenience. It is also good to hear that you were able to stay connected during your stay by taking advantage of the free Wi-Fi offered on arrival. We are happy to be able to replenish the complimentary teas/coffees daily when we service the rooms along with fresh towels for your pleasure. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Paihia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We turned up Sunday night and we were lucky to get the last room available! The staff member at reception was so friendly and helpful showed us the room first and some places to go and see around Paihia, she said we could think about it if we wanted. We didn't even get to the end of the driveway before we decided we had to stay here! The state of the Motel grounds and the room was absolutely a 10/10! The room was spotless and so modern had everything you need, free wifi, spa bath, large shower and the bed was the most comfortable bed we have had our whole trip! It is walking distance to everything and across the road to the beach! If heading to Paihia DEFINITELY stay here, absolutely BEAUTIFUL!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
We are so pleased you chose to stay with us for your recent visit to Paihia and that you were able to enjoy our newly renovated Studio Spa Supreme Suite. This is certainly a lovely room and our team here take pride in providing exceptionally clean rooms for our guests so we will be sure to pass your comments onto them. We do thank you for your fantastic feedback, it is very much appreciated. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again if you are ever back in our beautiful part of Northland, NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We arrived late and asked if they had a room, so I guess we got a good rate, but I had to take photos and send them home because the standard of everything was excellent. Comfortable super king bed, large room, free wifi, overlooking the beach, full cooking facilities in kitchen annexe, and super wetroom with loads of space throughout. Kind, helpful staff. Can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillibetdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you for your appreciative comments. We are pleased (and very proud) that you shared your "Anchorage" experience with your family back home. We have recently added extra comfort layers to our beds so your positive feedback is great to hear. It is good to know you also enjoyed the added convenience of cooking facilities in your room. It was our pleasure to have you stay and we would love to host you again the next time you are able to take a break away in Paihia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rejser
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Anchorage is an extremely great motel. Everything worked to perfection. Lovely room, beautiful views, friendly owners. Walking distance to restaurants in Pahia and to the wharf. We can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feriesteder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and high recommendations. We truly appreciate receiving feedback from our guests as this helps us to continue to provide excellent service and accommodation for guests at the Anchorage Motel. We do agree that our views are stunning and it was great that you could take the time to enjoy them! We would love to welcome you back the next time you are visiting our beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dargaville, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

the anchorage motel is a beautiful place to stay, the rooms are stunning and peaceful, also they have a gorgeous view of the harbor.waking up to the smell and sound of the beach is bliss. the staff are so welcoming and more than happy to help in any way they can! :) and we are very happy to say that we will see you next yr. thank you so much

Room Tip: -the pool is great for kids, if you want more then there are plenty of activities to do around paihi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
It was lovely to have your family stay recently with us while your husband took part in the Kerikeri Half Marathon. We love being right across the road from the water and it is always nice to be able to share our stunning views with our guests and know that they appreciate it as well! We look forward to seeing you again same time next year and hopefully the weather will be kinder so that the children can enjoy the pool more. Thank you for taking the time to make a review of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We only stayed 2 nights at Anchorage motel but we loved every second of it. We had a bottom floor with no view, but we had booked last minute so this wasn't a worry. The pool and spa were impossible clean; I didn't see a single leaf in there despite the high winds we experienced the first day.
When we walked into the room and got a shock. It reminded me of the luxurious Hamilton Island in Australia, but it was about 1/5 the price. Beautifully decorated, amazing beds and an ensuite to die for. We only had time to meet Aileen, who was warm, welcoming and wonderful.
The Anchorage Motel is situated only five minutes walk from central Paihia and you wont find a nicer, friendlier and more charming place to stay than here for your Bay of Islands trip.

Room Tip: Book early in peak season to get a room with a view on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Wow! We are immensely grateful for your wonderful review and feel very proud to be rated up amongst other international 5 star accommodation. We are continuing to upgrade our room facilities to ensure we provide modern and well presented rooms for our guests. We have also recently added extra comfort layers to our beds so we really appreciate your positive feedback of your stay with us. We do hope the rest of your time spent in New Zealand was wonderful and we would love to see you again if you are able to visit Paihia another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.0 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Property: Anchorage Motel
Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing